Archive through November 16, 2015

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through November 16, 2015
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Thursday, August 06, 2015 - 07:15 pm: Edit

(510.23) also says 'the only way to destroy an undeployed MB is to destroy the tug...' plus (510.232) says that 'If the tug is not in the battle force, it is considered to have abandon the undeployed base.'

So the crippled tug is 'holding' the MB in place (as it cannot continue the deployment but it hasn't abandoned it as long as it remains in the battleforce and doesn't retreat)...

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Monday, August 10, 2015 - 02:09 pm: Edit

I think the MB would complete setup in that case. It was clearly not destroyed. The tug would then have to be repaired before taking on another role, due to the Tug Under Repair mission that would be forced upon it at the start of the player's turn.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, August 10, 2015 - 08:36 pm: Edit

Actually, that's up to FEAR, FEDS, and SVC as this is a clarification for this situation.

It might take another transport (LTT or TT or TG) to complete the deployment or the cripple needs another turn to complete the deployment.

By Jason Langdon (Jaspar) on Monday, August 10, 2015 - 09:12 pm: Edit

This was originally raised by me in the General section but there was no reply. However, I went through the After Actions and note that James L queried it back in 2011 and there was no reply.

----------------

I have noticed, as far as I can tell, the ISC War rules make no reference to the Kzinti bases on the Lyran border being destroyed.

Kzinti bases on the Fed and Klingon border are destroyed (625.E433), and Lyran bases on the Kzinti border are destroyed (625.E442).

----------------

Now, Im sure they should be destroyed but there is nothing specific on it. Every other Empire has all their bases listed which are to be destroyed, except for the Kzinti on the Lyran border.

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Tuesday, August 11, 2015 - 01:43 pm: Edit

Q446.12:

Per this rule, a colony can be started only during Operational Movement. I also assume it could be started if the Tug was in the target hex at the start of the turn and didn't move, as I believe Operational Movement is just defining the phase in which a Colony can being construction in.


Quote:

(446.12) Construction: The developing race must send to the hex (by operational movement) a tug (or two LTTs) or a convoy (civilian or military but not commercial), which must remain in that hex for three consecutive turns.




Under the Fleet Transports section of the new 2010 rules we have the following:


Quote:

(509.1-X) Develop Colony*: A tug can be assigned this mission (446.1) during the Phasing Player Turn when it begins Operational or Strategic Movement. Groups of theater transports can perform this mission (509.22). It takes two LTTs to perform this mission (or one LTT over six turns). The transport is subject to (308.453). This is one of the few "tug missions" that a convoy can perform. Theater transports can use (509.23).




I am not clear on why a player would want to assign Mission X during Strategic Movement, if it can not start a colony in that phase? This appears to be a conflict in the rules. And since the 2010 rulebook is newer, was this change to the tug mission done on purpose to allow the establishment of a colony during Strategic Movement? Or is this a mistake and the text of the Mission rule needs to be changed?

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Tuesday, August 11, 2015 - 04:22 pm: Edit

Can the Federation substitute a CAD in the same year they also already substituted a NCD?


Quote:

(432.44) DRONE SHIPS: One drone ship can be produced (440.2) by substitution each YEAR. Otherdrone ships must be produced by conversion, and there are limits on total drone ship production in the annex for each empire that can build these units. A dronelscout ship would count against both limits.


Drone Ships: (432.44) Only one drone bombardment ship can be produced by substitution each year. Can produce no more than one NCD per turn Y171F+ and no more than two NCDs per turn in Y173F+. The first two CLD and first CAD do not count against these limits.

From the Federation OOB 702.0A dated 2 June 2014:


Quote:

Drone Ships: (432.44) Only one drone bombardment ship can be produced by substitution each year. Can produce no more than one NCD per turn Y171F+ and no more than two NCDs per turn in Y173F+. The first two CLD and first CAD do not count against these limits.


By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, August 11, 2015 - 08:13 pm: Edit

If it's the first one they converted.

FEDS confirms the above. In this specific case, the first CAD conversion under (525.321) and the first two CLD conversions under (525.322) don't count toward the Federation's general drone production rules. Note that these exceptions apply to these specific CAD/CLD CONVERSIONS; the Federation is still limited to one drone ship SUBSTITUTION per year.

By Harry Theodore (Harryt) on Thursday, August 13, 2015 - 11:25 am: Edit

I did a search on 709.1, Hydran build schedule without finding an answer. My opponent believes that in S170 the PAL is listed as an activation and should cost 1 EP to build. My claim is that the Hydrans have no mothballed ships to activate.

One of us is wrong. Is the activation a "typo" and/or the real question is "how much should the PAL cost to build? Thanks in advance for an answer.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, August 13, 2015 - 08:36 pm: Edit

HT:

Here is the rule extract...


Quote:

(442.51) ACTIVATION OF DREADNOUGHTS: Many of the dreadnoughts in the pre-war construction schedules of the various races are in fact early dreadnoughts from the Four Powers War that were being converted from the earlier design or were activated from reserve storage. When done as PWC the cost is accounted for in the pre-war system; if activated after the race goes to war or is released to a player controlled economy, the costs are:

Hydran Paladins (converted from Templars on Turn 2 and Turn 4): 5 points each. Fighters are free for these two ships, reflecting the activation of reserve units.



FEDS SENDS

By Bill Steele (Bill83501) on Saturday, September 05, 2015 - 12:17 am: Edit

A question about Diplomats and the Tholians. So it states that Tholian won’t do trade. Can you use their nodes to strategic move if they haven’t been attacked? Does 503.31- they will attack and try to destroy any foreign unit which enters there territory trump 540.144- diplomatic ships cannot be pinned by neutral ships?


Quote:

(540.11) INITIAL DEPLOYMENT: All races have diplomatic teams in their "at start" Order of Battle except for the Orions (who do not use diplomacy), the Tholians (who do not use diplomacy)...


If the Tholians do not use diplomacy, then it would be difficult to imagine that the Tholians would recognize any interstellar protocols for diplomatic safe passage though their territory as the Tholians would be highly suspicious of any foreign entity within their space that wasn't invited there to serve Tholian interests.

Unless overruled by ADB, foreign diplomats and their assigned transport units that enter Tholian space without permission of the Tholian player may be attacked by the Tholians under (503.31); the restriction of (503.34) forbidding Federation, Klingon, and Romulan units still apply in this case. Tholian territory is defined as original Tholian space under the control of the Tholians or any territory that is annexed and controlled by the Tholians.

FEDS SENDS

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 06:34 pm: Edit

(451.32) Hospital Unit Combat Support: When during the Sequence of Play does a hospital unit attempt to restore killed or wounded personnel?

This has not been formalized on the SoP. Unless overruled by ADB, hospital units may attempt to restore casualties during Phases 3A-5A and 5-6X4; change to read:


Quote:

3A-5A: Determine if any eligible raid casualties’ ships can enter repair depot system (424.32). Hospital units may attempt to restore raid casualties (451.32).

5-6X4: Conduct ground assaults (521.3); determine fate of Prime Teams used in ground assault (522.4) - Mission 2. Hospital units may attempt to restore battle round casualties (451.32).


FEDS SENDS

By James Lowry (Rindis) on Thursday, September 24, 2015 - 10:28 pm: Edit

(302.742) When there's cripples and slow units, there can be a pursuit battle and a slow unit battle. (302.742A) is explicit that plus/minus points are divided between these two combats as the pursuer sees fit; this supports the idea that this is all one battle round fought in two parts.

So, do the attacker and defender pick one BIR for both parts? Is there one Variable BIR roll for both parts? Is there one damage roll per player for both parts?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, September 25, 2015 - 12:07 am: Edit

JL:

Per (105.0) SoP:

5-8C: Conduct pursuit battle (repeating Phase 5, Step 3 through Step 6).
5-8D: Conduct Slow Unit pursuit battle (repeating Phase 5, Step 3 through Step 6).

Each battle of this round is handled separately but the pursuer must split plus/minus points BEFORE fighting the pursuit battle.

FEDS SENDS

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Tuesday, October 06, 2015 - 09:03 am: Edit

OK, a little rules interaction -

(320.512) allows the Klingons to blockade run KR parts to the Romulans, is this reciprocal (can the Romulans blockade run KR parts from the Klingons)?

(314.3) allows the Romulans to raid Federation space, can they use blockade running in place of or concurrent with this raid?

(314.14) allows raids under Limited War with restrictions, is blockade running an acceptable substitute (or concurrent with) those raids?


Quote:

PRE-WAR RAIDS: (314.32) TARGETS: The Romulans can conduct raids into the Federation (only). They cannot raid Tholian, Gorn, or other territory.


Rule (314.32) is a specific rule that allows for pre-war raids INTO the Federation ONLY. Unless overruled by ADB, only pre-war raiders under this rule can be made into the Federation and do not permit blockade runs unless at war or limited war.

FEDS SENDS

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, October 17, 2015 - 11:46 am: Edit

Q507.5. Could a diplomat using (540.27) cooperation reduce the requirement that majority of the total number of ships be provided by the empire with the diplomat for the purpose of establishing a reserve fleet under (507.5)?

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Saturday, October 17, 2015 - 05:52 pm: Edit

Q521.81:

This is from the errata:

(521.81) A battle force cannot buy extra G factors without a valid supply path during its combat.

Does this prevent a Partial Grid from buying extra Troops? For example, if a SB is cut off from the Main Grid and has EPS available, can it buy extra troops?

FEDS RULING: Unless overruled by ADB, a battle force can purchase GCEs from a partial supply grid so long as the purchasing unit has a valid supply path to a valid supply point in the partial and that there are available funds to purchase the GCE within that partial grid.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, November 01, 2015 - 02:00 pm: Edit

Commercial Convoy (443.00) Question:

I went looking for answers in the archive, and failed to find one.

During the time when the Kzinti are at war and the Federation are not (i.e. presumably T1-T6), can the Fed-Kzinti commercial convoy be attacked if it wanders out side of inactive territory? Or does doing this activate the Federation (as the Com Con is presumably a Federation unit)?

For example, on T1, the Fed-Kzinti Com Con leaves Fed SB 2204. It reaches the Marquis SB on T3. It doesn't want to get caught in open space when the Feds are inevitably attacked on T7, so it wants to go through the Kzinti off map zone back to Fed space. So on T4, the Fed-Kzinti Com Con moves 2 hexes north from the Marquis SB in 1704 into hex 1702 (hoping to move off map on the next turn). Can the Coalition attack the Fed-Kzinti Com Con (on T5), even though the Feds are still not involved in the war? Would doing so provoke the Feds into Limited War?

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, November 01, 2015 - 10:35 pm: Edit

Off-hand I'd say it can be reacted to (raid or attack) since it moved into an active combat zone (remember it's corporate assets, not military), so the Feds cannot go to limited war.

If the Kzinti wanted to go to the off-map route, exchange for a 'new' CC at the Barony SB

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, November 02, 2015 - 06:28 am: Edit

Peter, a raid against the Com Con won't activate the Federation. See (314.293). Operational Movement into the Marquis area would activate the Federation under the basic rule(s). Reaction movement into the Marquis area would also activate the Federation under the basic rule(s).

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Monday, November 02, 2015 - 08:21 am: Edit

All of those things are true, but don't really cover what I'm asking--I'm not asking about raids or movement into the Marquis zone (in the example provided, 1702 isn't in the Marquis Zone).

I'm asking about attacking the Com Con when it is in non Marquis Zone space. That being said, the rule on Raids might be a precident for being able to attack the Com Con.

By Dana Madsen (Dfm330) on Monday, November 02, 2015 - 09:54 am: Edit

I'd like to confirm my understanding of the Kzinti starting forces with regards to pods. They start with three (pairs) carrier pods and two (pairs) battle pods.

So they have maximum allowed pods at start and don't need to build any other than to replace losses, or when VAP/Pf become available.

Please let me know if the above is correct. It's been a number of years since I last played and my opponent thinks he starts with less than a full complement of pods and needs to build additional pods on his first alliance turn. I don't think he needs to.

Similarly, the Klingon would be short one (pair) of VP2 at start but have maximum BP.

Thanks

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Monday, November 02, 2015 - 12:07 pm: Edit

Dana,

You are correct.

By Jason Langdon (Jaspar) on Saturday, November 07, 2015 - 03:42 pm: Edit

Would appreciate some clarification if possible.

In the game A Friendly Pursuit a bunch of Kzinti were able to get to a large number of Coalition Aux ships. No pursuit battle took place so under (302.742) there was a single round of Slow Ship combat involving the Aux ships and some escorts which had been attached to a few LAV and SAV.

In the group of Aux ships there were some LAV carrier groups (LAV, X, X, X), some SAV carrier groups (SAV, X, X) and some SAV which were unescorted.

The rules are vague so it was agreed that the single round of battle would involve:
(LAV, X, X, X) and (SAV, X, X) which was based on the CR of the LAV seeing an additional 6 ships be on the line.

2 other (LAV, X, X, X) and a (SAV, X, X), and a couple of unescorted SAV took no part in the combat.

Now for the fun part of this post:

Was this the correct way to play out the battle? Was there meant to only be a single round of combat and it can involve any combination of ships on the line that the Aux ship owner decides, excluding any Aux ships he wants as well?

Or should it have been more like Pursuit where all the ships were available to be shot at by the enemy, but only the LAV and SAV groups mentioned about were counted for the Aux ships Compot?

The 2nd option seems like the far more palatable option because under the first scenario the Coalition are basically free to have roaming Aux ship groups which only need escorts for a LAV and a SAV and the rest of the Aux ships are safe.

The Coalition are better able to punish such a group because of Maulers, but this is already the case with regular carrier groups as well.

The ultimate irony I think of this rule is that there is no pursuit after the slow ship round. So Aux ships (certainly Coalition, but Alliance too if there are no Maulers around) have actually been made safer by the addition of this rule.

Which to me seems like it was not was originally intended?

What makes more sense to me is you have the regular combat stuff, then this single round of Slow Ship Retreat, then any Pursuit battles involving cripples which would also include anything crippled in the Slow Ship Retreat.

Anyway, some clarification would be great. Thanks !

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Saturday, November 07, 2015 - 08:11 pm: Edit

I know Chuck had said in the past that all of the auxes are valid targets, but like you said that the CR of the flagship determines what the Compot of the Fleet is.

Maybe he'll chime in :)

By Michael Alan Calhoon (Mcalhoon2) on Monday, November 16, 2015 - 10:16 pm: Edit

Are the LAH costs are correct on the SITS? I believed that the fighter factors only cost 1 EP each for 14.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation