By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Saturday, July 02, 2016 - 05:25 pm: Edit |
Q453.0 Can an operational base move during the operational portion of the turn and then be towed by a tug during the StratMove portion of the turn? (204.21) The moving units must begin and end their Strategic Movement on a friendly Strategic Movement Node. They must not have moved by any other means on the current Player Turn.
STRATEGIC MOVEMENT PROCEDURES
RULING:
Quote:
An operational base cannot use operational movement and then move or be move strategically during the same player turn.
FEDS SENDS
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Friday, July 15, 2016 - 09:37 am: Edit |
Questions about (302.742D) Slow Unit Retreat.
1) For purposes of Plus and Minus Points (308.2), does Slow Unit Retreat count as a Pursuit Battle (308,24), limiting minus points to -3; or does it count as a regular battle with no such limit?
2) For purposes of Capturing Ships (305.0), does Slow Unit Retreat count as a Pursuit Battle (305.12), where ships are captured on a die roll of a 2 or a 3; or does it count as a regular battle where ships are only captured on a 2?
(As a side note, thanks for the new Slow Unit Retreat rules in CL#51. That fixes a lot of weirdness. There is just a bit of clarification still needed.)
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, July 30, 2016 - 09:02 am: Edit |
(544.452) ISC Base Self Upgrades. ISC Pacification X Bases are not eligible to be upgraded via the self upgrade but may be upgraded under (433.21). However, base upgrades are covered under (433.41). I believe the reference for Pacification X Bases should be (433.41) not (433.21) which applies to non- X Pacification Base upgrades. Which reference is correct?
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, August 13, 2016 - 10:56 am: Edit |
Q547.42 (547.42) states that an eligible transport unit (read Tug, LTT, or Theater Transport (539.7)) can be assigned to transport an MSS using Mission F (509.1-F) move an FRD. I believe this is incorrect and should be Mission C (509.1-C) Move and Setup a Mobile Base. FRDs do not have positional stabilizers. Bases, including commercial platforms and other single cargo pod sized bases in SFB but not F&E have positional stabilizers are require them to be active to keep the base in a specific location under the SFB rules.
Which Tug mission is the correct one for (547.42)?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, August 24, 2016 - 04:21 pm: Edit |
FEDS MEMO FOR RECORD (411.1) (SUPPLY ROUTE) DEFINITION:
Rule Contradiction
Supply ranges of F-Ships and X-ships
Quote:
The Supply Route is a chain of no more than six hexes, not including the hex the unit is in but including the hex containing the supply point (412.0). X-ships‡ (523.43) and fast ships‡ (525.1) can draw supplies from a grid seven hexes away. Federation Express transports‡ (539.325) can draw supply from a grid eight hexes away. (Source: F&E 2010)
===========
(525.134) F-ships can draw supply seven hexes from a source. If out of supply, many of the bonuses are lost. (Source: AO 2003)
===========
(523.43) SUPPLY GRID: X-bases (and Federation LTFs) can supply X-ships seven hexes away and normal ships six hexes away. X-bases connect to supply grids (even to non-X bases) seven hexes away. Federation X-bases could supply an LTF seven hexes away. (Source: AO 2003)
Ruling by FEDS: Unless overruled by ADB, MODIFY the first sentence of (523.43) to simply read: "X-bases (and Federation LTFs) can supply X-ships and F-Ships seven hexes away [eight hexes for Federation Express transports (539.325)] and normal ships six hexes away. Federation X-bases could supply an LTF seven hexes away."
Rationale:
Rule (411.1) from F&E 2010 is the most current rule that specifically states that both F-ships and X-Ships can draw supplies from a grid seven hexes away.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, August 24, 2016 - 04:26 pm: Edit |
FEDS MEMO FOR RECORD (509.1-D) Supply Source: A transport can be assigned this mission during the Phasing Player Turn during the Assign Missions phase of production (2B7). Tugs and convoys extend the Supply Grid six hexes (412.2), LTTs three hexes (516.2D), and theater transports two hexes (509.22); these cannot be “chained”. (Source: F&E 2010)
Rule Clarification
Supply Source Extenders
Quote:
Question: Do supply source EXTENDERS (Supply Tugs/LTTs/Theater Transports/Convoys) extend supply one hex beyond the specified ranges cited in (509.1-D) for F-Ships and X-ships?
Ruling by FEDS: Unless overruled by ADB, supply source EXTENDERS (Supply Tugs/LTTs/Theater Transports/Convoys) CANNOT extend supply one hex beyond their specified ranges cited in (509.1-D) for F-Ships and X-ships. Rationale: There is no enabling rule that permits the ranges of the these supply EXTENDERS to be increased. These sources are temporary in nature and are not equipped to support the added complexity of the logistics of F-Ships and X-ships. IF ADB should choose to add x-versions of these supply extenders, then appropriate notation will be noted at that time.
Further Recommendations by FEDS:
ADD new rule to AO: (523.143) X-ships can draw supplies from a valid supply point (including military convoys) in a grid seven hexes away [eight hexes for Federation Express transports (539.325)]. Supply source extenders (Supply Tugs/LTTs/Theater Transports/Convoys) CANNOT extend supply one hex beyond their specified ranges cited in (509.1-D) for X-ships.
ADD new rule to AO: CHANGE the numbering of (525.134) to (525.14) to read: "SUPPLY: F-ships can draw supply seven hexes from a valid supply source (including military convoys). If out of supply, many of the bonuses are lost. Supply source extenders (Supply Tugs/LTTs/Theater Transports/Convoys) CANNOT extend supply one hex beyond their specified ranges cited in (509.1-D) for F-ships." Rationale: This supply rule is listed under the MOVEMENT heading and should be under a heading listed as SUPPLY.
By Marc Elwinger (Blades) on Friday, August 26, 2016 - 11:29 am: Edit |
(Probably asked but i could not find it.) How do SIDS interact with crippling a base.
I dont see anything about SIDS changing the defense value of the BATS.
Example: The defender has voluntary taken 2 SIDS on a BATS already. (It takes 3 to cripple it.)
This round the defender takes 12 points of damage. Not enough for the attacker to demand a SIDS. Since the defense value of the BATS is still 12, the defender can choose to cripple the BATS.
(Since per 308.84 it is voluntary for the defender to choose to take a SIDS, he does not have to.)
(Per 308.861 SIDS cannot be used on a crippled BATS. It is not clear but i take that to mean that SIDS have no effect on a crippled BATS since it does not say they do.)
It is now a crippled BATS with 2 SIDS.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, August 27, 2016 - 05:14 pm: Edit |
If all eligible BATS are destroyed, is Far Stars arrival on map prevented?
What happens if this is the case?
For example, if the Hydrans in a Howling Wind scenario destroy BATS 0109 on turn one, what happens with Far Stars deployment?
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Saturday, August 27, 2016 - 05:30 pm: Edit |
Pending input from the scenario I'd say it arrives at the nearest STRATMOVE point to 0109.
Ryan
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, August 27, 2016 - 07:33 pm: Edit |
Unless overruled by ADB, the Far Stars Fleet would still arrive but would have to end their movement inside their off-map area where they could be assigned as a reserve fleet.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, August 28, 2016 - 08:38 am: Edit |
Deleted by author. Misread the initial question. See reply in Q&A Discussion.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, September 05, 2016 - 04:04 am: Edit |
FEDS MEMO FOR RECORD
Rule Clarification
Fate of Landed Commando Units
(521.394) is not clear if uncaptured commando units that landed as part of a special commando attack are eligible for salvage by the owner or what happens in the case where both players retreat.
RULING-1: Unless overruled by ADB, units that landed as part of a special commando attack are ineligible for salvage even if they are not captured by enemy forces.
Ruling-2: Unless overruled by ADB, if both players retreat from the commando-attacked planet, then the fate of the landed commando unit is determined by whoever retains or regains control of said planet after all units retreat. If the enemy retains control of the planet, then a capture attempt on the landed commando unit is possible. If the original owner regains control of an enemy-captured planet after all forces retreat, then the commando unit returns to normal operations. (This is possible as an original owner of a captured planet could conduct a special commando attack upon enemy garrisoning PDU/PGBs holding one of his original planets. If both forces retreat and no enemy forces remain to garrison the captured planet, then the planet reverts control to the original owner.)
FEDS SENDS
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, September 05, 2016 - 04:40 pm: Edit |
(6HW.23) Uneasy Coalition:
In Howling Winds (6HW) from CL#51, can the Lyrans or Carnivons capture neutral zone hexes between their empires? Can either empire enter those hexes?
Presumably no, but the Scenario does not say.
Perhaps a rule for their neutral zone should be added.
FEDS: The Lyrans and Carnivon cannot capture their shared neutral zone hexes but may recapture and hold any of these neutral zone hexes if the Alliance captures them.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, September 05, 2016 - 04:46 pm: Edit |
(6HW.332): The first rule says that the Carnivon Coyote Fleet (their offmap fleet) arrives on turn three. This seems strange, as the Carnivons have yet to join the war.
Is this actually correct?
If not correct, perhaps it should be on turn 4 (or later if not yet at war).
FEDS CORRECTION: The Coyote Fleet Arrives Turn #4.
(6HW.342): The Coyote Fleet (see above) is not actually released (the fleet's deployment area is offmap, so the Kzinti cannot release it) in this scenario.
Is this actually correct?
If not correct, should it be released upon actually arriving on map?
FEDS CORRECTION: Move to Forces Released Turn #4: Coyote Fleet arrives at hexes 0101, 0103, or 0103 using rule (204.39).
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Tuesday, September 06, 2016 - 07:58 pm: Edit |
Follow up question:
(6HW.33) TURN #3
(6HW.332): "If the Coalition enters Kzinti territory, the Marquis' fleet is released except for the designated six ships under (601.12)."
(6HW.34) TURN #4
(6HW.342): "All forces except for the designated six ships of the Marquis fleet under (601.12)."
A) The Coalition are not allowed to enter Kzinti space on T3, so (6HW.332) seems unnecessary.
FEDS: There might be a bizarre circumstance where the Kzinti attack and retreat options for the Coalition might force them into Kzinti territory.
B) Is the Marquis fleet released on CT4 if the Coalition do not attack the Kzinti (i.e. enter Kzinti space) on CT4?
FEDS: ADD to Turns #4-6 Forces Released: The Marquis Fleet is only released if the Coalition enter Kzinti territory except for the designated six ships under (601.12).
Assuming a continuation into a full General War scenario:
A. Beginning Turn #7 All Kzinti forces are available and can move in Coalition and Hydran territory within the limits of other rules. Kzinti forces cannot enter the Federation during this scenario; exception (411.7) or a tug to get EPs.
B. Turns #7+: The Lyran Red Claw Fleet and the Carnivon Jackel Fleet are released if the Alliance enters their respective areas.
==============
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, September 07, 2016 - 07:34 am: Edit |
I think that 'Jackel Fleet' above is possibly 'Jackal Fleet'.
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 09:06 pm: Edit |
(513.6) Can the Fire Support Pallet be used with its regular factors to attack any unit? (513.62) states the FSP cannot maul ships because it is too hard to hit them with sideways firing weapons. Ryan Opel
I don't think the FSP factors should be usable against ships at all. With the weapons all facing one side of the ship getting them into arc would be extremely difficult.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 10:34 pm: Edit |
(513.61) specifically states that the combat factors of (9-2) are added to the Tug 2-8 for an 11-10. This is very similar to a Battle Pod/Pallet. So, other than not using the mauler function, which (513.62) specifically does not allow on ships, the FSP can be used in normal combat like another ship with respect to its factors counting.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 11:38 am: Edit |
Q625.E531 Shouldn't the Kzinti Income be based on 25% of their entire original territory minus those provinces and planet(s) controlled by the ISC? The Kzintis only appear in Cordon Echo. See (625.585) which has note about the Hydrans, Kzintis and Tholians using raids normally within their lone cordon of conflict.
Q625.E531 follow up question. If the above is not yes, then shouldn't the number of Kzinti planets listed be four majors and four minor planets? There are four major and four minor planets in the Kzinti capital hex. See (753.0).
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 03:10 pm: Edit |
Q625.F531 Shouldn't the Hydran Income be based on 25% of their entire original territory minus those provinces and planet(s) controlled by the ISC and Vudar? The Hydrans only appear in Cordon Foxtrot. See (625.585) which has note about the Hydrans, Kzintis and Tholians using raids normally within their lone cordon of conflict.
Q625.F531 follow up question. If the above is not yes, then shouldn't the number of Hydran planets listed be three majors and three minor planets? There are three major and three minor planets in the Hydran capital hex. See (753.0).
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 02:32 am: Edit |
So, I'm not sure if this is a Q&A or if its a tactical note.
In Following the LDR, the Hydrans have had some seriously issues maintaining its links from the capital to the off map area.
We are using Advanced deficit spending.
I've devised that I could spend a bit more within my capital without using Orion smuggling by borrowing up to my limit in the capital, spending that money and then paying down my debt later using the off map treasury.
So... what rules am I breaking?
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 02:35 am: Edit |
Limited war question:
Production is limited by not being able to overbuild or accelerate.
Its pretty clear you are allowed to build your schedule and preform allowed substitutions.
My big question is to what extent can I convert ships? Can I convert unreleased ships? Can I only convert released ships (including new construction, of course as they are released)? Can I use all conversion facilities? Can I only use conversion facilities in released fleet's territory? Can I not perform ANY conversions?
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 07:33 am: Edit |
Q629.711 Hex 1401 lists a SBX over the capital with 18xPDUs. Should this not be SBX, SB, BATS, and 16 PDUs? See (617.B1) and (675.B1).
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 10:42 am: Edit |
What scenario is 629?
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 06:52 pm: Edit |
Ryan, it is Freak Storm. (629.0) from Minor Empires.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |