By Jeffrey Coutu (Jtc) on Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 07:59 pm: Edit |
Q715.3: The Seltorian PF Deployment (Historical) has “Initial: Y183S; PFTs: Y183S; CPFs: Y183F”. However, their SIT lists dates of Date Avail of Y183F for their ASC, LAP, SAP, and CPF. Doesn’t this mean that (715.3) is wrong, and the PF2 date should be Y183F (the same as their PF3 date) so it should be “Initial: Y183S; PFTs: Y183F; CPFs: Y183F”?
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 08:51 pm: Edit |
Q653.2D Does the canceled F-15 fighter under option D also include the PDU based F-15s under (502.952)?
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Saturday, October 29, 2016 - 10:42 am: Edit |
Ok, this is a partial supply grid question.
We had a definitive answer from these boards in 2002, but this is now 2016.
A fleet is on a friendly (not allied) Star Base in a partial grid. The fleet is automatically in supply while on the SB. But, is it in supply for movement, combat, and retrograde off the SB hex that turn? The answer in 2008 was no, that the fleet was in supply while in the SB hex regardless, but if ships moved off the hex they were Un-supplied unless the grid specifically paid for them to be in supply (1 point = 5 ships).
What is the current understanding of this situation?
Thanks
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Sunday, October 30, 2016 - 06:25 am: Edit |
Quote:
Ok, this is a partial supply grid question.
We had a definitive answer from these boards in 2002, but this is now 2016.
A fleet is on a friendly (not allied) Star Base in a partial grid. The fleet is automatically in supply while on the SB. But, is it in supply for movement, combat, and retrograde off the SB hex that turn? The answer in 2008 was no, that the fleet was in supply while in the SB hex regardless, but if ships moved off the hex they were Un-supplied unless the grid specifically paid for them to be in supply (1 point = 5 ships).
What is the current understanding of this situation?
Thanks
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Sunday, October 30, 2016 - 08:16 am: Edit |
Have a question about reactions to raids. If you react to a raid target hex and your reaction movement takes you into a hex with enemy ships, do you get pinned before you reach the raid target hex? If so, what happens? Is this new battle hex resolved in the raid steps or is it a battle hex to be resolved during normal combat and can reserves be sent to this hex, as a result?
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Thursday, November 03, 2016 - 08:09 pm: Edit |
Thanks for the answer concerning supply& bases in a partial grid.
Another question: if the ROM's don't attack the Feds on turn 10 then they are limited war right? The Hurricane does not mention such, only Gorn & Fed limited war conditions.
Thoughts?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Thursday, November 03, 2016 - 09:31 pm: Edit |
John Slattery - The Romulans have been on a full war footing during the first nine turns, Turn #10 is just the first turn the Praetor (Rom player) makes a decision and can go in any direction (he can stay at war and not attack the Feds, go to limited status (there's a TacNote on that) or go to peace, though each have their own pros and cons to deal with...
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 08:42 am: Edit |
Thank you Stewart. I thought as much but wanted confirmation.
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 09:04 am: Edit |
Another question:
If the ROM's do not go to war with the Feds on turn 10,m then 603.2 allows them to go to war with the Gorns ONLY on turn 13 and beyond. So, I assume, the ROMS must wait till turn 13 to attack the Gorns regardless of attacking the Feds on turn 10, 11, 12 or 13. But 603.5 states that "if the Romulans have not attacked the Federation or Gorns, and if the Klingons and/or Lyrans have attacked the Federatuon, the Gorns can go to a limited war on turn 10". I can well see how the Roms may choose to not assault the Federation on turn 10, but per my understanding they CANT attack the Gorns on turn 10 at all so the quote is (can be) misleading? They must await turn 13 to attack the Gorns right? Can they explore on turns 10-12? Are their fleets all released? Are any fleets released? Can new builds on turns 10-12 move about at will?
This is an odd condition that is not solidly confirmed in the rules.
Thoughts?
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 09:16 am: Edit |
This is complex!
If the Roms do not go to war with the Fed's on turn 10 can the upgrade BATS & BATS to SB in the North & West fleet areas of deployment? Can they place PDU's in those fleet areas?
If the Roms do not go to war with the Feds on 10-12 and they must await to attack the Gorns till turn 13 then exactly what can they or can not do during that time? They would like to explore, convert, duels like crazy & upgrade BATS to SB on the north boarder to facilitate the invasion of the Gorns on turn 13. Can they do all this and where is it stated what they can do? The rules show what the Feds & Gorns can & can not do exactly, but not so the Roms. We must be missing something here.
Thoughts?
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 09:56 am: Edit |
Quote:If the Roms do not go to war with the Fed's on turn 10 can the upgrade BATS & BATS to SB in the North & West fleet areas of deployment? Can they place PDU's in those fleet areas?
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 10:06 am: Edit |
(Q602.4) Under the Limited War Scenario and specifically (602.43) LIMITED AVAILABILITY it states that the Federation Home and Third Fleet can maneuver within Federation Territory. Does this completely remove the restrictions of (600.3) for areas under the control of Home and Third Fleets?
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 11:23 am: Edit |
So I assume that the ROM's can not explore the 5 provinces, 2 minors, and off map while at war economy but not at war with any other empire during turns 10-12 if they decide to not assault the Federation and await there chance to assault the Gorns on turn 13.
Also that the new builds must remain in their capital hexes and not move about on turns 10-12.
If the ROM's do not assault the Fed's and await their chance at the Gorns on 13 then both the ROM's & the Gorns are building everything they can on 10-13, converting everything the can, and upgrading builds through substitution but neither can move their fleets about at all (except the Gorn 2nd which can enter Federation space - can they conquer the neutral zone between the Feds & Gorn?). No defenses can be built anywhere with the possible exception of the Gorns building MB & BATS in the Fed?
Again, tricky. While alluded to it is not all written down like turn 1 for the Klingons.
Thoughts?
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 11:46 am: Edit |
(Q602.4) ignore this question I found the answer in (654.1F).
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 11:58 am: Edit |
I think they can explore the on map province and planets but not move to the off map per (603.17).
You can move up to six ships in an unreleased fleet within their deployment zone per turn (600.313).
(654.4E) Can not capture NZ hexes between the supporting and supported empires.
By John Slattery (Whisp) on Friday, November 04, 2016 - 02:34 pm: Edit |
Ryan
Thank you! Very helpful.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, November 05, 2016 - 10:42 am: Edit |
Q502.431 Would Advanced Deficit Spending (447.0) provide an exception to the no deficit spending during the production phase for PF replacements?
By Mike Dowd (Mike_Dowd) on Sunday, November 06, 2016 - 12:11 pm: Edit |
I'm looking for F&E stats (or where they are published) for the Romulan Regent Eagle Command Cruiser (RE) [R4.A20] and the King Falcon Mauler (KFAL) [R4.A21], both published in SFB scale in the CL39 Supplemental.
The SFB Master Ship Chart data is published, so I have some of the info that I already need, such as Command Rating and YIS, but if there was anything done for these ships in F&E, I would appreciate it, or where I can find it.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Sunday, November 06, 2016 - 12:21 pm: Edit |
Mike, that is not a rules Q&A, you should take it to either General Discussion, or in the appropriate SIT discussion for the empire in question.
By Mike Dowd (Mike_Dowd) on Sunday, November 06, 2016 - 01:26 pm: Edit |
Apologies. I was posting here based on the topic title, "Q&A", and the fact that the procedure posted at the top does not explicitly say 'rules questions'.
Again, thanks for directing me to the appropriate fora.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Sunday, November 06, 2016 - 05:37 pm: Edit |
No problem, just trying to get you your answer.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 01:26 am: Edit |
Q: May an FRD (using operational movement, either under its own power or towed) enter a hex containing a devastated neutral or enemy planet? The hex is otherwise empty and there are no defending units of any kind at the planet.
By Mike Dowd (Mike_Dowd) on Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 07:37 am: Edit |
Isn't there still a 'residual' defense factor there?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 08:21 am: Edit |
RBE Asked: (421.22) LIMITATIONS: FRDs cannot enter a hex containing enemy units.
"Q: May an FRD (using operational movement, either under its own power or towed) enter a hex containing a devastated neutral or enemy planet? The hex is otherwise empty and there are no defending units of any kind at the planet."
Quote:
(508.162) This residual defense factor is not a “unit” in any sense. It has no attack factor and cannot cause damage. It does not block pursuit or retreat.
FEDS RULING: Unless overruled by ADB, an FRD may enter a hex containing a devastated neutral or enemy planet that is otherwise empty of enemy or neutral units.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 02:00 pm: Edit |
Q517.41 Would the Seltorian LTT be considered overloaded when carrying the Klingon provided K-VAP pod? This pod carries 6 fighter factors and is considered a double weight pod for the Klingon Empire and their LTT.
Q517.43 Would the Seltorian TG be considered overloaded when carrying two Klingon provided K-VAP pod? Each pod carries 6 fighter factors and is considered a double weight pod for the Klingon Empire and their TG. Note the Seltorian TG is listed as campaign only and not in Minor Empires. See 2015 SIT.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |