Archive through May 16, 2017

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through May 16, 2017
By Harry Theodore (Harryt) on Wednesday, March 01, 2017 - 11:38 am: Edit

Haven't been able to find this anywhere. A question on sending Economic points to allies. What happens after economic exhaustion sets in????

A couple of examples:

1. Klingons are at 75% exhaustion, so are Romulans. If Klingons send 10 EP (after losing 25% during production) to Roms, do they get 10EP or 7.5EP?

2. Feds at full production and Kizinti at 75%. If Feds send 10EP do Kzinti get 10EP or 7.5EP.

A few other variations, but these two should clarify how it should be handled.

Also, a rule number that shows where this info is at would be very helpful, thanks.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, March 01, 2017 - 11:51 am: Edit

See (435.242)


Quote:

(435.242) Points received by transfers are not reduced by the economic exhaustion status of the receiving empire.




1. Any funds transferred are received at the value of the transfer. 10 EPs = 10 EPs. Transfers are not subject to exhaustion. The transferring empire has already paid any exhaustion costs in the initial collection of funds.

2. Same as number 1.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 09:15 am: Edit

Q654.1E Does using the convoy (414.0) to establish a colony under (446.11) provide an exception to 654.1-E where the convoy can only be sent to the area of a fleet involved in a Limited War Campaign?

Rules quoted below in numerical order as a friend of the court:

(414.4) Creation: Convoy counters can be created (during Step 2B3 of the Sequence of Play) at any base or planet (but not tug) within the main Supply Grid of the owning empire. There is no limit to the number of convoys that can be built, but no more than two can be built on any given turn.

(446.11) Procedure: To develop a new colony, a race must select a hex (which it owns and/or controls) and announce a colonial development program. The hex must not have (or be adjacent to a hex containing) any other planet or colony of any type. A colony (or colony base) could be built in the area of an inactive fleet or in captured enemy space. Each race may start construction of only one colony per turn (two for the Federation and Romulans). A race must be at war or limited war to build colonies. (This means actually at war, not just on a wartime economy.)

(654.1-E) Create a convoy (431.21) but only if it is sent to the area of a fleet involved in the Limited War Campaign.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 09:15 am: Edit

Deleted by author. Duplicate Post

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, March 27, 2017 - 08:38 pm: Edit

Q6HW.213 Do the Carnivons have a starbase in their off map area? The map from the supplemental file in Captain's Log #48 does not show any off map area for the Carnivons. Given that they only have 3 on map provinces I would suspect that they do have a SB off map.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 03:21 pm: Edit

Q6WA.55 Do the empires not at war on turns 1 and 2 of the Winds Aloft scenario have control over their economy to buy and build what they want within their production schedule limits to include FRDs, MBs, PDUs, etc.?

By Lee Hanna (Lee) on Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 08:55 pm: Edit

I'm unable to find this one under 2010 rules or in this BBS.

If ships are homeless and adopted, it seems they could be placed within a Reserve Fleet of their adopting empire. Is it possible that they could form their own reserve, using a marker of their home empire, even though they have been adopted (410.5) by someone else?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, April 09, 2017 - 01:43 pm: Edit

Q547.21 "The Hole" cannot phsyically be adjacent to 1519,1619, and 1719 due to the layout of the map. Are the correct hexes: 1419, 1519, and 1619 or 1619, 1719 and 1819?

My assumption is that the answer is the former because those 3 hexes are in the Vudar capital province.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, April 09, 2017 - 05:16 pm: Edit

The fact is that the Vudar capital is in hex 1619 and "The Hole" is adjacent to hexes 1519, 1619, and 1719 (and not adjacent to hexes 1419 and 1819). Why is that not possible?

Try to see beyond the artificial "hexes" of the map...the hole does not need to be in one of the abstracted map's hex "notches".

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, April 10, 2017 - 08:50 pm: Edit

Q506.5 Can the Gorn Tug perform any valid mission under (509.1) in the off map area if it has not been released but the Gorns are at war? Possible Off Map missions are (509.1-X) build Colony (446.15) and (509.1-Z) build Minor Ship Yard (450.13).

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Monday, April 10, 2017 - 09:42 pm: Edit

Q506.5. I don't see why it couldn't.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 05:26 pm: Edit

Q526.353 At what point in the sequence of play can one add an FCR to a carrier group _as an emergency escort_? The rules say 'combat phase', but an interpretation that it means any time in the combat phase seems nonsensical (for example, in a battle force smaller than the maximum size for the command rating of a flagship you would then be able to add (or not add) an FCR after seeing the die rolls but before allocating damage).

Consulation of the SOP and Q&A archives seems to be silent on this.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 07:16 pm: Edit

Q526.353: See section 5-3D on SOP coppyrighted 2016 on BBS. The battle force is built in 5-3F.

It should be clarified in the new SOP and rule rewrite. I submitted a line item for the SOP.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, April 14, 2017 - 06:28 am: Edit

Q6HW.45 Should the hexes excluded from the the Count's Fleet (Carnivon border) be 0904 and 1004 instead of 1003 and 1004. 0904 borders the WYN, Carnivon, Lyran and Klingon neutral zone hexes. 1003 is in the interior of Kzinti space. 1003 and 1004 would be more in line with the limitation on the on the Marquis Fleet (Federation and Klingon border) being excluded from 1705 and 1805.

No -- this rule refers to the existing rule (705.0):


Quote:

DUKE'S FLEET: Deploy within two hexes of Klingon Neutral Zone east of 10xx inclusive, except 1704.


FEDS SENDS

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, April 15, 2017 - 06:15 am: Edit

Q717.01 Should the Vudar have an APT or PTR to move their Diplomat around? The LDR has 2 APTs and 2 PTRs for moving their Diplomat around.

Q717.02 Should the Vudar have an APT or PTR to move their Diplomat around? The LDR has 2 APTs and 2 PTRs for moving their Diplomat around.

Unless overruled by ADB, in both cases above, the Vudar should have had one APT and one PTR in each Capital Fleet. This was an oversight on my part as I had it in my original notes but I somehow dropped them from the final product.

FEDS SENDS

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 06:37 pm: Edit

Q513.113 Are the production limits on SAVs and LAVs for the ISC the same as the Federation? I note that production of Auxiliaries is defined under (549.0) but the maximum number allowed of a given unit is not and some units have no limit on the number in service. This is not addressed in the updates to earlier rules section of ISC War.

Q513.113 What would be the maximum number of SAVs and LAVs for both the Carnivons and Paravians in non-historical scenarios?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 08:00 pm: Edit

A513.113 for ISC. See (762.0) page 46 ISC War rulebook.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 07:40 am: Edit

Q315.0 Heavy War Cruisers: Are the Heavy War Cruisers allowed in battle groups (315.0)? The existing (315.0) does not mention heavy war cruisers at all. I suspect because they did not exist at the time the original battle group rules were written.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 12:05 pm: Edit

A315.0 Heavy War Cruisers. Based on (S8.2822) from Mod R12 the heavy war cruiser is battlegroup eligible as a war cruiser. Note the Gryphonhawk has the battlegroup symbol on the newest SIT.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 06:40 pm: Edit

Further information:

The Tholians have a unit called a heavy war cruiser in their current SIT. It is not listed as battle group eligible.

By Charles Chapel (Ctchapel) on Friday, April 28, 2017 - 04:59 pm: Edit

What is the +21 ep cost for when converting a Lyran DNWZ from a DD.

That surcharge does not apply to the DNW or DNWP conversions of the DD.

By Howard Bampton (Bampton) on Friday, April 28, 2017 - 05:28 pm: Edit

I agree that the +21 is suspect. Probably the +14 or +21 should go. Suggest you submit a line item or wait for FEAST to weigh in.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Monday, May 15, 2017 - 05:15 pm: Edit

(412.2) Tugs as supply points.

Q: Can a tug that was designated as a supply point on the Alliance Player Turn move via reaction movement (probably giving up supply point status) on the Coalition Player Turn? (412.22), which discusses movement, is kind of vague on this.

For reference:

(412.22) Non-Moving: A tug serving as a supply point cannot move (by any means) during the player turn in which it is used in this role.

It is clear that on the Player Turn when the Tug is assigned the role of Supply Point, it cannot move my any means. But it is unclear if this holds for the *next* player turn (i.e. the Coalition turn when the tug is an Alliance tug), especially given that the tug in question is specifically allowed to retreat (or withdraw before combat), which is moving by any means.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - 04:54 am: Edit

Ref: Tug as Supply Point

See my post of November 27, 2014, this topic.

FEDS SENDS

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - 07:52 am: Edit

Chuck,

With all due respect, and I'm really not trying to be intentionally obtuse here, the post in question (11/27/2014) doesn't mention or address reaction movement. Just what happens when a tug is attacked and wants to retreat or not.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation