Archive through September 22, 2017

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through September 22, 2017
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 02:53 pm: Edit

Q302.133 The defender has reacted an independent squadron of fighters into a hex containing a single friendly frigate. No Reserve force (507.0) was sent to the hex. Can the frigate withdraw before combat?
The carrier or base that is home to the Independent Fighter Squadron is not in the battle hex. Therefore "Fighters and PFs cannot be left behind unless their carrier/tender/base is also left behind; see (302.72)." does not apply.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 06:06 pm: Edit

Turtle - how did you react the fighters then (no reaction unless there's an enemy ship within reaction range)?

By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Monday, August 21, 2017 - 10:24 am: Edit

I am guessing enemies moved into a hex with a single frigate in it and the fighters reacted in.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 08:49 am: Edit

Q303.52 Can the Gorn DDs and BDs be mixed together in a group of three for one to be considered a leader (+1-0)? The Kzinti CL and CMs can be mixed under (303.51). The Gorn BD is a DD with a rear bubble added on for more systems.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 10:41 am: Edit

The above question on Gorn BDs and DDs is for a combat in progress. The Gorns have 2 BDs and 2 DDs in current battle force. There are a total of 2 BDs, 1 BDS, and 5 DDs in the battle hex in question.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 03:32 pm: Edit

FEDS sees no issue with this as long as the assumed leader ship is within the majority (2xDD+BD) or (2xBD+DD) since they both come from the same mother-stock and have similar systems.

FEDS Ruling:
Unless overruled by ADB, the Gorn BD/DD ships may share leaders under (303.51) so long as the assumed leader ship is within the majority (2xDD+BD) or (2xBD+DD).

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 10:32 pm: Edit

ok

By Harry Theodore (Harryt) on Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 04:46 pm: Edit

A quick question. Playing F&E 2000 rules in a campaign. Hydran capital managed to not fall. Rules state that the IC can not be built until it falls. We are playing (I think correctly) that the Hydrans can never build ICs since its capitol didn't fall. Is this correct or could they be built for full price as the SIT shows after the available date? Thanks.

Harry

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, September 04, 2017 - 09:48 pm: Edit

I don't have the rules with me atm.

Concerning the free fighter factors provided by the Old Colonies shipyard, can the Hydrans use them to pay for fighters needed for units converted offmap that were not produced by the old colony shipyard on that turn?

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, September 05, 2017 - 12:09 am: Edit

Yes

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, September 05, 2017 - 07:34 am: Edit

Q511.33 During the period an empire is rebuilding its shipyard, does the empire receive the free prime team under (522.1) and can it build one under (522.11) assuming the funds exist?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, September 05, 2017 - 09:31 am: Edit

I don't see why not. You have a capital shipyard hex, even if there is no shipyard completed. None of the equipment needed for a Prime Team requires a shipyard to construct.

By James Lowry (Rindis) on Thursday, September 07, 2017 - 11:56 pm: Edit

Q501.5: This rule (/its sections) state that fighter replacements happen for free as long as a carrier is 'in supply'. Q&A in CL32 clarified (501.55)'s reference to (413.41) as meaning that any carrier not in a main grid does not receive free fighter replacements (whether 'in supply' or not). However, a ship parked on (say) an allied capital, is in supply (410.25), and is in a main grid--just not its owning empire's. Can such a ship get free fighter replacements? (Or even any fighter replacements at all though the partial grid scheme?)

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, September 11, 2017 - 12:46 pm: Edit

Q314.24 (raid reactions) in view of 203.5 (pinning). Can a warship reacting to a raid be pinned by an intervening ship? Follow up question: If yes, when is that combat resolved, during the Raid phase, or during the ensuing combat phase?

Situation: The Hydran player places a Liege (LGE) into the normal raid slot and announces a valid raid target hex in 416 at which two Lyran ships (a CL and a DW) are currently occupying the planet in that hex. The Coalition, who recently captured the Hydran capital, has a large fleet with scouts occupying hex 617 (the Hydran capital). During the immediately prior economic phase, the Hydran player validly placed a POL in hex 517, which is directly between the raid hex and the Hydran capital.

The Coalition player would like to react a Lyran CF+PT from hex 617 into hex 416 to help defend against the raid. However, the POL is "in the way".

So, does the POL effectively pin the CF and prevent the CF from reaching 416? (Note that a single POL would pin a single CF during operational movement under normal circumstances.) An argument for "no" is because this is the raid phase, and pinning under 203.5 takes place only during the operational movement phase. An argument for "yes" is based on 203.5 as well and the general notion that the POL is "in the way."

If the answer is "yes" (i.e., the POL would intercept and pin the CF trying to reach the raid battle), then when is that combat resolved? Does the CF conduct combat against the POL immediately in the raid phase, or does the battle hex remain (possibly modified during operational movement and reserve movement) until the next combat phase?

Answers respectfully quested. Thank you in advance for considering.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Friday, September 15, 2017 - 06:24 pm: Edit

The Klingons and Lyrans can build heavy fighter carriers in 176 according to the SIT's but they can't get heavy fighters until 178. Which is right?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, September 15, 2017 - 09:13 pm: Edit

Dennis. The answer is both.

Beginning in Y176 they may build heavy fighter carriers that have a YIS date of Y176. They count against the carrier builds allowed on a given turn until Y178. Beginning in Y178 they count against the PFT builds if I remember correctly. See (530.0) in Fighter Operations 2016 for more details.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 09:14 am: Edit

Dennis,

Additional Notes on the easy side to find. Bases, to include PDUs, may not have heavy fighters until Y178. Heavy fighter pods may not be built until Y178.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 03:13 pm: Edit

So the Klingons could build a D5B on turn 16 but only get and pay for regular fighters. Then on turn 20 they could pay for the heavy fighters.

By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 07:26 pm: Edit

No, they can build the D5B with heavy fighters on T16 counting against their regular carrier production for the turn. In Y178 they can start building heavy fighters modules for bases and heavy fighter carrier production counts against a separate limit from regular carriers (this heavy fighter limit eventually becomes the PFT limit).

Confirmed with FEAR.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Sunday, September 17, 2017 - 02:31 pm: Edit

That is confusing, but thanks for the clarification.

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 10:21 am: Edit

I believe also that they can only build one per turn before the Heavy Fighter introduction date. So when PFTs come out, you can build more than one per turn, at the cost of not building a PFT.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 12:37 pm: Edit

Can major conversion facilities convert non-x-ships to x-ships?

415.18 says that "minor shipyards" can build x-ships of the stated hull type. It does not say that this "build" includes the "convert" capacity of the major conversion facility, but that facility is a "minor shipyard."

523.115 states "Some x-ships can be produced by converting non-x ships . . . Such conversions can only be performed by an SBX."

523.115 seems to be the more general rule that would exclude major conversion facilities from performing X-conversions, so is it correct that they cannot?

If major conversion facilities cannot convert non-x-ships to x-ships, is there an X-conversion cost for converting a non-X-Major conversion facility into an X-Major conversion facility?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 02:06 pm: Edit

Jeff,

You are correct in your interpretation of (523.115).

There is no way to convert a non-X Major conversion facility to a X-Major conversion facility. Something may be considered for Andro war but I suspect the answer is more SBXs.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 02:28 pm: Edit

Thanks, Ryan.

Another question: the latest Klingon SIT shows the D5X as being converted from the D5 but lists the cost as "NA". I assume that's an error. What is the actual cost of that conversion in XTP?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 02:47 pm: Edit

Conversion not allowed.

Can't convert GW war cruisers to X war cruisers. The hull construction isn't up to standards.

Any war cruiser X-ship has to be a new build.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation