Archive through October 12, 2017

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through October 12, 2017
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 03:00 pm: Edit

There are a few exceptions but the ships were designed as regular ships not short life span war cruisers. I.e. SparrowHawk.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 05:19 pm: Edit

A cost of NA is NOT ALLOWED.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 06:28 pm: Edit

When I was asking about the heavy fighter carriers being able to be built before the heavy fighter availability date, i didn't mention that my friend and I are playing the 2000 rules. did it make a difference? My friend doesn't accept that you can build the heavy fighter carriers before the heavy fighter availability date.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 07:09 pm: Edit

Dennis,

It only makes a difference in the fact the heavy fighters aren't available in that ruleset. Heavy fighters are in Advanced Operations and Fighter Operations.

(530.223) Production: Each empire may, on and after the date specified for the introduction of heavy fighters (or availability of specific ships with heavy fighters), produce one carrier per turn (by substitution or conversion) for use with heavy fighters. (more after this)

You can also point him to the Master Starship Books which list when the ships are available.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 09:08 pm: Edit

Steve,

I took NA to mean "not applicable." But I see that "not allowed" makes a good deal better sense. Thank you.

Jeff

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, September 25, 2017 - 01:52 pm: Edit

Small question on the Tholians, (604.15) adds the Tholians the Alliance on Turn #22, but the timeline in (600.2) says the Tholians drop to 75% economy on Turn #26 even though they were on a peacetime economy previously (604.15). So what's going on here??

Edit - CL#46 had a Q showing the Tholians entering historically on T #18 (still exhausted on T #26)...

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Monday, September 25, 2017 - 02:45 pm: Edit

Stew (looks like the (604.15) description needs updating.

The Klingons briefly attacked the Tholians on T11 (600.2) putting the Tholians on a wartime economy.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, September 25, 2017 - 06:21 pm: Edit

So will parts of (603.0) as the Tholian mention in (603.16)/(603.2) is that they are attackable.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 09:06 am: Edit

OK, APTs can carry KR parts (539.135) and can use strategic movement without counting against the owner or allied SM count (539.125). So the question is if they (APTs) can use (204.24) to make round trips within one SM move or do they make the trip in two moves???

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 11:30 am: Edit

Treat KR Parts like EPs where you can make one pick-up and one drop-off per turn ---OR--- one drop-off and one pick-up per turn.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 07:25 am: Edit

If a Hydran Ranger is captured and converted to Lyran technology, the hybrid fighter system is disabled as part of the tech conversion cost. Let's suppose that that same Lyran-converted Ranger is recaptured by the Hydrans. To convert it back to their tech costs the standard 3 EP. Two questions arise: first, does the re-installation of hybrid fighters cost 4 additional EP? Second, could the Hydran player choose to tech-convert it to the alternative Dragoon hull, or would that conversion require the expenditure of a RN to DG conversion cost on top of the tech conversion (and possibly hybrid fighter cost)?

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 09:55 am: Edit

Since the SIT shows that an FRD+ upgraded with two fighter modules cost 2+6, but an FRD+ constructed entirely in the shipyard costs only 10+6, I assume there is a 2 EP discount for not having to pay the logistics for shipping upgrade equipment across the galaxy. This seems to be the rationale for the cheaper costs of PDUs built in the shipyard and then sent elsewhere too.

But the SIT doesn't give a cost for an FRD with both a fighter and a PF module. So, does a PF module originally built at the time the FRD is constructed in the shipyard likewise get the discount? Thus, an FRD+FTRM+PFM would cost 10+3+3?

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Friday, September 29, 2017 - 04:23 am: Edit

Question on KR Spare Parts (442.8) and a recent tactic note.

Can the Romulans and Klingons use 539.135 (APT) and 539.235 (PTR) to ship the KR parts without Federation permission?

I don't believe so as 539.22 confirms they counts as ships and you require an Allied (or Neutral) nations permission to use their Strategic Movement Nodes.

The only exception for not requiring permission is Diplomatic Teams Based (540.142) and KR parts are clearly not Diplomatic based.

The 'game' effect of allowing APT/PTR's (as they can be be built over and above normal PWC - and the Tactic Writer believes they are automatically released) is that during turns 2 to 9 - the Coalition can use the APT/PTR's to increase the KR Parts supply situation - which seems to pretty much nullify the entire point of the rule (as there is no counter to stop the Coalition from doing this - plus the Lyrans and Klingons could use existin APT/PTR's to transfer KR parts).

Whist writing this - I think I have noticed why it will not work.

As soon as a Coaliton non-diplomatic ship enters Federation space - it would be interned (unless permitted by the neutral race??).

So
Would the APT/PTR ship be interned?*

If not - can the Federation decline the Coalition use of the SMN - to stop the KR spare parts being transferred?

*(The add on effect would be - if the Ship isn't interned - whats to stop a LTT/FTT or Full Tug from the Lyrans on turn 1 or Klingons turn 2 from taking KR parts to the Romulans?)

Thanks

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Friday, September 29, 2017 - 08:01 am: Edit

According to (511.573) FRD's and other defense-limited units are assigned to the planet in a system under attack. On the battleforce boards, the FRD(s) have a slot, as do many other units outside the command limits of the main force of ships. (511.573) states that the FRD's are subject to a directed damage attack, and it would appear to be the usual 2:1 of combat rather than the 3:1 of a rear echelon unit. So, we've always understood that each FRD contributes its single point of attack factor to the overall compot that includes the command limited ships, the maximum of three PTRs, the PDU's, and base(s) (subject to co-location firepower limits). Is this true of FRD's? Is their firepower added to the battleforce? Similarly, Battleforce Boards also include slots for Military Convoys and Federation LTF's. (526.151) and (526.256) state that the offensive potential of these two units are added to the overall compot outside of command and squadron limitations. We've always played that FRDs are the same, but I just wanted to confirm that this is true, since (511.573) asserts their presence and vulnerability to attack but doesn't actually state that they likewise add their offensive firepower.

FEDS: Units that are required to be in a battle force are free to add their assigned offensive ComPot to said battle force.


Quote:

(302.335) Bases, convoys, PDUs, and FRDs required to be included in the Battle Force (302.23) do not count against the Command Rating.

(302.323) Convoys and FRDs have no Command Ratings. They are required be in the Battle Force (302.231) but are not involved in flagship selection.


By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Friday, September 29, 2017 - 11:20 am: Edit

Lyran DND (525.326)

This is listed as a "Unique" ship that can be made for 4EPs by either skipping a DN production slot (so basically subbing it in for the DN) *or* skipping a major conversion slot (essentially trading a major conversion for an extra ship build), but there is no further clarification on what the effect of the "Unique" status is.

A) Can there only ever be one in service at a time?

B) If one is destroyed, can you make a new one?

C) Is it only something you can ever do once, and when the ship is destroyed, it can't ever be replaced?

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Thursday, October 05, 2017 - 03:37 am: Edit

In the 2K rules, can the Klingons sub a C7 in 177 or in 178. The SIT says 177, but the OOB says 178.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, October 05, 2017 - 03:50 am: Edit

The most recent SIT and OOB for the Klingons agree on Y177, if that helps.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Saturday, October 07, 2017 - 05:07 am: Edit

(320.511) allows one blockade run to a hex, but is the WYN Cluster an exception (for ship sales and/or EP runs)?? - Ship sales are technically conducted outside the Cluster [crew exchange] and may not be considered a run, but multiple EP runs are possible (Lyran and Klingon plus a possible Romulan) (Kzinti with possible Federation and/or Gorn)...

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, October 08, 2017 - 04:38 pm: Edit

Some questions about capital assaults.

1st Question:
A Kzinti CC is crippled at Vielsalm on the second battle round, it was a mobile ship.

Q:Is it now a static ship assigned to Vielsalm?

2nd Question:
A Kzinti crippled CC is assigned to Vronkett during the allocation of ships in 1401. It is clear that if it 'leaves the system' it must retreat. Can this CC use an FRD at the Kzintai system to conduct RCR? If it can, must it then retreat?

Q:Can this CC use

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 02:42 pm: Edit

The webcaster rules indicate that the webcaster can halve the combat factors of any "unit." I assume that this includes bases?

FEDS: YES - a base is a unit and can be affected by webcasters.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 03:48 pm: Edit

If in the course of a battle round, a player receives so much damage that all of his units in that battleforce are destroyed, and if, further, there are still leftover points that were not resolved, are these leftover points counted as plus points on the next battleround (in the same hex at the same location using ships available)?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 04:21 pm: Edit

Not an answer guy, but I think that might be covered in the annihilation rules.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 05:02 pm: Edit

I checked those rules but they don't cover this situation.

By Mike Curtis (Nashvillen) on Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 06:41 pm: Edit

Look at your max plus points limitation.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 09:16 pm: Edit

Thanks, Mike.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation