Archive through December 25, 2017

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through December 25, 2017
By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Wednesday, November 08, 2017 - 08:14 am: Edit

According to (312.211) a frozen (by an SFG) ship's abilities cannot be used during the current combat round. Examples offered are the special abilities of the mauler and the scout. Are the effects of webcasters used to reduce the attack factors of enemy units in Phase 5-3K of the Master Sequence nullified if the webcaster ship is successfully frozen?

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Wednesday, November 08, 2017 - 11:01 am: Edit


Quote:

According to (312.211) a frozen (by an SFG) ship's abilities cannot be used during the current combat round. Examples offered are the special abilities of the mauler and the scout. Are the effects of webcasters used to reduce the attack factors of enemy units in Phase 5-3K of the Master Sequence nullified if the webcaster ship is successfully frozen?




Yes, as a webcaster is a ship specific special ability, it is nullified by a successful SFG freezing of the specific ship.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, November 12, 2017 - 10:28 pm: Edit

Q:511.533:

The Hydrans and Klingons are in 0617. It is the Hydran player's turn.

The approach battle was not accepted.

The Hydrans select a system to attack (the planet Hydrax in that system is selected).

The Klingons choose (by 511.533) not to defend that planet (and do not elsewhere, as no other planets are attacked).

(511.533) says that they then must retreat.

QUESTION: IS THIS POSSIBLE ON THE FIRST ROUND OF COMBAT? The Coalition have no crippled ships here; they will get to have no battle round in 0617 and will avoid having to lose any ships.

My thought is perhaps this is an oversight in the rules. Other than cloaked evasion, I don't know of any way for battles hexes to resolve without at least a round of combat.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, November 15, 2017 - 08:42 am: Edit

Q507.2 Can Gunline Groups (324.42) be used for establishing a Reserve Fleet (507.0) if the reserve fleet qualifies for use of the echelon formation under (324.11)? Battle Groups may be used in creating a reserve fleet under (315.1) and (507.22).

FEDS RESPONSE:
Unless overruled by ADB, Gunline groups CANNOT be used as part of a reserve fleet where six ships count a four for command purposes. A reserve force is a strategic element whereas an echelon formation is a tactical formation that requires a tactical environment to reap tactical command benefits. However, the same elements that could be used in a gunline group during a battle round could themselves be used to form a battle group and used in a reserve fleet where six ships count as five for command purposes.

REFERENCE:


Quote:

(324.421) Qualification: A Gunline Group can only be used if the Battle Force qualifies for and is using an echelon formation.



FEDS SENDS

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 10:54 am: Edit

If a Tholian battleforce containing two webcasting ships were to use its NDN to webcast (Mission B) Klingon B10AA, thereby cutting its offensive contribution in half, and then a second webcasting ship, an NCA, were to use its webcaster in Mission E to protect the NDN, can an SFG attempt be made against the NCA? If so and if that attempt were successful, then (given rule 312.211), would the NCA's protection using Mission E of the NDN be nullified, such that another SFG attempt might be made against the NDN? Or, does the SFG protection from Mission E apply in spite of the nullification effect of (312.211) of special weapons that include webcasters?

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 01:33 pm: Edit

If using penal honor duel in step 5-3H of the sequence of play, how do the players determine the EW shift effect of the small unit combat modification in (310.14) to fight the honor duel, since the EW determination isn't made until step 5-4A2? Or is the EW modifier only that of any EW generated by the ships of the actual honor duel?

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 04:06 pm: Edit

If a starbase is subjected to a webcaster attack using Mission B, then the attack factor of the SB is cut in half. If during the EW determination step in the sequence of play, that webcasted starbase wishes to increase its EW, it must trade attack factors to do so. Does it trade its attack factors based on the new halved total (due to the webcaster attack)? Or, does it pay for its EW shift at a half rate? Or, can it pay for its EW shift out of the lost webcaster attack factors?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 09:34 am: Edit

Q511.222 Should "two combplete turns" be "two complete years" (four complete turns) for the former Klingon colonies to begin producing EPs at their full undevastated rate? (508.25) states that it takes 4 complete turns for a planet to recover from devastation once the original owner has liberated the planet in question.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 11:43 am: Edit

Q437.1 Does converting a variant of a base hull to another variant of a base hull qualify for the 2-step conversion discount if the total cost is 3 EPs or more before the actual 2-step conversion cost discount is applied? E.G. Gorn HDE to HDS. The HDE must first be converted to a HD for 1 EP. Then it could be converted to a HDS for 3 more EPs.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 02:09 pm: Edit

Turtle — may I suggest a re-reading of the requirements and limits for two -step conversions.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 08:44 pm: Edit

I have a few questions about F&E 2000 and are looking for some answers.

1) Can the Lyrans crate more than 1 SCS in a year by converting a CA to a SCS?

2) We had a battle where an untowed FRD retreated in a battle hex with a cripples BATS. Was that legal?

3) We are playing where anybody can use the Third Way. Can anybody use all of the advantages of the rules i.e. CVBG's and higher fighter limits. The rules say that the Federation had the unique ability to use those rules.

4) Can you move a reserve to a hex with a pinned reserve to free up that reserve to move to another battle hex?

Thanks in advance.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 09:33 pm: Edit

Dennis, answers to two of your four questions.

1) No. SCS production is limited to one per year by any means. See various Order of Battles along with (502.7) in the F&E 2010 Rules which supersede the F&E 2K rules.

3) Yes, other empires can use the CVBGs and the 4 attrition unit limit under (502.93). The only difference is that other empire SCSs have fighter factors of 8H6 as opposed to the Federation's 24 or more correctly 10V14.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 09:36 pm: Edit

Dennis,


Quote:

1) Can the Lyrans crate more than 1 SCS in a year by converting a CA to a SCS?




(502.72) SCS counts against the CV limit of one per (711.3) by any means.


Quote:

2) We had a battle where an untowed FRD retreated in a battle hex with a cripples BATS. Was that legal?




No, only FRDs under tow can retreat, but as a slow unit. (421.22)


Quote:

3) We are playing where anybody can use the Third Way. Can anybody use all of the advantages of the rules i.e. CVBG's and higher fighter limits. The rules say that the Federation had the unique ability to use those rules.




I think the answer is yes if any empire can use the special rule.


Quote:

4) Can you move a reserve to a hex with a pinned reserve to free up that reserve to move to another battle hex?




Yes.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Wednesday, November 22, 2017 - 07:49 pm: Edit

thanks for the answers. one other question on the third Way. if somebody other than the Feds take the Third Way, do they get all of the advantages of it immediately, or do they have to wait for the feds to discover them in 181?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 07:41 am: Edit

Question resubmitted. FEAST

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 12:09 pm: Edit

The Lyran SR, when combined with a scout pallet, is limited to 4 EW but its AF (3) is not shown as being affected (reduced to 2 AF), does this also apply if the SR is mated with the PF pallet or space control pallet (remains at 3 AF, tugs are reduced to 2 AF)?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 09:24 pm: Edit

Q518.43 What effects do standard SWAC and heavy SWAC (317.3) going wild (518.43) have on the Carnivons and Paravians respectively should the Federation find themselves in conflict with either or both empires?

Note: This Q&A replaces the Q&A By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 07:41 am: Edit

There are changes in the wording to correct grammatical issues with the original question.

By Bill Steele (Bill83501) on Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 12:07 am: Edit

in 3HN.21 the statement

"unless the final adjusted BIR of the HN armed force is seven or more" is a little confusing. Mainly the statement BIR of the HN armed force. Standard BIR is for both forces, BIR for the HN force could mean attacker BIR + defender BIR + var + die roll. The standard BIR route would make it fairly rare (1 in 6) of ever using the nipper.

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Friday, December 01, 2017 - 08:23 pm: Edit

I have a question on Maulers firing at carrier groups. Can you use the maulers factors at the group as a whole or just at one ship in the group.
an if it's at only one ship in the group, can it be at any ship in the group, or just the outer escort. for example I'm firing at a Kzinti CVD group of an FFK, MEC and CVD with a def value of 20. Can I fire the mauler at the group needing 30 damage to flip the group. Or is it fire at the outer escort only needing 35. Or is the third option possible waiting to use it at the CVD needing 32 damage.
thanks in advance.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 12:17 pm: Edit

(Dennis--check the "Q+A Discussions" thread)

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 09:41 am: Edit

Q321.3 If a given empire has more than one MMG in a battle hex, can multiple benefits be selected during each round of combat? (321.32) would seem to indicate that the answer is yes.


Quote:

This option may only be used once per Combat Phase by each MMG.


By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, December 18, 2017 - 08:23 pm: Edit

Q302.617 Can a rescue tug (537.2) be used to "save" the ship that is required to be killed under (302.617)?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, December 21, 2017 - 07:03 pm: Edit

Q302.321: This rule states (in general) that a flagship must come from the empire which provides at least 50 percent of the total ships in the Battle Force. It explicitly states that drone bombardment ships count for this. I suspect that at the time this rule was originally written, there was no support echelon, as only DBB ships could participate in a battle without being in the battle force itself (more or less).

This would explain why the rule does not refer to a support echelon, or in fact specify how to treat ships in the support echelon that are not drone bombardment ships.

So my question is: Do ships in the support echelon count for this rule if they are not drone bombardment ships (ie commando ships, carrier groups, hospital ships, rescue tugs and any other ship in the support echelon)?

By Dennis Nicholson (Dennis) on Sunday, December 24, 2017 - 11:06 pm: Edit

Do PF tenders have to be escorted if in combat?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, December 25, 2017 - 01:42 pm: Edit

Q302.722 (302.722) specifically mentions fighters and PFs as being allowed to transfer from retreating ships to non-retreating units, provided space is available. Does the same apply the Ground Troups on Commando ships (521.2)? Also, does it apply to Troop Ships (FTS, FTL, etc.) that otherwise are included in the slow unit retreat battle under (302.742)?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation