By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, December 25, 2017 - 07:08 pm: Edit |
Dennis, PFTs are not required to be escorted, (515.43) allows them to have escorts and operate as a 'group'. [Staff answer]
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 11:03 am: Edit |
Q:302.73 A given hex is at the time of choosing to retreat a valid option for both empires. The defender retreats into this valid hex first as (302.72) states. The hex in question is the only valid hex the attacker could retreat to under (302.733)3D until the defender retreated into that hex first. The defender had a choice of 2 valid hexes but chose the one in question in order to force another round of combat with the attacker as they outnumber the attacking player both in the initial battle and in the retreat hex in question.
Does this force the hex to be considered a fighting retreat now? If there is a Q&A available on the web for this question I have been unable to locate it. If so, please provide the link in a reply. Thanks in advance for your time and consideration.
A:302.73 The key here is step (5-7A4) of the SoP. The defending player retreats first using the retreat priorities (302.73), then once that is done, the attacker does the same with the defenders in their new hex location. It is not simultaneous. Start over on the retreat priorities for the attacker and see what is left for them to retreat to, per (302.73)
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 02:23 pm: Edit |
Thank you. - FEAR
By Nick Blank (Nickgb) on Wednesday, December 27, 2017 - 03:41 pm: Edit |
I am not seeing an after action topic anymore for F&E2K10 (PDF rules), so I am putting this errata item here:
(502.91) BASES: "...at the “bases” rate (0.5 EP per factor)..." should be "...at the "bases or PDU" rate (1 EP per factor or 0.5 EP per factor)..." as per rule (432.22). Only PDUs get the 0.5 EP per fighter factor rate.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 07:25 pm: Edit |
Links to the After Action Reports for the various F&E products may be found here.
Link posted as a friend of the court.
By Nick Blank (Nickgb) on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 08:14 pm: Edit |
Thanks Thomas, the item is in the Warbook topic, but I will put it in the F&E2K10 topic as well.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, January 01, 2018 - 12:30 am: Edit |
Q302.7. A Kzinti force is fighting over a starbase and suffers casualties due to directed damage. Said casualties produce salvage EPs for the Kzinti. Now, the Kzinti SB is out of supply during the fight, meaning the EPs from salvage are stored at the SB itself. Later in the same battle, the Kzinti retreat, and in doing so establish a supply route to another supply point. The question is, are the salvage EPs lost when the SB is destroyed because the supply route isn't opened until after the combat is over when the retreat is conducted - or are the salvage EPs transferred to the now available supply point because the retreat opened the path to supply and the combat wasn't over until after the retreat was finished? Another way to ask this question is when is the combat considered over, in order to know precisely when to determine when EPs stored at a supply point are lost or transferred to another supply point?
Thank you.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, January 03, 2018 - 11:15 pm: Edit |
From 2014:
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, March 06, 2014 - 08:46 pm: Edit
FEDS COMMENTARY:
It is clear that the intent of the alternative attack under (314.28) is to allow a raider to rapidly engage a target of opportunity in the raid hex BEFORE raid target hex units retreat. in essence, it is a quasi-pursuit round before retreat where the raider gets an alternative attack against a target of choice (without it actually being a pursuit round).
FEDS NOTIONAL SOP CLARIFICATION (OPEN FOR COMMENT)
3A - STEP 2: NORMAL RAIDS
3A-2A: Specify locations and roll to determine outcome of sabotage and infiltration (537.1).
3A-2B: Designate and move normal raiding ships to raid target hexes (314.21); move Espionage and Sabotage Prime Teams to their target hex (534.15).
3A-2C: Target empire may use Reaction Movement to respond to raids (314.241) OR may call up, if eligible, police ships to fight raiders (314.243), but not both.
3A-2D: Target empire declares which units will fight the raider (314.251).
3A-2E: Raiding ships/reacting units conduct one round of small-scale combat (314.244); see exceptions in (318.7).
3A-2F: Raiders crippled or retreating are returned to raiding pool (314.244).
3A-2G: Raid response units choosing to retreat identify retreat hex.
3A-2H: Conduct specified raid actions:
• 3A-2H1: Record disrupted locations from raiding (314.27) or conduct alternate attack (314.28) if eligible.
• 3A-2H2: Identify, conduct, and resolve Espionage and Sabotage Missions in target hex (534.12).
3A-2J: Return raiders to raiding pool (314.273).
3A-2K: Retreat raid response units and alternative attack survivors (as appropriate) to retreat hex identified in step 3A-2G.
Does the above clarify the issues?
******************
Q: The current SoP does not reflect the above clarification and is more recent. Is this clarification still in effect? If so, it should possibly be incorporated into the current SoP.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, January 26, 2018 - 10:24 am: Edit |
Q521.831 Can an eligible G unit with two or more G's place more than one G on a given planet provided the number of IGCEs do no exceed the number of PDUs under (521.381A)?
Bold used for emphasis
FEDS: Yes, but one must still pay one EP per GCE deposited on the planet per (521.831).
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Monday, January 29, 2018 - 08:52 am: Edit |
Question on Commercial Convoys (443.0).
Is the income from a Commercial Convoy (10EPs) subject to the penalties of Economic Exhaustion?
For example, if a Commercial Convoy gets to a Klingon Starbase on Turn 19, do the Klingons get 10EPs or 7.5EPs (75% due to economic exhaustion)?
(I tried searching for an answer, found none; the rule section itself doesn't say one way or the other).
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, January 29, 2018 - 09:04 am: Edit |
No. Com Con EPs are not subject to the exhaustion ruled.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Monday, January 29, 2018 - 09:06 am: Edit |
FEAR Concurs, ComCon income is not subject to exhaustion.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, January 29, 2018 - 04:41 pm: Edit |
FEDS CONCURS. The text of the rule simply states with no exceptions: Upon arrival at a qualified starbase of the second race,
Quote:
the Commercial Convoy must stop; the "receiving" race
immediately receives 10 EPs to represent the trade.
This is simply trade income -- not generated income.
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Monday, January 29, 2018 - 11:47 pm: Edit |
How about EPs from High Risk Survey (542.27)? The eps generated from found colonies is almost certainly subject to exhaustion, but what about the 5 EPs treasure horde? Find 5 EPs instead of any survey points.
Unless overruled by ADB, the five EPs found as a result high risk survey is not subject to exhaustion.
Quote:
FEDS SENDS
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, February 04, 2018 - 08:36 am: Edit |
(603.2)
"TURN #13: Same as Turn #12, except that if the Gorns have not attacked the Romulans, the Romulans may attack the Gorns. All Gorn forces become available immediately. Romulan North Fleet is released if the Gorns attacked the Roms."
If the Gorn don't attack on T12, when is the Romulan North Fleet released?
According to the wording in (603.2), the North Fleet is only released on T13 if the Gorns have attacked the Romulans.
By James Lowry (Rindis) on Monday, February 05, 2018 - 07:11 pm: Edit |
Q314.25 - Looking for a little more clarity between the following statements:
(314.244) The raiding ship and reacting ship (or equivalent) combined with any defending units already in the hex then fight one round of single combat.
(314.25) COMBAT: If there are already two or more enemy ships or equivalents in the Raid Target Hex, then ALL of them may (but are not required to) fight the Raiding Ship (318.7).
(314.252) Note that if a Raiding Ship enters a Raid Target Hex with many enemy ships and none of them agree to fight, the Raiding Ship would have what amounts to a free pass...
The first one seems to say that a reacting ship must always fight a raiding ship. The second one allows more than one defending ship to fight a raider (but the phrase 'two or more' would imply at least one does), and the third one states it is possible for no ships to fight the raider.
So, if a raid hits a hex with an enemy ship already present, and a second one reacts into it, must the reacting ship fight the raider (possibly with the already present ship)? If a raid hits a hex with an enemy ship present, and nothing reacts, must the defending ship fight the raider (short of an alternative attack on that ship) since there are not 'two or more' ships already present?
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Tuesday, February 06, 2018 - 12:36 pm: Edit |
Additionally, the last line of 314.244 says:
"A defending unit could decline battle, and the Raid would then be resolved under (314.252)"
Thats the same rule that starts with: "The raiding ship and reacting ship (or equivalent) combined with any defending units already in the hex then fight one round of single combat."
So, right in the body of the same rule there is confusion.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, February 09, 2018 - 08:40 am: Edit |
Q447.12 Does an empire's economic status affect the amount that could be borrowed under (447.11) as limited by (430.62)? Example: EPs may be borrowed when at Limited War (75%) of a given empire's normal at war economy. However the value at 75% vs 100% can make a difference between a maximum of 20% or 10 EPs. (430.62) SPENDING: A player can spend a limited number of points in excess of the amount in the Treasury. The number of points which can be spent is determined as follows:
This rule states that the maximum amount that can be borrowed is bases upon the INCOME last received so if one's economy is reduced for whatever reason (limited war, exhaustion, etc.), then whatever INCOME one received the last time one received income (which also includes Diplomatic Cooperation & Trade Revenue and High Risk Survey Revenue) is used as the basis of this rule (430.62).
Quote:
LAST TURN’S INCOME ALLOWED DEFICIT SPENDING
0-10 .......................................... Equal to income
11-50 ........................................ 10 points
51+ .......................................... 20% of income
The term “last turn” refers to the last time the player received income, which could be earlier in the current turn.
FEDS SENDS
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, February 09, 2018 - 01:36 pm: Edit |
Quote:This rule states that the maximum amount that can be borrowed is bases upon the INCOME last received so if one's economy is reduced for whatever reason (limited war, exhaustion, etc.), then whatever INCOME one received the last time one received income (which also includes Diplomatic Cooperation & Trade Revenue and High Risk Survey Revenue) is used as the basis of this rule (430.62).
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 11:05 am: Edit |
Turtle:
While it is true that Diplomatic Cooperation and Trade Revenue are excluded from levels of exhaustion and/or economic levels (peace/limited/full war), can you please cite the specific rule or ruling that states that Diplomatic Cooperation & Trade Revenue are excluded from determining the debt limit?
FEDS
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 11:24 am: Edit |
Diplomatic Trade and Cooperation is not classified as income and not subject to exhaustion.
2009 Archive
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 12:32 pm: Edit |
Turtle:
I am not questioning that Diplomatic Trade and Diplomatic Cooperation are not subject to exhaustion.
I'm asking you to specifically site the rule or ruling that says Diplomatic Trade INCOME and Diplomatic Cooperation INCOME are explicitly excluded from determining the debt limit.
Rule (447.11) specifically references (430.62) which uses "Last Turn's INCOME".
Rule (540.23) TRADE even uses the term "trade INCOME".
Specific borrowing limit calculations exclusions from (447.12):
For purposes of this calculation, "current turn's revenue" does not include money received from salvage, other races (FEDS: This means (435.0) transfer of funds), commercial convoys, or various bonuses in the rules such as the Hydran Guild Treasury. These EPs are simply added to the treasury.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 09:46 am: Edit |
Q540.251 What happens if the Gorns send a Diplomat to the planet in 5403 and they roll a 6? Does the planet remain neutral or does it join the ISC even though the ISC is neutral for the General War?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 11:53 am: Edit |
Turtle: (540.254) If a Neutral Planet joins an empire, the other adjoining race can send (or keep) diplomats there to try to reverse the decision. (This cannot be done after the two races are at war with each other.) In such a case, a die roll of "1" means that the planet becomes neutral again while a die roll of "6" means that the diplomatic team is sent home to its own capital (with its ship if any). On a die roll of "2-5", the team continues negotiating.
In the case you described, planet 5403 "joins" the neutral ISC. However, one may use (540.254) to attempt to win it over to one's side:
Quote:
FEDS SENDS
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 08:22 pm: Edit |
Nothing happens with 5403, you can't send a diplomat there according to 540.25. - FEAR
FEAR is correct -- My bad for assuming Turtle was speaking about neutral planet 5109.
FEDS
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |