By James Lowry (Rindis) on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 01:12 am: Edit |
The escort bonus isn't a defense factor, and isn't affected by maulers. Scouts get an extra defense factor when directed on, and that is affected by the mauler.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 01:35 am: Edit |
If a particular 'escort' was in fact a non-escort acting as an ad-hoc escort, you could maul that regardless of where it is in the carrier group.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 04:38 am: Edit |
Denis
It can be the whole group or the outer escort.
Group to cripple with a 10 point mauler would be 30.
The FFK would only take 5 to cripple or 8 to kill with a 10 Point Mauler
(Note - if it was a FKE it would be 7 to cripple and 10 to kill - Ad Hoc Escorts do not get the 1 pt Defensive Compot benefit of each escort)
=============
MOVED BY FEDS TO THIS TOPIC.
REMINDER: The F&E Q&A Topic is for player questions and OFFICIAL answers only.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 12:16 pm: Edit |
James wrote:
>>The escort bonus isn't a defense factor, and isn't affected by maulers. Scouts get an extra defense factor when directed on, and that is affected by the mauler.>>
Yeah, that's what I figured (and is what was calculated above), but as I was writing it out last night, I was suddenly all "Huh. I have no idea what actually happens here. I'm usually the Alliance..."
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 11:01 am: Edit |
From Turtle:
Q321.3 If a given empire has more than one MMG in a battle hex, can multiple benefits be selected during each round of combat? (321.32) would seem to indicate that the answer is yes.
Quote:
This option may only be used once per Combat Phase by each MMG.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 11:09 am: Edit |
I disagree; if the rule said once per battle round, then it would indeed imply multiple MMGs could be used in a battle round.
However the rule (321.32) refers to multiple MMGs being used in a *combat phase*, which is the period of the turn where all battle hexes are resolved.
As a combat phase could have MMGs in different battle hexes, it is obvious that the quoted rule does not refer to multiple MMGs being used in a single battle round in a single battle hex.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 09:21 pm: Edit |
I think Turtle is right, each MMG has this ability to play once per Combat Phase, but this would mean both (or more) are in the same battleforce...
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, December 17, 2017 - 01:41 am: Edit |
Out of curiousity, what do you think a combat phase is? Because it sounds like you are using it like 'battle hex' rather than that portion of the turn that contains ALL battles in all battle hexes, and I don't think that's correct.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, December 17, 2017 - 10:52 pm: Edit |
RBE, that's more or less correct, even if the MMG becomes involved in another battle (same hex or not), it can still only use this once since it's the same combat phase...
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 02:24 pm: Edit |
Fixed.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 02:25 pm: Edit |
Fixed.
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 05:38 pm: Edit |
James Lowry's question on 314.25 is something that came up in our game, because James' position has results in significant numbers of Klingon Ships being cut off into a partial grid in Federation space that he is using a supply tug to provide supply rather than paying for supply using the few EPs he generates in that grid and/or Orion smuggling. As a result, the question about raid reactions is pertinent to my efforts to keep his ships cut off from his supply tug. I've been using single ships within reaction range to larger forces. My plan is to react a small ship to join the picket ship (so a fairly small force in hex), decline any battle with the raider and let him choose to kill one pick in a special attack, but keep the hex blocked. We need to know if that is a valid tactic, because if a reaction ship to a raid MUST attack the raiding ship, I have to use a much more powerful unit or use multiple ships in each hex to guarantee I will control the hex.
By Jason Langdon (Jaspar) on Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 07:29 pm: Edit |
Would also be good to get an answer on Peter's question on 4 Feb. How does the Romulan North Fleet get released?
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, April 29, 2018 - 12:38 pm: Edit |
From Q&A:Q302.25 regarding the conversion of captured carriers to combat duty:
During one of the more embarassing fails of mine on the klingon front my friend managed to snatch my crippled DVA carrier with his commandos during pursuit.
He is now rejoycing the prospect of adding a new heavy carrier to his forces and we had an argument on the conversion costs of captured carriers.
So what would be the cost for him converting MY precious DVA carrier to his service? Does he has to pay for the fighters as well or does the fighter annuity transfers to him when he converts the captured carrier for his service?
According to ...
… 423.21 each Fighter factor on a carrier costs 2 EP.
… 305.23 captured ships can be fitted for combat duty paying 3 EP but it does not make any mention whether or not one has to pay for the fighters on captured carriers.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, April 29, 2018 - 12:47 pm: Edit |
The Klingons would pay 3 EP to xoncert this to their technology (they'd also have to repair it). The fighter annuity that the Feds have for the ship does not 'transfer' over to the Klingons, it will be necessary for the Klingons to pay the cost themselves, as if they had newly built it. Note that Federation special fighters are not available to the Klingons and any fighter squadrons would have the standard factors that the Klingons use.
By Sören Klein (Ogdrklein) on Tuesday, May 01, 2018 - 07:44 am: Edit |
Thank you for the answer, Richard!
That confirms our guess and my postulation that the captured DVA would have a 8H6 fighter group instead of its original 10V8.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Soeren
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, May 01, 2018 - 09:56 am: Edit |
'xonvert' was a really badly typed 'convert'. o_O
Note that I am *not* an official answer guy; I would be pretty surprised if it was ruled differently though.
By Byron Sinor (Bsinor) on Sunday, May 06, 2018 - 10:10 am: Edit |
I am in agreement with you, Sören and Richard on what a Klingon converted DVAs factors would be. Richard is correct that after the 3 EP conversion, it will also be necessary to repair the ship for the expected cost in additional to paying for the Klingon fighter squadrons. These fighters squadrons would also be compatible with Lyran fighters just as other Klingon fighters are compatible with Lyran fighters and vice versa.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, May 06, 2018 - 11:58 am: Edit |
"Johnny C. Johnson is right about Howard Johnson being right!"
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 05:43 am: Edit |
Q(6HW.522) May the Carnivons sell ships to the WYN?
Richard, I would say they are subject to the same limits under (449.2) as the Klingons, Kzintis, and Lyrans.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 09:50 am: Edit |
I'd say that too, but the rules are silent on the matter.
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 04:28 pm: Edit |
Well it's still a playtest empire...
FEDS: Concurs.
Unless overruled by ADB, in 2v2 scenarios with the four empires sharing a 'near' common border with the WYN, my recommendation would be that all four empires have equal WYN trading rights of four EPs per turn.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 06:29 pm: Edit |
Nod, I was asking about selling ships to the WYN though. Not an academic question as Dana Madsen and I are playtesting the scenario Howling Winds, where I'd like to sell a Carnivon DD to the WYN.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 07:13 pm: Edit |
Chuck, while the Question is referencing a rule from a playtest scenario, the actual question is regarding (449.2) Selling Ships to the WYN.
Some playtest feedback on the Carnivons from the Empires of the Dead game. Only the Kzintis have sold any ships to the WYN under (449.2). They have sold 3 DDs to the WYN One each in Y169, 170, and Y171.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 05, 2018 - 01:48 am: Edit |
Unless overruled by ADB, my recommendation would be that the Carivons are subject to the same limits under (449.2) as the Klingons, Kzintis, and Lyrans.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |