By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, April 17, 2020 - 06:29 pm: Edit |
Thank you Chuck.
By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Friday, April 17, 2020 - 07:11 pm: Edit |
Just to make sure we are all on the same page here, two examples:
1) The Hydrans attack a Klingon planet. They destroy all defending Klingon forces and PDU, devastate the planet, then retreat off the planet.
2) The Hydrans attack a devastated Klingon planet. Both sides fight a round at the planet. The RDF is killed during the round. The Hydrans then announce that they are retreating from the planet. After that, the Klingons announce that they are also retreating. The Klingons conduct their retreat first. Therefore, after the Klingon retreat but before the Hydran one, there is a brief moment when there are Hydrans in the hex but no Klingons.
In each case, the question is the same. Was the planet briefly captured or not?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, April 17, 2020 - 08:05 pm: Edit |
WJ:
1. The Klingon planet was briefly captured IF all the conditions of (508.22) were met, HOWEVER, the moment any Hydran garrisoning forces retreat from said planet, a Klingon RDF pops up and reclaims the planet.
2. If both sides retreat during the same combat round, then both sides are treated as simultaneously retreating even though the limitations of the sequence of play (105.0) require one to retreat first. In this case you have given, the Hydrans did not meet the conditions of (508.22) and therefore the Klingons never lost control of the planet.
FEDS SENDS
By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Saturday, April 18, 2020 - 05:58 pm: Edit |
To destroy a shipyard, does the attacker need to have enough uncrippled ships to garrison all planets?
By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Saturday, April 18, 2020 - 10:07 pm: Edit |
Never mind, found the answer. It's yes. This message and the above one can be deleted.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 03:27 am: Edit |
Probably best to ask Williams question - relevant rules 508.23, 508.235 and 511.351 - plus 508.22 on capture.
Situation - Hex 4402 is under attack.
At the end of Combat Round X there are :-
No Gorn PDU's or bases or units in the Hex.
There is 10 crippled Romulan Gorn ships in the hex.
As per normal combat 'rules' (and Chuck's recent reconfirmation on capture), the planets in the hex would at that point in time be captured.
The attacker then gets the option to retreat - but as the Attacker captured the planets, the Ship yard I believe is destroyed.
If the Attackers remain in the hex - the planets will though rebel and revert to the original owner as per 508.235.
The question is - if the Attacker can not legally garrison a hex, can the hex ever be captured?
On the basis that Garrisoning is only required after a planet is captured, I believe capturing (and destroying of the Capital Shipyard) occurs first - and the requirement to garrison the planets occurs second?
Thanks
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 06:27 am: Edit |
<BLOCKQUOTE><HR SIZE=0><!-Quote-!><FONT SIZE=1>Quote:<P>(508.22) CAPTURING: If the planetary defenses are destroyed, and the planet is devastated, and all other defending units are eliminated from the hex, the planet has been captured.
==========
(511.35) DESTROYING THE SHIPYARD: The only way to destroy the shipyard is to capture the entire hex which contains it. Simply devastating the capital planet or all of the planets in its system will not capture the hex.
(511.351) As combat cannot end with opposing units in the same hex, you must fight on until all enemy units in the capital hex are destroyed or have retreated. This includes the PDUs on all planets in the hex. Exception: See (508.235), which would prevent the destruction of the shipyard (FEDS: This is a specific rule).
===========
(508.235) In the case of a capital hex with several planets, if the conquering player does not provide enough ships to fully garrison all planets, he designates which planets he is garrisoning and the remainder revert to their original owners...<!-/Quote-!><HR SIZE=0></BLOCKQUOTE>
<B>Requirements for CAPITAL (or muti-system) HEX capture:
1. ALL planetary defenses in the hex are destroyed
2. ALL planets in the hex are devastated
3. ALL other defending units are eliminated from the hex
(The moment these requirements are met, then the Capital Hex is captured; however...)
The additional requirement for SHIPYARD DESTRUCTION [per the exception in rule (511.351)]:
4. ALL planets in the CAPITAL HEX must be garrisoned after capture.
FEDS SENDS</B></FONT>
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 07:06 am: Edit |
Thanks
By Nils Kadesjö (Kadelake) on Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 02:14 pm: Edit |
Hi! I'm playing my first game of basic F&E2010 and have a bunch of questions.
1. The OOB for each empire includes "Once PFTs are available, can produce one per year by substitution and one by conversion (432.42)". However, rule 432.42 claims one substitution and one conversion per turn. Is it per year or per turn?
2. Klingon mothball fleet and IWR.
The 6xD6 are added to the Mothballs when the first IWR squadron is released, right? Not once for each squadron?
3. Mobile bases.
A tug carrying a MB is treated as a normal tug, right?
Does that mean a tug could: A. carry a MB into a battle hex, B. stay out of the battle line and C. set up the MB in the hex after the battle had been won during phase 10C?
Rule 509-1C seems to indicate this but I'm a bit confused by the mobile base rules.
4. Federation escorts and "spare fighters".
(502.943) states that "These spare fighters cannot be A-20s or F-111s or other heavy fighters."
Does this have any effect in basic F&E, and if so what does it mean?
5. Is it only the Feds that get any special fighter squadrons in basic F&E? The Hydran CV for example is listed as a single squadron in the master SIT.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 04:11 pm: Edit |
Kadelake see reply in Q&A Discussion Thread.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 05:12 pm: Edit |
Kadelake,
Are you using the OOB from the 2K10 rulebook? In reference to question 1 since I maintain the online OOBs.
Ryan
FOBS
By Nils Kadesjö (Kadelake) on Sunday, April 26, 2020 - 03:39 am: Edit |
Thanks! Yes, I used the 2k10 rulebook. I've read your online OOBs now and they very clearly answered my first two questions.
There is... quite a lot of stuff in the online OOBs, so they are a bit confusing when playing without any expansions
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 08:15 am: Edit |
Fighting Retreats (302.77) and Cloaked Ships (306.0)
Can a force with Cloaks use 306.11 to attempt to avoid combat and so not be forced to fight a round of combat?
As withdrawal and Fighting Retreats are the general rule and Cloaked Ships are the Specific Rule - I believe the answer is yes.
(William is unsure)
Thanks
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Sunday, May 03, 2020 - 11:43 am: Edit |
Non-urgent question:
Can Seltorian STSs be a strategic movement node for itself?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Wednesday, May 06, 2020 - 03:19 pm: Edit |
Is the LDR production of xAAs and xACs above the (549.121) limits or part of it?
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Thursday, May 07, 2020 - 10:39 am: Edit |
Are (512.311) and/or (512.32) affected by the formation bonus for a towing ship?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Tuesday, May 19, 2020 - 10:06 am: Edit |
Questions on default (447.4) -
1 - (447.41) If a player borrows fund to pay the interest, is he considered to still be in default?
2 - (447.42) On the second turn of default, does the forced payment affect that turn's interest/penalties if paid by borrowing?
3 - Does (447.42) mean that the next turn of default is the first turn or the third turn?
4 - (447.43) How many default turns are needed for this penalty [or how does it get past (447.42)'s default reset]?
By Greg Ernest (Gernest) on Tuesday, May 19, 2020 - 12:34 pm: Edit |
Looking at ISC War and the scenarios for the first time and trying to map out Cordon Alpha.
When it says that the border bases are destroyed, does that include the SB's, like 4206, 4806, and 4812? They are not specifically mentioned like 4411.
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, May 19, 2020 - 01:10 pm: Edit |
Historically, the Gorns did not take a lot of damage so I don't think they lost any starbases.
The Alliance did reach Remus which would account for 4411 being destroyed, but probably the other starbases were not destroyed.
By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Wednesday, May 20, 2020 - 04:26 pm: Edit |
Over in the SFB discussion of a "special heavy carrier" for RTN hunting, they were discussing putting F14s vs F111s aboard.
I know that in F&E there is a limit on how many squadrons of F14s can be deployed (plus some more on SB/ PDU).
What is that limit?
"By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Sunday, May 17, 2020 - 02:30 pm: Edit
I've already forgotten who graciously shared their excellent YIS tracking spreadsheet.
But the below is what I THINK is the alive F14 toting ships by 185
Star Tiger. Plus Star Lion is still alive to be converted...
Zhukov
Julius Caesar
Napoleon
Washington
Frederick the Great?
Shangri La
Atlantis (1/2 squadron)
Lemuria (1/2 squadron)"
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, May 31, 2020 - 05:13 am: Edit |
Question Homeless Support (410.51) and whether the interpretation is correct or the 'Game Designers intent' has been ignored.
Example situation to help explain why it does not seem to be a correct interpretation of the rule and not as the Game Designer intended (i.e. it just does not make sense).
Two modest Romulan forces are assisting guarding 2 Klingon SB's deep in Klingon space and are cut off from Romulan supply, but use 410.4 to remain in supply (and generally do not react off the base to move out of supply).
Force A has 3 x SP, SUB, 3 x SKB and 4 Escorts
Force B has 3 x WE, CNV, 3 x SKB and 5 Escorts
During the turn, force A is involved in a battle and loses 14 fighters - during the final battle round, the SUB transfers it's last fighters to the SKB's (so 2 have 4 and 1 has 2).
Force B is not used.
During the following Coalition Turn, the Coalition player uses 410.51 and declares Force A's SUB and the SKB with 2F to be Homeless supplied to receive replacement fighters.
Question 1
As the SUB did not lose it's fighters (they got transferred), can it claim replacement fighters?
Game Designer Intent - In effect, was it the purpose of this rule to permit a CVA type hull to allow 2 or 3 smaller carriers to be kept full of fighters, far cheaper than paying for 2 or 3 carriers to have Host Support?
(One Solution would be to make the Carrier Surcharge dependent on the number of Fighter replacements it can claim - Light could be 0.5 eps, Medium 1.0 eps, Heavy 1.5 eps for example).
The following turn, Force B is used in a battle and uses up all of it's fighters - and Force A only uses up 4 fighters.
On the following Coalition turn - the Coalition player designated the CNV and 1 SKB in Force B as being the homeless host supported to receive replacement fighters.
Question 2 - Both Force A and Force B remain out of supply of Romulan bases and 410.52 would appear to be required to be applied - the original supplied ships still need supply (as the are neither destroyed or own empire suppled) - but 410.562 allows voluntary changes of supply and in effect ignore the requirement of continuing infrastructure in 410.52?
Game Designer Intent - what was the purpose of 410.52 if voluntary changes make it unrestricted?
In other words - it seems 410.51, 410.562 and Fighter transfer are too flexible in some situations, which doesn't seem to be the intent of the rules - and a CVA allows for no more Ep's, 2-4 smaller carriers to receive replacement fighters, which doesn't seem to a correct interpretation of the rules?
Thank you
(Yes, asked a similar question on this, but this situation wasn't asked about)
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Monday, June 01, 2020 - 11:25 am: Edit |
Per (546.212) in ME, once a successful die roll for retreat has been achieved, if combat is continued is the permission to retreat retained or is another roll required.
FEDS RULING: Unless overruled by ADB, the Seltorian retreat die roll in 546.212) by the must be made every combat round during the retreat PHASE 5-7, only if the Seltorian player is considering retreat during this phase. Previous successful retreat die rolls from prior rounds are ignored.
By Karl Mangold (Karlsolomon) on Sunday, June 07, 2020 - 09:21 am: Edit |
I also have a question about the homeless ship rules and ships stacked with a base, although different from Paul Howard's that was recently asked; this time it involves expeditionary fleets.
In this situation I have a Lyran BATS set up in 1307 that is co-located with the Klingon BATS. The Kzinti player's actions on the alliance turn created a situation in which, among other things, my base now cannot trace supply to my main grid. I have 20 ships in 1307. First thought is to claim the max as homeless, but that still leaves 8 ships that can't leave the hex so I turned to the expeditionary fleet rule. There I found a potential loophole and want to know if it is legal. Here is my question:
Per (411.72), bases can be included in an expeditionary fleet, designated in Phase 1. Can an "expeditionary" base connected to my grid through an allied grid supply the 20 ships in my fleet, without having to declare them expeditionary as well? The rule on expeditionary fleets does not mention any specific restrictions on the bases drawing supply as an expeditionary fleet.
Also, if this indeed legal (feels like cheating since I would only have to pay 0.25 EPs to get my fleet back in supply), can I use my own EPs for repair at said base? And if not, can an ally deliver EPs to the base for a "satellite stockpile" to perform repairs? (There is a Klingon fleet in the hex also, including an E4T with 4EPs destined for WYN trade.)
This is absolutely not urgent as our game is on hold for the moment anyway. If any veteran players have experience with this, or if it had been ruled on a long time ago (although I'm using F&E2010), please let me know. Thanks!
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Sunday, June 07, 2020 - 06:48 pm: Edit |
Hmmm, now how did you disconnect 1307 from the Lyran supply grid? There are 3 bases and 2 planets within range …
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Sunday, June 07, 2020 - 09:53 pm: Edit |
Thanks, Chuck.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |