Archive through June 06, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through June 06, 2021
By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Tuesday, May 18, 2021 - 05:03 am: Edit

In R9 in the text section about the Federation Strike Cruiser (R2.131), it mentions that they were designed to be built in NCL slipways. In SO and the Master SIT it shows it as a substitution for a CA. Should we change their substitution source from a CA to an NCL to reflect this?

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, May 18, 2021 - 10:01 pm: Edit

Deleted at request of author - FEAR

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - 11:36 am: Edit

Irrelevant - FEAR

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - 11:39 am: Edit

Irrelevant - FEAR

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 11:14 am: Edit

Removed because the question was answered in Archives.

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 11:23 am: Edit

In the base game, can the Federation TG carry more than one pod, specifically 2*VP?

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 12:41 pm: Edit

No. Mix and matching pods, overloaded tugs, all that stuff, is in expansions. Base game provides only for single pods and pod sets (ie two Kzinti pods). There is no enabling rule in basic to allow the Feds to do as you asked.

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 01:10 pm: Edit

In the base game, the Lyrans only have 3*CW on their production schedule. In the Master Order of Battle, they have 4. Was a CW added in a later product or should I use the Master Order of Battle?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 01:30 pm: Edit

Deleted by author. wrong rule set.

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 02:36 pm: Edit

In the base game, you use the OOB provided in that product, ie 3 CWs.

In the full game with the appropriate expansions, you use the Master OOB.

Players are free to experiment, I've seen base game sessions that used some expansion stuff, such as the Master OOB and a few expansion ships (ie FKEs and whatnot).

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 02:47 pm: Edit

Can PDUs use half their attack value to defend "distant" yet co-located bases being attacked? To support this, they use much the same weapons with similar ranges as bases do.

Can PDUs use their fighters to defend "distant" yet co-located bases that are being attacked at all? Would they count as commanded ship equivalents if this were possible (limited to 3 total SE) or would they not count against command limits like they do when being directly assaulted?

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 07:53 pm: Edit

I would say no.

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 08:31 pm: Edit

I'm glad you say no. I'm currently playing the Klingons and that would totally mess up my day.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Sunday, May 23, 2021 - 01:12 am: Edit

Ahmad: It is covered in 302.2123-D.

By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Saturday, May 29, 2021 - 10:55 pm: Edit

When does a multi-turn conversion from base hull to carrier count against the limit for carrier production? In the turn the conversion is begun, or the turn it is completed?

Edit:

As a corollary, at a major conversion-eligible starbase, how much of the cost of a two turn conversion is assigned to each turn of the process, for the purpose of the SB's availability for other conversion activity?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 01:59 am: Edit

Graham,

Is there a rule for multi-turn conversions? I am unaware of one.

Ryan

By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 04:44 am: Edit

I just mean 437.0, two-step conversions, in FO.

Situation is, in 173S, I didn't make a heavy carrier. I am wondering if I (starting in Y173F) can convert a Firehawk into an SUB over two turns, and still be able to make a heavy carrier in 174 (since the SUB will be completed in Y174S).

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 05:05 am: Edit

Two step conversions are done in a single turn.

If you want to do it over two turns on T1 you'd convert the FH to NH for 2ep. On the second turn you'd convert the NH to SUB for 4ep (plus fighters). The two step conversion is slightly cheaper since you are converting to the larger class ship and a variant of that ship on the same turn.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 03:43 pm: Edit

Booting the following question from the Q&A Discussion thread to here as I don't remember the correct answer.

By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 03:12 pm: Edit

Re: FH to SUB Conversion

Related question:

The F&E 2010 SIT lists SPB --> SUB as a possible conversion for 5+8.

In the master SIT PDF this conversion does not appear to be listed?

Is that conversion only available in the base game?

--Mike

Staff NOTE: I know we did a study on Romulan HAWK conversions but do not remember the result of this one.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 11:38 pm: Edit

It's a legacy as the NH was added later so the upgrade was SP-FH-SUP (legal two-step), now it's SP-FH-NH-SUP (illegal three-step) ...

By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Monday, May 31, 2021 - 03:32 pm: Edit

From April 6, 2017 Romulan SIT Updates:

=
Rom SUB: Remove conversion from SPB. Rationale: This would be an illegal conversion [SPB to FH to NH to SUP and finally as a SUB variant]. --Strong, Ryan. DONE
=

--Mike

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, June 03, 2021 - 07:02 am: Edit

Q105.0 A player uses a carrier group to conduct an on map Fighter-PF raid (320.3) during his turn with the required escorts. Later in that same turn the owning player moves in a way that creates a battle hex that included the original carrier group that conducted the raid. Can the owning player reconfigure the carrier group under (105.0) Phase 5-3D?
Note: 5-3D is copied below for easy reference. Also note that Phase 3A covers Raids, 3B Operational Movement, and Phase 4 Reserve Movement. Thus creating the unusual, but possible opportunity for the above situation.

5-3D: Secretly assign and establish:
• Carrier (515.14) and other escort groups (515.43). These cannot be changed until 5-8 (Pursuit Phase) (307.0); exception: eligible groups may add emergency escorts (526.353) during subsequent rounds.

NOTE: The above rule copied from the latest (105.0-M20v2) Master Sequence of Play.

By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 02:35 am: Edit

Question:

In a base battle, if a side has (1) A starbase; (2) an LAV; and (3) a fleet.

The defender cannot win, and decides to retreat his fleet before the base dies, to avoid pursuit and escape to fight elsewhere. However, they cannot retreat the LAV, as a "slow unit". It has to wait for the base to die and then try to "slow retreat" under 302.74.

However, under 302.72, the retreating player must take all his ships in the battle hex.

Does this include escorts (ad hoc or otherwise) of the LAV?

I'm almost sure it doesn't, but the only support I can find is in 302.742, "All escorts can ... stay with their charges." but that is in the context of choosing the pursuit and slow pursuit battle force - not defining what may or may not have to retreat multiple combat rounds prior to the slow retreat occurring - so it doesn't seem on point.

And 302.742 appears to assume the slow retreat is conducted at the same time as a potential pursuit, whereas here the retreat will occur, the SB will fall over some number of rounds with the auxiliaries in attendance, and then the slow retreat will happen, with no "normal" pursuit occurring.

I'm confident we have the right interpretation (that the escorts can stay) but I haven't figured out why that's true.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 07:44 pm: Edit

Q320.146 Can a Tug designated as (509.1-U) Mission U Drone Supply Tug accompany the ship or group of ships assigned to a Drone Raid (320.21) either as a supporting ship, or replacing one of the three ships allowed?

I note that (509.1-V) is listed as being able to provide supply for (320.25). With the Tug rules in question quoted below.

(509.1-U) Drone Supply Tug‡: Each tug can carry 24 points of drone bombardment ammunition (LTTs can carry twelve points, while theater transports can carry six points). This allows drone bombardment ships to conduct a bombardment mission without a supply path. The tug can be assigned this mission (537.6) during
the Phasing Player Turn at the moment it begins Operational Movement or Strategic Movement, or is placed in a Reserve Fleet, or as part of the Final Activity Phase (10C). The Romulan KRT, SPH, and FE can perform this mission, but as no Romulan ships have drones, they could only do so as part of an allied force. The drones must be paid for at the time that the mission is assigned.

(509.1-V) Special Raid Supply Tug‡: A transport can be assigned this mission (320.25) to supply on-map out-of-supply ships while on a special raid‡ at the moment it is assigned to the raid pool‡. The transport moves with the ships.

Note: This Q&A also posted in the relevant PO section.

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 07:49 pm: Edit

If two races are allied, can one voluntarily give ships to the other to be converted to the other's use? I know that the Klingons and Romulans are a special case in this, but can other allied empires do this too?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation