Archive through July 21, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through July 21, 2021
By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Monday, June 07, 2021 - 10:17 pm: Edit

I have a question about (509.36), detailing where unused pods are in a supply grid. When during operational movement is the extent of a supply grid calculated? If I connect two supply grids for a single pulse of operational movement, are unattached pods free to transfer between grids?

I realized as I'm writing this that I can't build pods at a starbase, so this is probably moot for my current game, but I'm still interested in whether a single pulse connection is enough for a transfer.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Wednesday, June 09, 2021 - 01:32 pm: Edit

When building PDU post PFs, can the PFs be built with the PDUs for transport (ie one tug delivers the PDU w/ PFs) or are the PFs separate?

If delivering a PDU w/ SEs to a planet with a PGB, are the SEs immediately available or just the PGB part (ie +3 of the PDU is added, not the SE strength)?

If self-generating a PDU post-PF, is the PF cost 1+1.5 (half the 2+3 cost of a PFM) [5+3+1+1.5 = 10.5?]

By John Phillip Sattler (Johns) on Wednesday, June 09, 2021 - 05:17 pm: Edit

A ship in the mobile fleet of a capital defense is crippled in battle (thus being pinned to the planet with the most PDUs) is then repaired by 5-6x8 "Base Combat Repair." Does it regain mobile fleet status, static fleet status unassigned, or static fleet at the system of the base it was repaired at?


Quote:

FROM Facebook:

Daniel Glenn Knipfer
I believe I have found the answer in the on-line SOP.
Combat Repairs are at step 5-6X9 of the SOP; which is part of step 7 of the multi-system assault procedure.
Movement of ships crippled in previous rounds is in step 3 of the multi-system assault procedure.
Ships repaired by Base Combat Repairs should not be transferable to the fixed defense force if repaired on the same round that they are crippled; because they are not crippled in step 3 of the multi-system assault procedure.
(This is per the on line SOP)

Ron Wheelhouse

I disagree with this analysis. The mention of what happnes to ships crippled in combat in the hex is mentioned in step3 of the multi-system assault procedure, but the implication of the phrasing is that they become part of the crippled ships group at the instant they are crippled. They can subsequently be repaired (by RCR), but they would now be in the static force by my reading. I agree this is not completely clear either way, and could use an official ruling.


FEAST EDIT


By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 01:55 am: Edit

The only mechanism for ships to go from the static to mobile pile is if the attacker offers an approach battle and then on a later round attacks a system again. This causes the mobile/static split to be entirely redone. Otherwise there isn't currently any rule that lets you take a static ship and move it to the mobile fleet.

By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Friday, June 11, 2021 - 07:55 am: Edit

I found this in the F&E Compendium #3.

Q: Are empires other than the Klingons and Romulans permitted
to sell, give, or exchange ships to their allies and then
convert them for three EPs (the cost of captured ship conversions
and Klingon/Romulan conversions)? For example, could
the Lyrans sell DWEs to the Klingons, and the Klingons then
convert them for three EPs each, to get a better small escort?
A: Other than provisions for Kestrel transfers, sale of ships
to the WYN, and specified transfers of units to empires, there is
no provision in F&E that permits any other units or equipment to
be transferred to another empire. In theory, a house rule at your
table, or a special scenario rule, might allow that. I did check with
G.O.D. but he was unwilling to add such a “sell a ship” system,
saying that the logistics of spare parts would be impossible.

By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 01:18 pm: Edit

If a medium carrier operates with three escorts, two of which are heavy, and the outer escort is shot off, how many ships does the remaining group count for in the Battle Force?

e.g. - D6U + AD5 + AD5 + F5E in Round 1 results in the F5E being directed.

In Round 2, if D6U + AD5 + AD5 is left on the line, does it count as three ships because it has the required escorts, or four because it is missing the outer "light" escort?

It would be the latter if the group were constructed this way initially, and I don't see any reason this should change, but want to be sure.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 02:18 pm: Edit

(515.13) Required size: If a group had more than the minimum number of ships, the loss of any ships above the minimum does not require that command slots for those “missing” ships be left vacant unless the missing ship is the one required light escort (515.35).

The above meaning that if the group only has 1 light escort, which must be the outer escort, and that light escort is killed via GEDS (308.1) the remaining ships count as 4 ships. Now if one of the middle escorts was an ad-hoc and that ship was killed via (515.344) and outer light escort remained then the group would count as 3 ships vs the 4 it started out as.

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 03:42 pm: Edit

Wrong topic

By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Sunday, June 20, 2021 - 10:04 pm: Edit

Do the Tholians get to use rule (533.0)? If so, when may they begin die rolls?

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Saturday, June 26, 2021 - 04:37 pm: Edit

Ruling: (513.135) and (205.7) AuxCVs can only react one hex per (513.135) and Fighters can only react one hex per (205.7). Fighters on a AuxCV can only react one hex or stay with the AuxCV and react one hex only. It is a matter of time and speed of the carrier, an auxiliary in this example.

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Saturday, June 26, 2021 - 05:18 pm: Edit

Clarification: Minor Shipyards (450.1) cannot be started until their year in service or the year in service of the ship they are producing. For example: The Lyrans can start building a FF Minor Shipyard on S170 (Turn 4), or the Federation can start building the DW Minor Shipyard on S175 (Turn 14).

By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Sunday, June 27, 2021 - 01:14 pm: Edit

(603.2)

When is the Romulan North Fleet released if the Gorns do not attack on turn 12 but the Romulans do attack on CT13?

603.2 seems to imply that the Romulan North Fleet is only released on a GORN attack.

I found a couple answers in the keyword search saying "Of course it's released if the Romulans attack the Gorns." This makes sense but isn't actually in the rules and I couldn't tell who was saying this (and the language had a lot of "I think..." in it)

I found Peter B. asking the same question directly, but I couldn't find the answer.

[For this question, presume the Romulans attacked the Feds "on schedule" on Turn 10 and a state of war exists between the Romulans and the Federation.]

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Monday, June 28, 2021 - 11:28 am: Edit

The Klingons capture NZ hex 1506 and its planet on Turn #2, On Turn #13, it's annexed, does the planet start its recovery on Turn #13 (undevastated on Turn #17) or Turn #14 (full income on Turn #18)??

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 02:10 am: Edit

Stewart check the FE2K10 rule in section 508 Planets. "Page 93" has a chart that should help you.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 06:04 pm: Edit

Lawrence, that's for captured income, I'm asking for recovery and full income after annexation ...

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 04, 2021 - 03:27 pm: Edit

Q516.2F Can the Lyran CLT move an FRD under (421.2) and (421.3) subject to the limitations on LTTs?

NOTE: The Lyran CLT has defense factor of 6.

NOTE: (421.23) requires two ships (not Tugs or LTTs) each with a defense factor of 7 or more.

NOTE: All LTTs have a defense factor of 7 with the exception of the ISC LTT which is an 8.

Staffer Note: Q requires an A for the purposes of CO warbook update.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Monday, July 05, 2021 - 08:12 am: Edit

Thomas, because the CLT IS a tug, but not a full one, it should be able to move an FRD but be a bit more limited, like 2 hexes for (421.21) on-map towing and 8 hexes for (421.3) strategic movement due to power vs a full tug (depends on whether one sees it as 2/3rds of a tug or less).

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, July 17, 2021 - 12:13 pm: Edit

Q601.1612: May the Klingons use ADS (447.0) on Coalition turn 1?

Rule 447.11 states that "a given race which is at war or limited war may "borrow..."" (emphasis supplied).

Rule 601.1612 states that "The Klingons on Turn #1 can... use accelerated or overproduction, accumulate economic points, receive and buy command points, raise and buy prime teams, and anything else an empire "at war" could do." (emphasis supplied).

So, the question boils down to which rule is the "specific" that trumps the "general"? Must the Klingons actually be "at war" (i.e. CT2) to use ADS under 447.11, or does the language "anything else that an empire "at war" could do in 601.1612 mean that the Klingons *can* use ADS?

Ruling respectfully requested.

Unless overruled by ADB, the Klingons may use ADS on Coalition turn 1 based upon rule (601.1612).
FEDS SENDS

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, July 17, 2021 - 12:21 pm: Edit

Q601.1612: May the Klingons purchase an extra diplomat on Coalition turn 1?

Rule 540.12 states that "Races which are "at war" (not just wartime production can field additional diplomatic teams...) (Emphasis supplied).

Rule 601.1612 states that "The Klingons on Turn #1 can... use accelerated or overproduction, accumulate economic points, receive and buy command points, raise and buy prime teams, and anything else an empire "at war" could do." (emphasis supplied).

So, the question boils down to which rule is the "specific" that trumps the "general"? Must the Klingons actually be "at war" (i.e. CT2) to buy another diplomat under 540.12 (which definitely says "not just wartime production"), or does the language "anything else that an empire "at war" could do in 601.1612 mean that the Klingons *can* buy an extra diplomat on CT1?

Note, other empires are at "wartime production" but not at war in the GW scenario (e.g., Hydran, Romulan). However, the question arises on the point of the Klingons on CT1 due to the general statement in 601.1612 that the Klingons can do anything else that an empire "at war" could do.

Ruling respectfully requested.

Unless overruled by ADB, the Klingons may purchase an extra diplomat on Coalition turn 1 based upon rule (601.1612).
FEDS SENDS

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, July 17, 2021 - 12:28 pm: Edit

As a data point on both questions I was unable to find a pre-existing ruling on these questions (using "601.16", "447.11", and "540.12" as the keywords in three separate searches on the BBS under Federation and Empire).

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 01:05 pm: Edit

During a capital assault, whenever a ship part of the static fleet is crippled, where it goes?
I mean, by 511.54 the static fleet cannot leave the system assigned, but what happens if the player did'nt declare the system (or better the planet btw) as a "crippled yard" (just saying)?
For the same topic, where mobile's fleet cripples can go? (i suppose whatever they choose...).

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 01:13 pm: Edit

Related to the topic above.
Should a player declare at the start of the capital assault procedure (511.52) where he store the cripples?
Can he choose multiple locations?
Any requisite (like at least 1 cripple per locations)?

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 01:15 pm: Edit

Last one.
Can a Mauler be used against cripples at 1-1 ratio in a capital assault?
Many thanks

By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 03:34 pm: Edit

Actually, while cripples at capitals is on the docket...

What about carrier groups with a crippled escort? Can the cl in CV+cl+FF be directed? Can the mec or the EFF in CV+mec+EFF be directed? Can the group cv+mec+eff be directed as a group (this one is probably yes)?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 07:04 pm: Edit

POLI:


Quote:

(312.21) FREEZING ENEMY SHIPS: Each uncrippled SFG unit in a Battle Force can attempt to "freeze" one (or more) ship(s) [or other suitable targets] in the enemy Battle Force during each Combat Round.



Bottom Line: If a unit is NOT in the enemy Battle Force then it cannot be a target for an SFG attempted.

FEDS SENDS

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation