By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 08:40 pm: Edit |
Follow up:
Are the extra ships in a pursuit that can be directed by do not count their compot (such as a pursued force consisting of 10 crippled CWs and 3 crippled CVEs (without escorts) count the 'extra' ships as being in the battle force for freezing and/or other similar rules? I know the intent of the current rule is that these extra ships are not protected in any way from being attacked by the pursuit force (ie not being counted as compot is not supposed to be a benefit in some way).
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 05:07 am: Edit |
RBE: (312.264) SFGs cannot be used by the pursuing force in pursuit battles except when pursing "slow" units (302.742).
Quote:
FEDS SENDS
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 08:35 pm: Edit |
This is from CL433 and I don't think the ruling is correct.
Quote:Q: Concerning Flagship Escort Groups (FEG) in rule (318.42) and X-ships. I have a Kzinti DNH I want to escort. The FEG rule says I can have two escorts, one of which must be size class 4. The ad hoc rules say no BCH/DN can be an escort, and the SIT lists the X-cruisers as base hull type BC (heavy cruiser hull). I realize that the X-ship loses two ComPot for the privilege and loses its mauler special attack capability, if used as an escort. May I use an X-cruiser (BCX/CCX) as the large escort, and use a DW as the small one?
A: References for the escorts allowed in a FEG are (515.33-.34) and (318.421-.429). These are very specific in what can and cannot be used. A Kzinti BC by the SIT and the R section of SFB is listed as a heavy cruiser. The BCX and CCX are variants of this base hull and as such are allowed to be used as escorts within the other limits imposed by the above rules.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, July 24, 2021 - 08:44 pm: Edit |
Q449.2 May the Klingons sell a F5 from the unreleased Northern fleet on CT1 in the General War Scenario The Wind (601.0)?
The question is NOT whether the Klingons can sell a ship to the WYN on CT1 in The Wind scenario (this has been asked and answered). The question is whether the sold ship can come from an unreleased fleet on CT1 - namely, Northern Fleet.
By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 08:58 am: Edit |
As an addendum to the previous question, it does need to be noted that there is already a rule in place that prevents any Klingon ships that are not new production from being moved:
(601.1613) All Klingon fleets are unreleased, so the only ships that can move are new production.
QUESTION: Q449.2 May the Klingons sell a F5 from the unreleased Northern fleet on CT1 in the General War Scenario The Wind (601.0)?
Unless overruled by ADB, no units from an unreleased fleet can be moved to be sold to the WYN under (601.1613).
FEDS SENDS
By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 12:11 pm: Edit |
Q600.3 and 446.1 May a tug in an unreleased fleet be used to develop a colony or convert a colony to a colony base?
Note that black-letter rules allow colonies to be deployed in the area of unreleased fleets and there is a prior ruling allowing a colony base upgrade in the area of an unreleased fleet, but I can find nothing one way or the other about using a tug from the unreleased fleet to perform these actions.
By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 01:24 pm: Edit |
Ignore the above question; it's an RTM answer, although not where I expected to find it. 509.323 has the answer. (No, they can't.)
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 02:50 pm: Edit |
Q449.2 is being addressed during the upcoming updates for Basic set. I posted a suggested rule in the Warbook section. Ryan Opel 25 Jul 21
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 02:54 pm: Edit |
Make a note to add the reference to 509.323 to 446.1.
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 04:21 pm: Edit |
Note that a rule exists allowing the movement of fi five unreleased ships, generally. You can also move unreleased ships out of their zone to get a conversion at a SB if their zone does not have one, or some such (ie if you want to convert a ship in the Klingon East Fleet on turn two).
By Soeren Klein (Ogdrklein) on Monday, July 26, 2021 - 02:22 am: Edit |
Q(302.61) interacting with (504.332)
Does excluding orion warships from damage allocation under (504.332) also exlude them from determing the threshold wether or not remaining damage points might be ignored at the end of a combat round under (302.61)?
Further background of the question is posted in the Q&A Discussion thread.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Soeren Klein
By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 03:18 pm: Edit |
Klingon Heavy Fighters
In the SFB Klingon MSB, the following carriers are listed as carrying heavy fighters (Z-H or Z-K) starting in Y176:
CV Pod
CVT
D6V
C8V
D7V
D5V
CVA Pod
D6U
D5U
DWV
Question #1: In F&E, these vessels are apparently not allowed to use heavy fighters until Y178. Which source is correct?
FO (530.223) Klingon: Turn #20, Spring Y178
FO (530.221) CA-based carriers with less than six fighter factors cannot carry heavy fighters.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 08:14 pm: Edit |
Quote:
Q: In my current game we are about to enter Turn #7 without a Klingon attack on the Federation. This puts the Federation into a Limited War situation and says it can send the Fourth Fleet into Kzinti space. The rules state that the Federation Home and Third Fleets are able to move freely inside of Federation space. Does this also allow ships in those fleets to be converted?
A: The second-to-last sentence of (654.2Y) in the F&E2KX rulebook [Fighter Operations (602.49B)] covers this. This is the section that is about what is not allowed when at Limited War. It says "Anything not otherwise covered." This means no, the ships in the Home and Third Fleets cannot be converted as they are not expressly permitted to be converted by that rule. For those who were not aware, the original rule (602.49) defining endless details of Limited War was published in Fighter Operations and, with very minor edits, became rule (654.0) in F&E2KX.
(600.32) UPGRADES: The ships, but not the bases, of an inactive fleet can be converted at the starbases in that fleet’s area if the empire is on Wartime status. Ships from other friendly fleets can enter the area to use repair/conversion facilities.FEDS: I think we may have a rule contradiction as the above SPECIFIC rules make it clear that conversion of ships ARE permitted when an empire is under a wartime status. These seem to form a contradiction between (600.32) and (600.323) with (654.2Y).
(600.323) An empire not on wartime status cannot perform conversions of its ships.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 12:29 am: Edit |
Ryan, that is an SO question. be sure it gets into that topic.
By Charles W Popp (Captnchuck67) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 11:12 am: Edit |
Hi, I have been playing on and off from the first printing. Mostly solo. I am starting a new game and looking at the map something caught my eye. Why don't most of the defensive fleets that are going to be hit by an invading power set up one hex behind the base line? I makes more sense as it allows you as the defender to set the battle tempo. I know it is a little "gamey" but play wise it looks right. For example Kzintis in 0802(without a scout) can react to 0702,0703 and 0803 on turn 1. Now I know being on the base line allows you to react into the neutral zone hexes but I have never seen anyone do that.
The entire strategy for the Kzintis and to a lesser extent the Hydrans in the first couple of turns is to delay the Coalition as much as possible.the bases are going to fall, no matter what you do. What you need to do is make the Col blled. Over load the repair capacity.
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 12:41 pm: Edit |
Charles Popp, this section is for rules questions. Your post is better placed in General Discussions.
IIRC, what you suggested is suggested in the rulebook.
By Charles W Popp (Captnchuck67) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 01:36 pm: Edit |
sorry,did not know where to post. I must had glossed over it.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 09:15 am: Edit |
(507.43) "INACTIVE FLEETS may be assigned a reserve marker not part of their original order of battle...but it cannot be reassigned until the fleet is released."
If a given, released reserve marker is used to create a reserve out of ships in an inactive fleet (that might be released soon) and then active, released ships (moved into the inactive fleet), and on the subsequent opponent turn, the inactive fleet is not released, can the previously released ships in the reserve force still move with reserve movement?
For example (the obvious and relevant one): The Hydran Old Colonies Squadron is released on CT4 if the Capital is attacked. Can the Hydrans send some active ships off map, combine them with the OCS to create a reserve, and if the capital is attacked, move the whole thing, but if the capital is not attacked, move the active, non OCS ships as a reserve anyway?
[EDIT] Never mind. I found the answer, apparently from when I asked this exact same question in 2013 :-)
Reference (507.0) Reserve Fleets
An activated reserve marker may contain both activated and inactivated elements so long as the marker is within the setup area of the inactive fleet. During Reserve Movement (SoP Phase 4) if the inactive elements have NOT been activated then only the active elements may be moved as a reserve fleet. Activated elements retain their reserve status if they would otherwise qualify as a Reserve Fleet. This includes the designation of a new, activated flagship. If the newly designated flagship cannot control all remaining active units, those units in excess to its command limits immediately lose reserve status.
FEDS SENDS
By Alan De Salvio (Alandwork) on Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 02:15 pm: Edit |
Great mind thinks alike
By Bill Powell (Bleedingbill) on Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 07:32 pm: Edit |
508.122 states that An "Attacker can use Directed Damage on up to four battalions on a given planet in a single Combat Round;this counts as his only Directed Damage attack. If destroyed by Directed Damage, the Attacker must expend five points per battalion(will require ten points unless a mauler is used);"
I read that to say that if you had a Mauler in your fleet, and you are attacking planetary defenses, that it would require you to expend 5 points per battalion, on up to four battalions, 10 points per battalion if you didn't have a mauler in your attacking fleet. By fleet I'm talking about your attacking force that you have setup for that combat round. Now I'm being told that what it really means is that if there is a Mauler in the force that you do directed damage on a PDU the same way that you would in a fleet engagement. in other words I have an attacking force with 100 compot. I get a Battle Intensity of 30%, which gives me 30 damage points. included in this force is a 10 point Mauler, I'm attacking a major planet with a BDE defending. what I have been doing would be to subtract 20 points from the 30 damage points and use the remaining 10 points to deal with the 24 fighters, there would be 14 points left over to be used as plus/minus points for the next round unless there was a carrier around needing fighters. What I'm being told is that what I should instead do is to, using the above example, subtract 10 points from the 30 damage points. This 10 points represents the mauler in my force, this 10 points would kill off 2 PDU's that leaves me with 20 points to be used on the remaining 2 PDU battalions. Leaving me with 24 homeless fighters to deal with as minus points on the next round.
If this is the case then I have been playing this game wrong for over thirty years. Why doesn't section 508.122 simply state that it cost 10 damage point per PDU to Direct damage planetary defenses, and then state that it is possible to direct damage a PDU with a mauler at the normal 1-1 rate as is done throughout the game unless specifically noted.
It seems to me that the way that It is being explained to me would be very difficult to work out. I'm being told that it takes 10 points to direct kill a PDU unless you are using a mauler, then it takes 5 points to kill a PDU, and you can kill up to 4 PDUs. OK, so what do you do when you have a 7 point mauler, or a 12 point mauler? That seem a little complicated, not to mention the fact that this was not mentioned in the rules dealing with planetary defense. What I'm trying to find out is, using the above example of a battle force that includes a Mauler and does 30 damage points, would it take 20 points to kill 4 PDU's or 30 points? Thank you for your time.
By Bill Powell (Bleedingbill) on Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 10:36 pm: Edit |
Ok. Thank you guys for your prompt replies. Looks like I misread rule 508.122, What about when you have a 7 point mauler, or a 12 point mauler? I am not trying to make waves, I'm just trying to understand this. A 7 point mauler would kill one PDU but that would leave 2 mauler points left over. Do you disregard them? Same with a 12 point STL mauler. it would account for 2 PDU's but there would still be two mauler points left over. In a situation where there are 2 mauler points left over would you subtract 2 damage points from a PDU and then use another 6 points of normal directed damage to finish of the PDU?
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 05:03 am: Edit |
It depends on the mauler's mauler rating. Most maulers have 7 or 10 points of mauler capability (some are different).
Take the defense rating of the PDUs you wish to direct (four PDUs have a rating of 20). The amount of damage to destroy them is your mauler rating (let's say 10) plus twice the difference of the total defense rating minus the mauler rating.
This is 10 + (20-10) x 2 = 30 for a D6M vs 4 PDU. (if the mauler rating is equal or larger to the defense rating then you onstead spend a number of points equal to the smaller of the total defense rating or mauler rating - one PDU vs a D6M would take 5 damage to destroy).
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 07:59 pm: Edit |
An easier way is that it takes 40 points of damage to remove 4 PDUs, from this subtract your mauler (whether 7, 10, or 12). This is the damage you need to deliver to remove those 4 PDUs (33/30/28).
By Bill Powell (Bleedingbill) on Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 08:35 pm: Edit |
Thanks guys that makes a lot of sense. I appreciate the quick responses.
By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Friday, August 13, 2021 - 10:31 am: Edit |
>> An easier way is that it takes 40 points of damage to remove 4 PDUs, from this subtract your mauler (whether 7, 10, or 12).
Simplicity itself!
--Mike
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |