Archive through January 28, 2022

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through January 28, 2022
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 11:36 am: Edit

B10T does not.
CLT I could see.

By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Monday, October 25, 2021 - 11:40 pm: Edit

Question regarding pre-war diplomatic income:

540.15 States that empires at peace can receive and spend diplomatic income.

600.323 States that empires at peace cannot conduct conversions of their ships.

I could swear that there was a ruling at some point that 540.15 created an "specific overrides general" exception to 600.323, but I can't find it anywhere. Is there such a rule / ruling, or am I mis-remembering things?

By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Monday, October 25, 2021 - 11:43 pm: Edit

Question regarding Scenario 621.0 "Demons of the Eastern Wind"

621.132 gives YIS dates for the Gorn SAV as Y170 and for the LAV as Y171. However, the Gorn SIT gives a YIS of 169 for both the SAV and LAV. Is it correct that SAV / LAV availability for the Gorn is _delayed_ in this scenario relative to General War "history"?

By Charles W Popp (Captnchuck67) on Wednesday, November 03, 2021 - 10:31 am: Edit

Is 603.54 still a valid rule? That if the Klingons and the Romulans do not attack first but the Feds do then the Gorns basically only enter if directly are attacked?

By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Monday, November 08, 2021 - 07:45 am: Edit

The Tholians lost a bunch of ships from their 12-ship detached fleet (503.311) on turn A25. They would like to form a reserve fleet and send it out of the 2-hex range of Tholian space on turn C26.

We have thus far been treating the Detached Fleet much like an expeditionary fleet (designate 12 ships every turn). This works fine, but 503.311 also has the following sentence:

Ships can be sent to this Detached Fleet to replace losses, but must enter a hex containing a ship of the detached fleet during the same Movement Phase that they leave Tholian space.

Two questions:

1) Can the Tholians use a reserve fleet in this manner? Some of the 12 ships were killed. They are using the reserve fleet to add ships that were not part of the 12 designated at the start of their previous turn.

2) If so, what is with the phrase "leave Tholian space"? Does the reserve fleet have to actually start in Tholian space, not merely within the 2-hex range? Or could it start at the planet that is 2 hexes from Tholian space?

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Sunday, November 14, 2021 - 02:57 pm: Edit

(711.221) LTT (Lyran) is available for substitution in 171+.
SIT report Avail. date Y170.
When Lyran LTT can be built?

Searched in the forum, but not found...

By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Thursday, November 25, 2021 - 02:22 pm: Edit

Fabio, every source I can find says the Lyran LTT is available for substitution in 170+. Exactly where is rule (711.221) published? I can't find it anywhere.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, November 25, 2021 - 02:32 pm: Edit

FWIW - the Star Fleet Battles Master Annex File lists the service date for the Lyran LTT as Y171 (see page 81).

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Thursday, November 25, 2021 - 02:49 pm: Edit

John,

The rule is from the Online Master Order of Battle

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Friday, November 26, 2021 - 10:25 am: Edit

so, let say it is available for substitution from Y171+ but it can be converted by Y170+

By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Friday, November 26, 2021 - 12:10 pm: Edit

Thanks, Ryan.

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, December 12, 2021 - 01:44 pm: Edit

Hi

Sorry to chase Williams question on 503.33 and specifically the Detached Fleet question.

At what point or points during the turn can ships be designated 'Detached Fleet Status' - as per 503.331.

Phase 1 - Economics 1G is stated in the SOP point Expeditionary Fleets (411.7) - but it would be fair to say Detached Fleets may or may not exactly follow the same rules and so there may be other points.

Thanks

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Saturday, January 01, 2022 - 03:53 pm: Edit

Happy New Year everyone

Sorry to chase again - any progress on Williams question?


At what point or points during the turn can ships be designated 'Detached Fleet Status' - as per 503.331.

Phase 1 - Economics 1G is stated in the SOP point Expeditionary Fleets (411.7) - but it would be fair to say Detached Fleets may or may not exactly follow the same rules and so there may be other points.

Thanks

By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Saturday, January 08, 2022 - 04:44 pm: Edit

Trying to understand what is the status of the Tholians on turn 28. Per 604.152, their "limited partner" status ends on that turn, and they need to get back inside their space. That much is clear. But what is their status with regard to Coalition units on that turn? Can they move into a hex containing Coalition units? If they do, is there a battle? Or can the Tholians just keep moving?

Similarly, can Coalition forces react to Tholian movement on A28?

And what about strat movement?

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Friday, January 14, 2022 - 03:13 pm: Edit

Another question (sorry) - but not urgent.

502.9 - The Federation Third Way.

If the optional rule is used and other Empires can select the Third Way rather than using PF's - does 502.91, 502.92 and 502.93 actually occur on the PF1 turn, or does the Empire have to wait until Year 181 for the rules benefits to occur?

(They have to decide on the PF1 turn, but are the rules immediate or deferred to 181 (or in theory later for for Roms and Gorns))

Thanks

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Friday, January 14, 2022 - 03:19 pm: Edit

On the Fed Third way, we have noticed three other things (sorry is this all 'old news for some).

The Fed Escort rule is pretty cool - a factor or two of immediate replacements here or several factors there can make a big difference.

But the CVBG does 'rock' when pursuing - as it's actually pretty hard to kill - or even cripple a light escort (2 Carriers and 4 Escorts, with a FFE being the outer escort needs 14 damage.... to cripple it!).

A big CVA led CVBG group might need 23 to kill the FFE (i.e. 7 escorts). This aspect has already saved a FFE as 20 was needed to kill it.

One downside though (which hasn't happened yet) is if the outer escort is crippled, it does actually make the CVBG worse in pursuit than 2 separate groups - as it can't pursue!

By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Saturday, January 15, 2022 - 01:45 pm: Edit

A third way question:

(502.93) If the fourth squadron is an “independent”
squadron sent to the Battle Force by a carrier or base which is
not in the Battle Force, it does not count against the command
limits. See (518.46)‡ for an exception.


How does one determine whether or not a squadron is eligible to be the "fourth" squadron? For example, I have had battle lines with a CVBG with 2.5 squadrons, i.e. CVA+CVL+Escorts. In such a case, can an additional squadron be considered the "fourth" squadron?

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Saturday, January 15, 2022 - 02:30 pm: Edit

Lyran CLT

Is the CLT a LTT that can transport 10ep or is it a TUG that con bring only 1 k-pod active and rescue like a LTT?
If it is a TUG (restricted) could be used as a supply point like a tug and can it upgrade bases single-handed?
If it is only a more capient LTT it's a shame....

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Sunday, January 16, 2022 - 01:54 am: Edit

As an integration for the questions above...

For building restrictions, Lyran CLT count as a TUG (1/year) or LTT (1/turn)?

Thanks

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, January 16, 2022 - 02:30 am: Edit

Fabio,

According to the SIT:
Restricted tug, can operate one pod as an LTT. Cannot operate pallets. May carry one inactive pallet or 10 EPs.

So it's a tug so 1/yr, but operates under the restrictions of an LTT.

By fabio poli (Fabioz) on Sunday, January 16, 2022 - 02:49 am: Edit

Thank you, Ryan

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Friday, January 28, 2022 - 11:52 am: Edit

Is an LTT+TT combo equivalent to a TG or is it an LTT+2 TT??

Can 2 TT sub for an LTT for base upgrades?

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, January 28, 2022 - 05:01 pm: Edit

Q302.54 (directing damage against fighters and PFs) in view of 308.4 (mauler effects).

May a mauler use its directed damage benefit at 1:1 against a number of attrition unit factors up to the mauler's maul capability? The enabling rule to attack multiple attrition units using the "one" directed damage attack is 302.54.

An Argument for the Affirmative: 308.4 states that the mauler may use it's benefit "at their full value 'for directed damage'." (i.e., the one directed damage attack). The attrition units are attacked as a group under 302.54, and hence a 10 point mauler may destroy up to 10 attrition unit factors for 10 damage points - assuming all other conditions of using the mauler in this way have been satisfied.

An Argument for the Negative: An attrition unit is treated as a single unit. Even if 302.54 allows multiple attrition unit factors to be attacked in a directed damage use, the mauler can direct on no more than one attrition unit at 1:1. (I.e., one fighter factor (1 damage point) or one PF (2 damage points)).

Ruling respectfully requested. Thank you.

By Joe Hepp (Buckjoe) on Friday, January 28, 2022 - 06:51 pm: Edit

I have a question about exploration with survey ships in the base rules.

Per 505.21 there is an escalating cost in survey points to generate a new province. 1-5 cost 10 pts, 6-10 cost 20, etc.

Do the already existing off-map provinces an empire have count in this total or do you only count the provinces generated via this process since the start of the game?

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Friday, January 28, 2022 - 07:54 pm: Edit

You only count the provinces generated via that process since the start of the game.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation