By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Saturday, February 19, 2022 - 10:20 pm: Edit |
An alternate for the DN center would be the CAL (uses a DD outer sides) instead of the DND ...
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 01:02 am: Edit |
Stewart, I like it.
By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 09:08 am: Edit |
It's a pretty interesting conversion. You start with a DN + DD, and then end up with a BB + CAL (effectively a CC) for 28 + 2.
--Mike
By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 06:08 pm: Edit |
In reference to:
(503.611) The Lyrans could occupy and claim neutral zone hexes bordering the Klingons on Turn #1. While the Klingons are technically an armed future belligerent, in point of fact the Klingons and Lyrans are allies in all but name (as is reflected by a few special case rules, such as the prohibition against the Lyrans entering Klingon space or hexes 0805 and 0905, since this would provide overt proof that an alliance exists).
What are the penalties for the Lyrans entering these hexes, and where may these be found in the rules?
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 06:51 pm: Edit |
You lose the game as it would tip of the Kzinti's of the plan.
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 09:34 pm: Edit |
"What are the penalties for the Lyrans entering these hexes, and where may these be found in the rules?"
I believe there is no explicit penalty in the rules; the rules merely forbid the Lyrans from entering these hexes.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 09:48 pm: Edit |
Actually, I don't think there's anything in the rules keeping the Lyrans from claiming those NZ hexes other than 0805/0906 ...
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Monday, February 21, 2022 - 03:53 am: Edit |
Bill
Are you referring to 805 and 806 (they can't enter those hexes) or the other hexes (there is no penalty**)?
** - I think there was a tactic note to try and get Lyran ships around the northern edge of the Wyn cluster to enter the Kzinti/Kligon Border hexes - as it seems the rules protect Lyran ships there (i.e. Kzinti ships can't attack them)!
By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Tuesday, February 22, 2022 - 07:51 am: Edit |
New query, in regards to:
(204.24) TUGS: A tug moving by Strategic Movement can make one pickup (e.g., of Economic Points) and one delivery per turn; see (435.2). A tug could pick up an FRD at an SMN during Strategic Movement (421.3,but would thereafter be limited to twelve hexes of Strategic Movement (whether or not it dropped off the FRD). A tug could pick up an undeployed MB or undeployed PDU at a SMN during Strategic Movement and could (510.22) begin placing it during that turn. A given MB or FRD could only be moved by one tug in any given turn.
Does this allow a tug to pick up an FRD (at 0411) transport it by Strategic movement to SB 0404, and then return to 0411 to repeat next turn?
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, February 22, 2022 - 08:02 am: Edit |
Bill, I'm going to say no. Once it picks up the FRD it is limited to 12 hexes regardless of where it drops the FRD off. Reason: the 12 hex count starts as soon as you pick up the FRD. There is no enabling rule, that I see, allowing the Tug to move more than 12 hexes once the FRD is picked up regardless of the number of hexes the FRD is actually moved.
By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Tuesday, February 22, 2022 - 08:53 am: Edit |
Thomas, the movement is 4 hexes, drop FRD, backtrack 4 hexes to point of origin...but is this legal?
0408 to 0404, or 0408 to 0411, round trips
sorry about 0411 to 0404, my error
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, February 22, 2022 - 09:20 am: Edit |
Based on the example you initially provided the my answer would still be no. Based on the corrected example you provide, I would say yes. Unless, there is something in the rules that says the tug must stop when the FRD stops.
By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Tuesday, February 22, 2022 - 10:11 pm: Edit |
Suppose there are Tholian ships that don't make it back into Tholian space during Alliance turn 28. Based on a strict reading of the rules, it looks like the Tholians could just scuttle them. Then no one has to pay any penalty.
This may be a little much, even for me.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Wednesday, February 23, 2022 - 04:48 pm: Edit |
Silly question 2 for the day.
What happens if the Tholians have 12 ships already in the detached fleet (and outside of 2 hexes of Tholians space) - and they capture a Coalition ship?
Best guess is they would have to get it back to Tholian space by Op move or Strat move (if captured on the Coalition turn) or Retro move (if captured on the Alliance turn) - or scuttle it to avoid breaking the specific 12 ship limit rule?
(i.e. If the Tholians capture a ship - it is a Tholian ship and the specific rule for the Tholian Detached Fleets then applies)
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, February 25, 2022 - 04:10 pm: Edit |
In the Kzinti pre-war setup, the Turn #1 set-up notes (rule 601.2) say that Kzinti reserve fleets may be set up in the two starbase hexes 902 and 1304.
For the turn 7 set-up notes for the Federation, I'm not finding a similar limitation. Are Federation reserve fleets permitted to be set up anywhere within their respective deployment areas or is there a limiting note that I am not finding?
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Friday, February 25, 2022 - 06:46 pm: Edit |
John,
I would advocate the line should probably be deleted since there is no requirement to setup forces in those hexes.
All other Reserve forces can be setup anywhere in their initial deployment area.
Ryan
FOBS
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, February 25, 2022 - 07:24 pm: Edit |
Hi Ryan,
Thanks for answering my question about other fleets. However, I also want to be sure I am interpreting your note about deleting that line correctly. Our interpretation was that there was no obligation to set up forces in those two hexes, but if the Kzintis wanted to have a Duke's or Count's reserve fleet, then it had to be in the applicable hex. Are you saying that the Kzintis could set up reserve fleets in any hex within that fleet's deployment area?
Thanks.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Friday, February 25, 2022 - 07:33 pm: Edit |
The Kzinti have specific set up restrictions on where their T1 reserve fleet deployments can be (i.e. 0902 and 1304). This is a specific rule for the Kzinti on T1 of the scenario that starts the war. It is not a general rule that covers other reserve fleets (i.e. the Federation reserves can be set up anywhere in their respective fleet set up areas).
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, February 25, 2022 - 10:41 pm: Edit |
Peter is correct the kzinti currently have the setup restrictions as listed.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, March 06, 2022 - 08:27 am: Edit |
From Q&A (polite reminder - discussions are for here).
2 TTs can *move* a mobile base. To me, this is a base that is disassembled, in its component sections and requiring transport.
3 TTs are needed to *set up / take down* a mobile base.
I agree confirmation needs to be done - as it seems 1 rule from 539 (SO) was updated/changed when the base rules was updated - but not the other rule.
509-1C does state 2 TT's to move AND/OR Set up - the tug order doesn't distinguish between moving a MB or setting up a MB.
509 and 509.23 States a TT provides 1/3rd of a turn to do a construction.
So - it would appear 509.1C should make it clearer 'moving a MB requires two TT's- but setting up a MB uses 509.23".
By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Saturday, March 12, 2022 - 12:41 pm: Edit |
Post deleted
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Saturday, March 12, 2022 - 08:07 pm: Edit |
Theorically, 2 TTs could set-up a MB, it would take them 2 turns to do so (as could an LTT, but it couldn't move a MB by itself) ...
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 03:24 am: Edit |
"
By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Monday, March 14, 2022 - 12:32 am: Edit
Quick question: Can a SB in a capital hex send IFFs to other systems? For instance, could IFFs from Kzintai fight at Vronkett? I can't find anything one way or the other, but there's probably a rule I'm missing."
In case you missed it, a positive and negative answer was given - the answer is 'No'. (as er Richard's rule post).
The SB can send Fighters (and PF's) to other planets in the SAME system (and the approach battle too) - but can't sent fighters (and PF's) to other systems.
By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 12:06 pm: Edit |
Yep, got it, thanks! Now to decide if that means it's a good idea to attack Romulus with only a dozen ships...
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 12:12 pm: Edit |
It is not
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |