By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 08:24 pm: Edit |
ALL OF THESE DONE EXCEPT ONE ITEM SENT BELOW
(539.942) - DDW is D5W version of D7D. SWFrazier 210624 SO NOTED
(540.112) - Shown as (540.12). SWFrazier 210624 CORRECTION MADE
(540.113) - Shown as (540.13) SWFrazier 210624 CORRECTION MADE
(540.143) - ‘once the either’, delete the ‘the’ (once either). SWFrazier 210624 CORRECTION MADE
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, July 02, 2021 - 05:54 am: Edit |
added as per FEDS
(542.29) COLONIAL CONSTRUCTION: A survey ship in a colony construction hex (doing nothing else) eliminates the cost (not the time) from any one of those three turns of construction. (The construction always takes three turns, but might cost only two points.) The survey ship must be in the colony hex for one entire turn, that being the turn of zero cost.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Monday, July 05, 2021 - 06:00 pm: Edit |
REWRITTEN AS PER RYAN
(451.32) COMBAT SUPPORT: A hospital ship which is in the support echelon (302.563) of a fleet (vulnerable to directed damage at 3:1 without maulers) is able to attempt to “heal” dead or wounded G-factors, Admirals, Generals, Diplomatic Teams, or Prime Teams. When such a unit in the same hex as the hospital ship is destroyed-or-killed, roll one die, with 1-3 indicating that the unit cannot be helped (ever) and 4-6 meaning that the unit is restored to duty. Each hospital ship may make one such attempt per battle round, the hospital ship must be in the support echelon, and each hospital ship can only support combat at a single planet of a multi-planet system.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, July 08, 2021 - 09:38 am: Edit |
REWRITTEN PER TURTLE
This Klingon subject enclave claimed to have broken away from the Klingon Empire late in this period. (Actually, this was a Klingon subterfuge to narrow the front line. The Vudar only pretended to break away and the Klingons only pretended to allow it.) The Vudar took over Klingon province 1518 at the start of Fall Y180 (Turn #25). Any non-Vudar ships in that province at the start of a player’s Turn #25 must immediately retreat out of the province as per (503.51). Counters and rules for the Vudar are in Minor Empires should players decide to actively operate the Vudar Enclave, but this is a choice players could mutually make during any relevant scenario.
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Thursday, July 08, 2021 - 10:40 pm: Edit |
COVERED IN THE RULE REWRITE POSTED ABOVE.
I like the addition of the Survey Ship cost reduction to colony development.
Q: does the Survey Ship have to be there for one turn (w/o doing anything else) or all three of the development turns?
Qsub1: If it is 3 turns, what happens if the Survey ship is destroyed or driven off? I assume cost reduction is nullified.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 09, 2021 - 02:35 pm: Edit |
REWRITTEN AS PER TURTLE
(539.81) EXCHANGE: At any point no earlier than Y172 and no later than Y176, the Romulan and Klingon players must agree to and complete an exchange of up to three D5s for the same number of SPs. The SparrowHawks are then converted into Klingon RKLs and the D5s into Romulan KDRs immediately at no cost. The ships must be “in supply” from the new owner. (Base hull types must be provided unless both agree otherwise; if published variants and counters exist the receiving player may convert a variant into the equivalent variant or into the base hull at his option).
(539.811) If the exchange is not made, both empires lose 25 EPs.
(539.812) The two empires may agree to further voluntary exchanges of D5s and RKLs if they wish, but will have to pay the technology conversion costs stated in (305.23).
===============
ORIGINAL REPORT
Q: In that initial exchange of D5s for SPs, are all conversion costs paid?
A: Other than a variant that cannot be unconverted (e.g., a mauler) any SP variant becomes an RKL and any D5 variant becomes a KDR, and the "free" conversion covers changing a variant into the base hull. Now, in theory, if you had an agreed-on SIT entry for a variant and could provide your own counter, you could convert a variant of one into the same variant of the other (e.g., a D5E into a KDE, or a D5S into a KDS). This would not be possible in the case of technology unavailable to the new owner, so a D5D would become a standard KDR as the Romulans do not have drone variants.
Suggest adding the following rule:
(539.84) Variants: A given variant may be a part of the required exchange. If no qualifying variant is available the ship is converted to a standard RKL or KDR as above. If a given variant is available, e.g. KDA then the transferred ship is converted into the appropriate variant rather than the standard war cruiser hull. Reason: Adds ability to use existing and new counters more efficiently. Thomas Mathews 9 July 2021
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 11, 2021 - 07:44 pm: Edit |
REWRITTEN AS PER TURTLE
(451.31) DEVASTATION RECOVERY: Hospital Ships are used to help devastated planets recover more quickly. For every turn that a hospital ship is deployed at a devastated planet, it counts as two turns (rather than one) for purposes of recovery.
(451.311) Only one hospital ship counts per planet. Hospital ships and Engineer units cannot both help the same planet on the same turn.
(451.312) This mission costs 0.5 EPs per turn which can be paid by the planet’s government or the supporting government.
(451.313) A hospital ship can be used to help allied planets recover, but a Federation CLH cannot use Emergency Movement (451.22) to reach allied planets.
(451.314) A hospital ship used for this purpose can be targeted at 3:1 as it is in the “Support Echelon” of the defending forces (302.563).
(451.315) If the ship is destroyed or forced to retreat during the turn it is assisting the planet, the EPs paid are lost and there is no benefit to the recovery effort.
(451.316) Captured planets must be annexed (448.28) first before hospital ships may aid in devastation recovery.
=================
ORIGINAL REPORT
Q: Regarding hospital ships and captured/annexed planets, rule (448.28) says that a planet is annexed when the province it is in is annexed. At that point, the recovery clock of four turns starts (508.25) and the hospital ship (451.31) can cut the time down to two turns. If I understand this correctly, it means that a hospital ship can't help a captured planet until its annexed?
A: Correct. No doubt your hospital ship is conducting humanitarian missions to save lives, but none of them count for recovering from devastation.
(451.31) add to end of rule: Captured planets must be annexed (448.28) first before hospital ships may aid in devastation recovery. Reason: The planet in question must be a full participating member of your empire before the benefits may be enjoyed. Thomas Mathews 11 July 2021
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 07:52 pm: Edit |
THIS TEXT WAS ADDED
The Klingons may buy an extra team on Turn #1 (601.1612).
==================
Need to update Rule (540.12) to incorporate recent ruling clarifying the Klingon's ability to purchase an extra diplomat in the GW scenario. Ruling posted below. Suggested language to be added as a new sentence at the end of Rule (540.12).
In "The Wind" scenario (601.0), the Klingons are allowed to purchase an additional diplomatic team on Turn #1 under rule (601.1612).
Ted Fay 18 July 2021.
<BLOCKQUOTE><HR SIZE=0><!-Quote-!><FONT SIZE=1>Quote:</FONT><P>By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, July 17, 2021 - 12:21 pm: Edit
Q601.1612: May the Klingons purchase an extra diplomat on Coalition turn 1?
Rule 540.12 states that "Races which are "at war" (not just wartime production can field additional diplomatic teams...) (Emphasis supplied).
Rule 601.1612 states that "The Klingons on Turn #1 can... use accelerated or overproduction, accumulate economic points, receive and buy command points, raise and buy prime teams, and anything else an empire "at war" could do." (emphasis supplied).
So, the question boils down to which rule is the "specific" that trumps the "general"? Must the Klingons actually be "at war" (i.e. CT2) to buy another diplomat under 540.12 (which definitely says "not just wartime production"), or does the language "anything else that an empire "at war" could do in 601.1612 mean that the Klingons *can* buy an extra diplomat on CT1?
Note, other empires are at "wartime production" but not at war in the GW scenario (e.g., Hydran, Romulan). However, the question arises on the point of the Klingons on CT1 due to the general statement in 601.1612 that the Klingons can do anything else that an empire "at war" could do.
Ruling respectfully requested.
Unless overruled by ADB, the Klingons may purchase an extra diplomat on Coalition turn 1 based upon rule (601.1612).
FEDS SENDS<!-/Quote-!><HR SIZE=0></BLOCKQUOTE>
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 08:22 am: Edit |
REWRITE PER TURTLE. I THOUGHT THIS WAS OBVIOUS BUT PLAYERS WILL ARGUE FOR ANY ADVANTAGE, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY THINK THEY CAN WIN THE ARGUMENT BY FORCE OF PERSONALITY.
(542.221) Any additional survey ships built by the Klingons and sent to the off-map survey area are limited to the normal operational or strategic movement rules. This would include counting against the allied empire's strategic movement limit under (204.32) if they were moved by strategic movement.
====================
Q: The Klingons send their two pre-war survey ships off map (through Lyran territory) on Turn #1 by free strategic movement. If they build more survey ships, can they also send them off map by free strategic movement?
Ruling: A newly constructed ship gets free strategic movement on the turn it is built, but this is only inside its own territory. The pre-war treaty with the Lyrans includes the two ships moving through Lyran territory at no cost. However, the Lyrans didn't sign up for an endless stream of Klingon survey ships crossing their territory for free. Use of Lyran strategic movement nodes for survey ships beyond the first two requires Lyran permission, and the Lyrans may (but do not have to) demand payment from the Klingons for the privilege. The Lyrans have, by the treaty, given permission for Klingon ships to enter their territory by normal movement.
(542.22) add at end of rule: Any additional survey ships built by the Klingons and sent to the off map survey area are limited to the normal strategic movement rules to include counting against the allied empire's strategic movement limit under (204.32). Reason: The special rule for moving survey ships to the off map area specifically limits the number of survey ships used for this purpose. Thomas Mathews 20 July 2021
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 01:50 pm: Edit |
CORRECTION MADE
(542.0) (541.0) General should read: (542.1) General. Reason: (542.0) covers Survey Ships. The first subrule would be (542.1). Thomas Mathews 21 July 2021
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 02:16 pm: Edit |
CHANGE MADE
Q: If the Romulans build more survey ships under (542.1) in Strategic Operations, can these assist in exploring the on-map provinces (603.15)? And is (603.15) partially obsolete in that it specifically mentions SPCs when many new types of survey ships are available in Strategic Operations?
A: Any Romulan survey ship can survey these provinces.
(542.25) add at end of rule: Any additional survey ships built may help with the required on map survey under (603.15) or other similar scenario rules before proceeding to the Romulan Off Map area. Reason: The on map area must be surveyed first to establish the strategic movement nodes required to supply ships in the off map area to conduct off map survey. See (505.32), (506.31) and (603.15). Thomas Mathews 21 July 2021
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 09:30 pm: Edit |
INSUFFICIENT DATA TO MAKE A CHANGE.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 08:06 pm: Edit |
THE REFERENCE LOOKS GOOD TO SVC BECAUSE THERE ARE A LOT OF CIRCUMSTANCES AND YOU NEED ALL OF 540 TO COVER THE GROUND.
(540.33) The reference at the end of the paragraph is incomplete. Ryan Opel 27 Jul 21
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 08:38 am: Edit |
REWRITTEN AS
(541.341) An engineer regiment can (by spending one entire turn in the hex of a base) repair two SIDS steps of damage scored on that base; the engineers save five EPs so the cost of one repair would be zero and the cost of two repairs would be three EPs. Two regiments could work simultaneously (an exception to the rule above) but not three or more. (Two regiments would repair two SIDS for zero EPs, three for two EPs, and four for six EPs. Regiments can repair allied bases.
========
ORIGINAL REPORT
Q: Does the use of an Engineer regiment (541.34) repairing SIDS on a base reduce the cost by five points per Engineer regiment under (541.31)?
A: Yes, (541.31) and (541.34) allow an Engineer regiment to repair up to two SIDS like a tug for eight EPs minus the five for the Engineer regiment for a net cost of three EPs.
(541.341) add after: on that base at the reduced cost under (541.31). Reason: Repair of bases are considered construction projects. Thomas Mathews 28 July 2021
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 02:39 pm: Edit |
CHANGES MADE
(540.23) Replace last sentence 1st paragraph. (The WYNs are covered by (449.0), not this rule.)
(540.23) and (520.24) last sentence of each. This is an exception to (600.323).
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 03:55 pm: Edit |
Lar Bergen made an attempt to clean up a muddled rule. I worked on it some as well.
(540.25) NEUTRAL PLANETS: A diplomatic team could negotiate with a Neutral Zone Planet in a hex adjacent to their empire’s territory, even if the empire on the other side of the Neutral Zone is still neutral.
(540.251) Procedure: For each neutral zone planet on which you have a diplomatic team, roll one die during the Economic Phase (1B5). Check the result as follows:
1 The planet (and its defenses) immediately join the diplomatic team’s empire at the start of the next player turn of that empire.
2 If two or more empires have diplomatic teams on the planet, negotiations continue. If only one empire has a diplomatic team on the planet, treat this as a die roll of “1.”
3-5 Negotiations are dragging on. Nothing changes.
6 The planet and its defenses have joined the other empire that adjoins the neutral zone hex. If there are two or more “other empires” treat this as a die roll of “3.”
(540.252) Competition: If both adjoining empires have teams on the planet then a die roll of “2” by either team means “negotiations drag on”.
(540.253) Joining the empire: If the die result determines that a neutral zone planet joins an empire, it is treated as a part of the adjoining fleet area. If the fleet area is inactive the new planet is part of the inactive fleet area. The planet does produce income but is not part of the supply or strategic movement grid until the turn after the empire is at war with or allied to the other adjoining empire. (The income still arrives but the planet cannot be used as a supply point.) Planetary defenses can be added up to the normal limit. While inactive, this can only be done by the self-generation system (433.421) and/or (441.31) because a ship carrying a PDU/PGB cannot enter the neutral zone. This is an exception to (433.412) and (600.323) which would otherwise prohibit adding defenses in an inactive fleet area.
(540.254) If a Neutral Planet joins an empire, any opposing diplomatic teams on the planet may be withdrawn by its owner under existing rules for transportation at a convenient future time. This is an exception to the rules that “intern” diplomats who suddenly find themselves on the capital of an empire that declares war (540.132).
If a Neutral Planet joins an empire, the other adjoining empire can send (or keep) “visiting” diplomats there to try to reverse the decision. (This cannot be done after the two empires are at war with each other; in that case, the diplomats are interned.) Roll again each turn during the Economic Phase (1B5) of the empire with the “visiting” diplomatic team.
1 The planet (and its defenses) immediately resume a neutral status and negotiations continue as before the neutral planet joined the other empire. Any defenses added by a temporary owner remain in place but are now neutral.
2-5 Negotiations are dragging on. Nothing changes. The planet is still part of the other empire.
6 The diplomatic team trying to reverse the decision is ejected from the hex. If it has a ship, the team returns to its capital. If not, the diplomatic team is sent to the nearest base to await a ship to take them home or to another assignment.
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, August 03, 2021 - 07:04 pm: Edit |
UNABLE TO PROCESS; I DO NOT KNOW WHAT HE WANTS.
While inactive, this can only be done by the self-generation system (433.421) and/or (441.31) because a ship carrying a PDU/PGB cannot enter the neutral zone. This is an exception to (433.412) and (600.323) which would otherwise prohibit adding defenses in an inactive fleet area.
This section is specifically discussing the situation (sending a warship/transport in to upgrade defenses) AFTER a planet is no longer neutral.
503.631 covers adding PDU/PGBs to NEUTRAL planets and specifically permits Tugs (it means transports under new expanded rules) to enter NZ for this mission.
May want to add a reference rule or comment about this.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 04:57 pm: Edit |
STEWART FRAZIER WROTE
(542.7) refers to (542.27) noting that the EPs found by high risk survey isn't subject to exhaustion (652.3) [like diplomatic income] ...
SVC RESPONDS
There is no rule 542.7
Rule 542.27 does not refer to 652.3
There is no reference to 652.3 in the 500 section of AO.
I do not know what to do.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 05:01 pm: Edit |
STEWART FRAZIER WROTE
(541.34C) was corrected by (448.23) in that annexation cannot be done unless the annexing player has uncontested control over the province (and any planets within) ...
SVC RESPONDS
I have corrected the rule numbers 34C, 34D, and 34E to be 343, 344, 345.
Other than that I have no idea what Stew wants me to do. I do not need reports that say "something is wrong; fix it". I need reports that say "X is wrong, fix it by Y, and here is why: ZAB."
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 05:08 pm: Edit |
STEWART
(540.254) - ‘reassign them team’ to ‘reassign that team’? SWFrazier 210624
SVC
NO SUCH TEXT IN THAT RULE.
FEAST
Concur with SVC.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 05:40 pm: Edit |
REPORT FROM TURTLE
Q: If the survey ship (542.27) is crippled, does the player have to pay to repair it? Or does he only lose one turn of survey and the ship returns to duty? In other words, is (542.27) "crippled" in the normal sense of the term, or this just a special one-turn delay?
A: If it was a special one-turn delay, it would say so. Crippled means crippled, and you'll have to have the ship repaired (presumably by the off-map starbase) and pay the cost of doing so before the ship can resume surveying. (Notes made during the design process means that we did consider this and use the proper term.)
(542.27) 6 for free repair should read: for repair. Reason: You are required to pay for repairs to a crippled ship unless you send it through the depot level repairs. Thomas Mathews 20 July 2021
EXISTING RULE SAYS
6 = Ship crippled by monster and is sent to the off-map starbase for free repair. You lose one turn of surveying with that ship.
The existing rule is clear (it is a special free case) and Turtle is trying to change the rule (for whatever good and noble purpose). I fix rules that are wrong and resolve contradictions but I do not change a rule just because one staffer says to (that would be like on Supreme Court justice rewriting any law he wants without reference to the majority of the other eight). I would need the entire staff to propose such a change.
FEAR concurs with SVC. No change needed. The one turn delay is sufficient.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 05:53 pm: Edit |
RYAN REPORT
====
Change (539.72) Last paragraph needs major changes.
Moving mobile bases take a group of theater transports. Refer to (509.22)
Ryan Opel 22 Jul 21
========
SVC response:
NO CHANGE MADE AS I DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU WANT. I do not need reports that say "something is wrong; fix it". I need reports that say "X is wrong because of DEF, fix it by Y, and here is why: ZAB."
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 06:05 pm: Edit |
I have done all I can until the staff answers the above questions (in the final six posts).
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 06:43 pm: Edit |
SVC, the (542.7) and (541.34C) looks like a counter-comment to a question [and (542.7) is likely a typo)]. (540.254) is from stage 4 and is/was the last sentence in that rule - 'On a die roll of “2-5”, the team continues negotiating (although the owner can stop negotiations and reassign them team).'
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 08:23 pm: Edit |
Change (539.72) Last paragraph needs major changes.
Moving mobile bases take a group of theater transports. Refer to (509.22)
Ryan Opel 22 Jul 21
Update: The rule was changed in 2K10 and referenced in CL43 Q&A (pg 97)saying that three theater transports are needed to transport a PDU.
(539.72) Change last paragraph. Three theater transports, working together, can move a mobile base or carry (and deploy) one PDU. (509.22)
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Sunday, November 28, 2021 - 04:54 am: Edit |
Today I completed the page layout of the staff's new version of 675 and sent it to them for final checks and to Jean for proofreading. It's progress, but the delay in the staff getting the scenarios to me is going to run into my surgery and Jean's imminent trip to North Carolina, so we probably won't see SO21 and AO21 until January at least. If the reports had been on time, we would be done now. But I'd rather have the scenarios right than on time, which I am sure you agree with.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, March 07, 2022 - 06:00 pm: Edit |
SEE 10 JUNE POST. THIS WAS NOT DONE AS THE STAFF DID NOT ENDORSE IT. THE STAFF MIGHT ENDORSE IT LATER AND IF THEY DO THAT IN VERY SHORT TIME IT MIGHT GET INTO SO22.
See FEDS report on 19 March below where some of these comments where edited/incorporated/endorsed there. FEDS -- 11 JUNE 2022
SEE SVC POST 10 JUNE WHICH SAID I DID THE CHUCK POST OF 19 MARCH.
(539.72) Recommend changing the rule in Strategic Operations to simply refer back to the revised basic rules covering how TTs can be used. Proposed revision to read as follows: Delete the entire current text of 539.72 and replace with the following: "(539.72) TRANSPORT FUNCTIONS: Most Theater Transports (those with a "U" in the special functions spot on the counter) can perform certain transport functions, as defined in rule (509.21) through (509.23), with specific mission details given in rule (509.1) et. seq." Rationale: Avoid duplication of rules and maintain consistency of transport rules in the basic set. Ted Fay 3/7/2022.
(539.72) Propose new set of 539.72x rules to define the exceptions and wherefores that apply to the general revision to 539.72. These include: "(539.721) SPECIAL CASES: The Romulan FE, Tholian FCR, and 3*CPC are theater transports." "(539.722) PODS: A single TT may carry a single pod. A TT carrying a heavy pod is considered "overloaded." "(539.723) PERSONNEL: A TT may carry Prime Teams, Admirals, Marine Major Generals, Diplomatic Teams, etc." Rationale: clarity of presentation of existing rules and harmonization with rule 509.1 in the basic set. Ted Fay 3/7/22.
(539.73) Suggest deleting this rule in Strategic Operations in favor of the revised text suggested above for 539.72. Rationale: Avoid duplication of rules vis-a-vis 509.1 et. seq. and maintain consistency of transport rules in the basic set. Ted Fay 3/7/2022.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, March 19, 2022 - 06:21 am: Edit |
Quote:
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, March 18, 2022 - 07:44 pm: Edit
(525.23T) FEDS Recommends adding the following text to the rule for HDWTs:
These ships cannot carry mobile bases, pods, pallets, modules, or ground bases and thus do not have the 'U' designator. They are treated as limited theater transports able to do the following missions: D (Supply Source); H (EP Transfers); I (Under Repair); J1 (Base Repair); K2 (Upgrade PDU/PGB); M (Warship); T (KR Parts); U (Drone Supply); V (Raid Supply); X (Develop Colony); Y (Build Colony Base).
Rationale: HDWTs pre-dated the introduction of theater transports and the revisions of the (509.0) rules in FE2KX.
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Saturday, March 19, 2022 - 12:44 am: Edit
Multiples of these should be able to carry a MB. Singles of these should be able to carry a single pod but not 'use' it.
They are after all one step up from a DWT.
=================
FEDS: SPP stated years ago that HDWTs are not equipped with the mounting mechanisms to enable docking externally carried pods, pallets, modules, and components of mobile bases. That is why these ships (including the Fed DWT, the Hydran PGZ, and the Lyran CLT) do not have the 'U' designator on their counters.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, March 19, 2022 - 03:41 am: Edit
(525.0) FEDS Recommends modifying para 4, last sentence to read:
HDWs‡ in transport mode function as limited theater transports which includes the the Hydran LNH-T (525.25); see (525.23T). The Lyran JGP cannot be assigned this mission per (525.242).
Rationale: HDWTs cannot transport or use pods, pallets, modules, MBs, or ground bases per (509.22) and do not have the 'U' designator.
Quote:The Federation DWT cannot carry a pod and as such does not have a “U” on the counter. The Tholian FCR and CPC are theater transports (3CPC counts as a tug).
Two theater transports, working together, can move a mobile base; installing it defers to (509.23) and would take three ships one turn or one ship three turns. A theater transport can carry (and deploy) one PDU or one base module.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, March 19, 2022 - 03:44 pm: Edit |
SVC FOUND NOTHING ACTIONABLE AND DID NOTHING.
Turtle see my recommended modification of (509.1-C) in the upcoming FE2022 basic set topic where we distinguished new missions C1 (moving a MB) and C2 (setting up a MB).
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, March 19, 2022 - 04:50 pm: Edit |
(539.72) (539.73) FEDS Recommends editing these rules as follows:
(some of this incorporates Fey's suggestions from 7 March)
(539.72) TRANSPORT FUNCTIONS: Most Theater Transports (those with a "U" in the special functions spot on the counter) can perform certain transport functions, as defined in rule (509.21) through (509.23), with specific mission details given in rule (509.1) et. seq."
Rationale: Avoid duplication of rules and maintain consistency of transport rules in the basic set. Ted Fay 3/7/2022.
(539.721) Special Cases: The Romulan FE, Tholian FCR, and Tholian CPC are theater transports."
(539.722) Restricted Cases: The Federation DWT and all HDWTs cannot carry a pod, pallet, module, PDU/PGB/IDU, or MB and as such does not have a “U” on the counter; these units can still perform any other TT mission as permitted under (509.1).
(539.723) Pods & Pallets: A single TT (those with a “U” in the special functions spot on the counter)
may carry a single pod or pallet. A TT carrying a heavy pod or pallet is considered "overloaded. TTs cannot transport tandem pods (such as the linked Klingon and Kzinti SCS+ pods). No TT can operate pods or pallets (not even to transport EPs or supplies)."
(539.724) Bases Components: A TT with the 'U' designator can carry one PDU/PGB/IDU or one base module.
(539.725) Teaming: Two theater transports with a 'U' designator, working together, can move a mobile base; installing it defers to (509.23) and would take three TT ships one turn or one TT ship three turns.
(539.726) Transporting EPs: When not carrying a pod, TTs can transport a number of EPs specified on the notes column of the Ship Information Table.
(539.727) Supporting Drone Bombardment: When not carrying a pod, TTs could carry six factors of drone bombardment points (537.6) instead of its EP cargo.
(539.728) Personnel: As like other ships, TTs may carry Prime Teams, Admirals, Marine Major Generals, Diplomatic Teams, etc. including when they are performing other TT missions."
(539.73) OPERATIONAL DETAILS: See (509.1) for specific details on TT operations and interactions.
Quote:(539.72) CARRYING PODs: Most Theater Transports (those with a “U” in the special functions spot on the counter) can carry a single pod or pallet, but none of them can use it (not even to transport EPs or supplies). This could be done to move (for example) a battle pod out of an isolated supply grid and into the main supply grid without using a tug or LTT. A theater transport carrying a heavy pod is considered “overloaded” (517.44).
The Federation DWT cannot carry a pod and as such does not have a “U” on the counter. The Tholian FCR and CPC are theater transports (3CPC counts as a tug).
Two theater transports, working together, can move a mobile base; installing it defers to (509.23) and would take three ships one turn or one ship three turns. A theater transport can carry (and deploy) one PDU or one base module.
By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Tuesday, March 29, 2022 - 01:28 am: Edit |
In the SFB color text for the CS, it claims that it was built in NCL slipways. In SO, it's supposed to be substituted for a CA. Is this a conflict? I know that it would change how likely I might be to build one or more of these if I was substituting it for an NCL rather than a CA.
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, March 29, 2022 - 09:26 pm: Edit |
No conflict. It's a heavy cruiser so it subs for a heavy cruiser in the game. If in an alternate timeline it is chosen over the NCL it might be different.
According to this timeline the NCL yards can't build the CS so they have to built in the same yards used for the CA.
By Ahmad Abdel-Hameed (Madarab) on Thursday, March 31, 2022 - 05:07 pm: Edit |
Are you sure about that? In SFB, the CS is described in the color text as having been an unchosen Light Cruiser contestant where the NCL was chosen to be the mainline Light Cruiser; the same place it talks about it being build in NCL slipways. Also in TO, the CSX is a substitution for the NCL, not the CA. Is that a conflict with the SO source?
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, May 30, 2022 - 07:46 am: Edit |
(539.135) An APT could carry 1/10 of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82). Should read: (539.135) An APT could carry 0.1 of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82). Reason: change fraction to decimal per Chuck Strong. Thomas Mathews 30 May 2022
(539.235) A PTR could carry 1/10 of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82). Should read: (539.135) A PTR could carry 0.1 of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82). Reason: change fraction to decimal per Chuck Strong. Thomas Mathews 30 May 2022
(539.335) A FXP could carry 1/10 of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82). Should read: (539.135) An FXP could carry 0.1 of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82). Reason: change fraction to decimal per Chuck Strong. Thomas Mathews 30 May 2022
FEDS: Minor issues; fix at designers discretion.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 03:45 pm: Edit |
TRYING TO FINISH THIS PROJECT
Stewart said: SVC, the (542.7) and (541.34C) looks like a counter-comment to a question [and (542.7) is likely a typo)]. (540.254) is from stage 4 and is/was the last sentence in that rule - 'On a die roll of “2-5”, the team continues negotiating (although the owner can stop negotiations and reassign them team).'
SVC has no idea what needs to be changed so nothing was changed. If something needs changing more clarity in explaining what that is will be needed.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 03:47 pm: Edit |
TRYING TO FINISH THIS
Revision to 539.72 per Ryan. Approve or disapprove? Time is ticking and no answer means it's fine.
Three theater transports, working together, can move a mobile base; installing it defers to (509.23) and would take three ships one turn or one ship three turns. A theater transport can carry (and deploy) one PDU or one base module.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 03:50 pm: Edit |
Back on 28 Nov 21 I noted that I had sent the staff 675 for final checks (I cannot find any reports from them but there may be some in this topic that I haven't read yet). As predicted, I did not get back to work (knee surgery) until January, by which time Steve Petrick had a stroke (31 Dec) and I spent the next five months taking care of his stuff for him. I am back at work now and expect to finish SO soon if I get the replies and responses I have requested.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 03:55 pm: Edit |
TED FAY REPORT 7 MARCH 2022: This was not done because no member of the staff ever endorsed it. If they do so at this time I can make the changes now. However, Chuck revised the original rule (the one Ted wanted to delete) later in the topic so I can only assume that the staff decided not to adopt Ted's changes.
I did add a note to the preamble to "See (509.2) for specfiics." which eliminates any contraditions in favor of 509.2.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 03:58 pm: Edit |
TURTLE REPORT 19 MARCH 2022: This refers to 525.23T which is not in Strategic Operations, so I have no idea what to do with it and did nothing. If more needs doing, I need better instructions.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 04:05 pm: Edit |
Revised text (539.72) CARRYING PODs: Most Theater Transports (TT) (those with a “U” in the special functions spot on the counter) can carry a single pod or pallet, but none of them can use it (not even to transport EPs or supplies). This could be done to move (for example) a battle pod out of an isolated supply grid and into the main supply grid without using a tug or LTT. A theater transport carrying a heavy pod is considered “overloaded” (517.44).
The Federation DWT and all HDWTs cannot carry a pod, pallet, module, PDU/PGB/IDU, or MB, and as such do not have a “U” on the counter; these units can still perform any other TT mission as permitted under (509.1). The Tholian FCR and CPC are theater transports (and the 3CPC counter functions as a tug).
Three theater transports (with a “U”), working together, can move a mobile base; installing it defers to (509.23) and would take three TTs one turn or one TT three turns. A theater transport (with a “U”) can carry (and deploy) one PDU/PGB/IDU or one base module.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 04:08 pm: Edit |
From Chuck: Question to ADB: The Tholian FCR does not have a 'U' designator in the SITs or on the counter.
From SVC: neither does the CA, CL, CW, DD, PC or DN. I don't understand why we need to mention it. Does any FCR have TT functions? Not that I know of.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 04:10 pm: Edit |
I am okay with leaving the CS as is (sub for CA not for NCL). I can add a SIT note to that effect if one is needed. There are endless special cases in SFB/F&E interactions where things don't QUITE match up.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 04:13 pm: Edit |
(539.135) An APT could carry 0.1 (1/10th) of a turn’s spare parts for Romulan Kestrels (442.82).
All three done that way for clarity.
By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 05:15 pm: Edit |
Regarding the Tholian FCR; from SFB R7.42:
"FCRs were able to carry cargo packs and Federation cargo pods, resulting in their being pressed into service as CPCs..."
Based on that, I assume they should have the U designator on the counter.
FEDS: CONCURS.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |