Subtopic | Posts | Updated |
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 29, 2022 - 03:51 am: Edit |
SVC CANNOT UNDERSTAND THIS AND SENT IT TO THE STAFF.
REVIEW DECISION NEEDED AO rule (314.246)
In PO 2021, rule (320.54) makes reference to using this AO rule (314.246) and (314.246A-C) to resolve Blockade Run Interceptions.
The way this works, at least as written does not align with the writing for resolving the interception. In 314.246A (the initial contact step and where the die roles are made) a result of 1-3 is bad in that the cloaked unit is discovered, the cloaked ship actually avoids initial contact on higher die rolls (of 4-6). In the Interception rule (320.54) it says the opposite saying the ship avoids initial contact on low rolls (of 1-4).
Decision needed: Was this intended? or a mistake made in translation of how this works?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Rules added for Reference:
PO - (320.54) INTERCEPTION: A ship conducting a blockade run can be intercepted (one time of the enemy player’s choosing in the entire run) in any hex of its path by the ships in that hex using the procedure to intercept a cloaked unit (314.246), requiring a die roll, except that if the unit actually has a cloak, it succeeds in evading contact on a die roll of 1-4. Tholian units in (or adjacent to) Tholian space get a +1 to the die roll when trying to intercept a blockade runner. There is no “reaction” to a blockade runner. A crippled blockade runner loses all EPs but can carry passengers (admiral, general, prime team, etc.); see (435.23), which applies to (442.31). A retreat result allows the blockade runner to complete its mission.
AO - (314.246) If the raiding ship has a cloak, any defending units must roll a die to see if they located the cloaked ship. Each ship rolls separately, but when the first ship locates the cloaked raider, no other ship rolls and only the ship which successfully detected the raider engages it. Bases do not roll, and the hunting player can excuse any of his ships from rolling. Note that only some Orion ships have cloaks, and that some Romulan ships (e.g., police ships) do not.
AO - (314.246A) If the die roll is a 1-3, the raider has been located and the situation proceeds normally. If the die roll is a 4-6, the cloaked ship has not been located and the raid is considered to be successful. (If the raider is an X-ship, add one to the die roll; if there is a defending scout in the hex or in the case of a defending X-ship, subtract one from the die roll for all hunting ships. These could cancel each other out.)
L. BERGEN 29 July 2022
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, August 24, 2022 - 02:03 pm: Edit |
(314.246A) RECOMMENDED CHANGE to Die rolls and modifiers in order to match the PO modifiers: If the die roll is a 4-6, the raider has been located and the situation proceeds normally. If the die roll is a 1-3, the cloaked ship has not been located (evades) and the raid is considered to be successful. (If the raider is an X-ship, SUBTRACT one FROM the die roll; if there is a defending scout in the hex or in the case of a defending X-ship, ADD one from the die roll for all hunting ships. These could cancel each other out.)
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |