Archive through April 02, 2023

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through April 02, 2023
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, January 02, 2023 - 08:32 am: Edit

It may be that it is because the hex in question is in reaction range of a Kzinti base, so Lyran movement into that hex would be seen by Kzinti sensors.

By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Monday, January 02, 2023 - 03:53 pm: Edit

An answer would really be helpful here:

At the start of an Alliance turn, Orion can connect to a Coalition partial supply grid. It cannot connect to a main Coalition Supply grid.

Does it rejoin the Federation?

See also the same question above by Karl Mangold (Solomon) (August 25, 2021) and by Paul Howard (November 12, 2022)

Thanks.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Monday, January 23, 2023 - 09:32 pm: Edit

Question that as far as I can gather has not been asked or defined (although it may be inferred), can (Hydran or other) hybrid fighters be COMBINED with Carrier based fighters into a single group of six being fed forward from the support echelon?

In my research it says:
(302.35) INDEPENDENT FIGHTERS/PFs: A carrier, base, or PF tender which is in the Battle Hex but which is not part of the Battle Force can send its fighters or PFs to participate in the Battle Force. These carriers and PFTs are in the “support echelon” and cannot be attacked except by (302.563).

(302.351) Each squadron of six (or fewer) fighter factors (not necessarily from the same ship) or six (or fewer) PFs counts as a “ship” for purposes of the Command Rating when employed separately from the base, carrier, or PFT. See heavy fighters‡ (530.113) for exceptions and restrictions.
Note that partial ship equivalents [see (501.9) for fighters and (502.46) for PFs] count against the command limits but do not count as a full ship. Fighters, PFs, and crippled ships can be combined into ship equivalents; see (203.542).
Hydran hybrid ships can send their fighters forward in this manner, but in that case they would count against the limit of fighter squadrons in the battle.

So it seems it is intended they be allowed to be fed forward but no mention of grouping them up.

Example: Hydran GRV (a carrier w/ 4 ftrs) + DE (escort w/ 3 Hybrid ftrs) + AH are in the support echelon. Can they feed 6 of the 7 ftrs forward under (302.35 & 302.351)?

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 - 06:21 pm: Edit

Yes, for the most part ...

Tactically, you'd send the escort fighters over to the carrier for a software to become part of the carrier's squadron before engaging ...

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 - 07:42 pm: Edit

Maybe I wasn't clear (sorry), what I am asking is this:
I have seen the Klingons put up 3 D6V carrier groups (5 fighters each, 15 total) + an E4V carrier group (3 carrier fighters) when added together and fed forward from the Support Echelon these 4 carrier groups combine their (18 total) fighters into three allowed Independent Fighter Squadrons with 6 fighters each. (Legal under 302.35)

A Hydran LB+RN combine their Hybrids to form 6 fighters into an independent group feeding them forward from the support echelon (allowed under 302.351)

In the example above the GRV+DE+AH group has a mix of fighters (Hybrid and carrier). Can these be combined and fed forward to be one independent fighter squadron with a total force of 6 fighters?

By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 - 11:53 pm: Edit

Short answer yes. Fighter factors operating independently of their carrier are just fighter factors, so their source being true or hybrid (or a base) is irrelevant at that point.

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, January 25, 2023 - 07:22 am: Edit

Should probably post that in Q&A discussion.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, January 25, 2023 - 02:03 pm: Edit

For FEDS and FEAR, I am recusing myself from Lar's question on combining fighter factors from Hybrid ships and true carriers as the question comes about from a game we are playing.

I will note that the rules quoted by Lar are correctly quoted and as far as I am to research properly related to the question itself.

By Karl Mangold (Solomon) on Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 01:46 am: Edit

Regarding personnel, is there a limit to how many a single ship can carry? Hypothetically, could a dreadnought (for example) carry an Admiral, MMG, Prime Team, AND diplomat all at the same time? Or can they only carry one or two? Asking for a friend.

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 02:30 am: Edit

A DN could do that.

By Roger S. Ritchie (Rogerrit) on Monday, February 06, 2023 - 11:48 am: Edit

Where can I find information regarding Startcon 2023? Three of us are playing F&E,and would like to attend this year.

By Roger S. Ritchie (Rogerrit) on Monday, February 06, 2023 - 12:02 pm: Edit

1. For scenario (632.0) EYE OF THE STORM in Tactical Operations, in 632.53 is the statement "[i]f the ISC is used, quadruple the original schedule." Does this quadrupling only affect the Federation production schedule?

2. Or should other times three items also become times four, e.g., "...gets three free SWACS per turn" would that now be four free SWACS per turn?

3. For other items not explicitly covered in the scenario write-up, e.g., (314.1) THE RAIDING POOL in Advanced Operations, should they be tripled (or quadrupled depending on the answers above)?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, February 07, 2023 - 07:57 pm: Edit

Roger,

Two places to get information.

1. Is the F&E Annual Gaming Events - STRATCON 23 under the Federation and Empire main topic here on the BBS.
2. https://www.facebook.com/groups/151297821607520 the F&E Facebook page.

Where do you live. We are looking at late July in Amarillo, TX this year.

By Roger S. Ritchie (Rogerrit) on Wednesday, February 08, 2023 - 03:29 pm: Edit

Hi Ryan,
Thanks for the info.

Robert (Bob) Kohn and I live in Southern California. You can find Bob and I in section 810 of the BF&E rulebook. Mark McDaniel lives in the greater Dallas Texas area. Mark and I played F&E at Consimworld 2021 convention in Tempe (Phoenix) Arizona (www.consimworld.com Expo-PHX). The three of us have been playing F&E via Vassal since then.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Sunday, February 12, 2023 - 04:00 pm: Edit

Hey Bob, I am in NorCal about 1/2 way between SF and Sacramento. Let me know if you guys are planning anything I may be down to travel and/or meet you guys at an event outside of StratCon.

By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Wednesday, March 15, 2023 - 04:28 pm: Edit

Two questions will affect the final VP count in my game with Paul.

Q1. When counting econ for victory point purposes, does the status of a province from earlier in turn 34 make a difference? For example, suppose the Coalition received 1 or 2 EP for a province during C34, but it is Alliance held at the end of A34. Does the Alliance count anything from the province towards their "current" income for purposes of (603.3)?

Argument for yes: If the current map position were to remain, the Alliance would get income for the province.

Argument for no: The Alliance was not the first side to establish ownership per (430.13).

Counter-argument for yes: None of the "current" income at end of game is actually the first income from the province.

Q2. The Alliance conquers a planet during turn A34. It is clear that it does not produce economic points. But a province is within supply range of the planet but not in supply range of any other planet of the owning power. Does the province count towards the current economic level of the conquering power?

Argument for yes: Imagining some hypothetical postwar future, the planet would presumably be a supply point.

Argument for no: The game ends at the turn of 34. The planet would become a supply point at the start of turn 35. But there is no turn 35.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - 08:59 pm: Edit

Besides my Q in the discussion thread i have another.

If the Klingons "convert" one of the Home Fleet's FTL to produce an SAF is that SAF considered unreleased and part of the Home fleet because the FTL was?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - 10:16 pm: Edit

FTL>SAF in unreleased fleet.

I would say it is unreleased.

Ryan

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, March 24, 2023 - 09:53 am: Edit

I am looking at the various battle boards (AO_Battle_Force_Chart.pdf). There is a box for the CVBG which has a rule of (502.923).

I have searched the Federation SIT for CVGB and for the rule 502.923 but there were no hits.

I then started looking for "502." I found a number of units with the rule of 502.7x. There were five units, but only one, the ASC LSC has a note of the Federation Third Way.

This lead me to search for "Third Way". This search turned up the ASC LSC and the SVH plus a series of bases under "BASES FOR THE "THIRD WAY" IN WHICH THE FEDERATION BUILDS PFs".

Are the only two units allowed in that box the "ASC LCS" and the SVH? I am assuming the bases are not allowed in this slot as they would be in the bases slots/boxes.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, March 24, 2023 - 11:49 am: Edit

Question RE Klingon OOB (Topic: E3 bonus ships)
When using the Klingon E3s there is a note allowing two short-term bonus situations.
It says:
The Klingons receive a free E4A during the Production Phase of Turns #1 through #4 (total four).
The Klingons receive a free activation of one E4 from the Mothball Fleet during the Production Phase of Turns #1 through #3 (total three). (Ignore this if not using E3s)


Q1: Is the ‘free production E4A’ just zero 'cost' as one of your scheduled ships or is it a free ‘extra ship’ in addition to the scheduled construction of 3xE4s?

Q2: Is the ‘free activation E4’ just zero 'cost' as one of your scheduled activations or is it a free ‘extra ship activated’ in addition to the allowed activations of 3xE3/E4?

Slightly reformatted, I moved this here because there was no discussion taking place in Q&A Discuss. Probably need to hear from FEAR, FEDS, or GOD on this one.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, March 24, 2023 - 05:18 pm: Edit

Would the ENG discount of -5 EPs be allowed if a Tug and ENG work together to upgrade a BATS to SB? Or does the rule (541.33D) eliminate this possibility?

For Reference:
(541.33D) Upgrading a base (433.41). However, this upgrade is only one step per turn, from MB to BS, from BS to BATs, from BTS to STB, and from STB to SB. Since STBs are not available until Y175, there is no way (before Y175) to go beyond a BTS.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, March 24, 2023 - 08:54 pm: Edit

Rules for consideration to be included in Lar's question above:


Quote:

(509.1-J2) Upgrade Base: A tug can be assigned this mission during the Phasing Player Turn at the moment the (433.41) upgrade begins (2B3). Two LTTs working together can perform a two-step upgrade (e.g., MB to BATS) just as a tug can, or one LTT can complete a single-step upgrade (e.g., MB to BS‡). The transport is subject to (308.453). A group of three Tholian CPCs could perform a two-step upgrade, and a group of two Tholian CPCs could perform a one-step upgrade. Other TTs cannot perform this mission.




The above added as friend of the court for easier resolution.

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 10:21 am: Edit

Rule (308.71) should not “Form Bonus Ship” be “Formation Bonus Slot” in "This ship is moved from its original box on the Battle Board to the “Form Bonus Ship” box.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 05:04 pm: Edit

We should be able to address this with ADB this summer when we work on the update to the basic rule set. This is simply legacy language used before F&E added many units to the game that could use the formation slot.

FEDS

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Sunday, April 02, 2023 - 01:59 pm: Edit

(309.0) drone bombardment states "Ships listed on the Ship Information Tables as “drone ships” can use these rules." but the only ship listed in the notes as a "Drone Ship" is the Klingon D5D. There are a number of units with "Drone Bombardment" in their notes section. Should (309.0) be updated or should the SIT be updated?

If you include both notes here is the list of ships:

Empire NameDesignation
KzintiBP
FederationCAD
KzintiCD
FederationCDVH (VDB)
KzintiCDX (CMDX)
KzintiCLD
FederationCLD
FraxCWD
KlingonD5D
KlingonD5DX
KlingonD6D
KzintiDDB
KzintiDF
KzintiDND
FraxDWD
DeltanDWD
BritanianDWD
HispaniolanDWD
PeladineDWD
WYNDWD
KlingonDWD (D5WD)
KlingonE7D
KzintiFDX
FraxFFD
KzintiHAD
KzintiHDWD
KzintiHWXD
KzintiJAD
KzintiLAD
KzintiMDC
FraxMDW
FederationNCD
FederationNDC
KzintiSAD
FraxSCG
KzintiSDF
KzintiSDW

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation