By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, July 13, 2023 - 03:45 am: Edit |
The solution is to destroy the SBs.
By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Thursday, July 13, 2023 - 07:46 am: Edit |
The Gorn are the "best case" scenario for being able to survive loss of shipyard production. This is because they have a large number of SBs relative to their build schedule and the ability to easily upgrade ships to larger hull types. Consider the Kzinti, who would go from:
DN/CV, 5 cruisers, and 6 frigates
to:
5 frigates
That will lead to a rapid drop in ship counts. Plus the Kzinti can't upgrade frigates to anything better than an FFK.
By Sean Dzafovic (Sdzafovic) on Thursday, July 13, 2023 - 09:35 am: Edit |
For the Gorns, would this be all of the planets devastated in ALL capital systems? Or just the planets in shipyard hex?
All systems would at least be consistent with the rules for capital capture and victory conditions.
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Thursday, July 13, 2023 - 07:38 pm: Edit |
I'd say shipyard hex, same thing for the Romulans.
As the Feds I'd be knocking down SBs for that reason.
By Joe Stevenson (Ikv_Sabre) on Friday, July 14, 2023 - 12:34 pm: Edit |
Question on the Eye scenario regarding the Romulan IWR.
The IWR rules say ships can only be activated from the IWR when the Rom are at war with both the Fed and the Gorn, or if either Rom capital hex is attacked.
It should follow that since the Gorns are allies, the requirements are satisfied, but the scenario rules should say that. Otherwise, the Romulan IWR is trapped.
Can someone confirm this was not the intent?
By Soeren Klein (Ogdrklein) on Friday, July 14, 2023 - 03:18 pm: Edit |
Hey, there!
I have a question that might be asked thousend times before , but Joern and I like to clearify it with you expert players just to be sure.
Situation:
A Federation DNL wants to attack a klingon F5J as an alternate target (314.28). An E4 from the hex next door reacts to the raid.
Both sides fight the reaction battle where both klingon ships combine their firepower according (314.244). The small scale combat results in 0 casulties scored by the defenders while the raiding DNL scores 3 casualties. Under (310.31) Joern cripples both his klingon ships for two casualties and uses the last point to retreat both ships (310.32).
Here comes the question: According to (314.28) the raiding DNL may attack its alternate target AFTER surviving the reaction battle. While it did so after recieving 0 casualties, the klingons withdrew with their third and last point.
Does the raider missed its chance of attacking its alternate target or does it still get its chance despite the klingons withdrawal?
Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Soeren Klein
By Soeren Klein (Ogdrklein) on Friday, July 14, 2023 - 03:30 pm: Edit |
Another one to make sure we interpreted the rule correctly:
Under (534.241) a PT conducts an E&S mission and sucessfully steals EPs from an enemy planet. Does the notion about the orion smuggling means that the enemy looses 4 EP but the empire sending the primeteam is only credited 3 of them?
Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Soeren Klein
PS.: Obviously not a real rules question nor a suggestion for change as it is probably a case of rules abstraction, but just out of curiosity:
According to (534.25) a succesful mission always means the safe return of the primeteam. Has it ever been discussed wether (534.25) might be adjusted to reflect that some E&S missions might be sucessful while the team is still wounded or KIA? Like a sabotage mission or assassination attempt that might succeed yet the team was caught afterwards?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, July 14, 2023 - 05:19 pm: Edit |
Rom IWR:
This is not an official answer since I am a party to the question.
I would go with stating that the Rom IWR is released upon the invasion of the Feds into Rom territory.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Friday, July 14, 2023 - 05:25 pm: Edit |
Concur with Chuck.
By Joe Stevenson (Ikv_Sabre) on Saturday, July 15, 2023 - 12:34 am: Edit |
At Stratcon last year, we discussed the construction of the of minor shipyards, and the "year in service" date, and when you could actual start building them.
I know we talked about being able to start them such that they came into service on the YIS date, but I don't recall if that discussion was ever concluded definitively.
Was that ever resolved?
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, July 15, 2023 - 12:45 am: Edit |
Rule says you can't start them before Spring Y170 or ship YIS whichever comes later.
I would argue against starting them so they were available when the ship became available due to the need to ramp up production of components. Same reason behind the ramp up of scheduled production.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, July 15, 2023 - 01:03 pm: Edit |
I seem to recall SVC ruling some years ago that Y170 is the first time you can *begin* construction - you can't start earlier.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, July 15, 2023 - 01:29 pm: Edit |
Begin, right.
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Monday, July 17, 2023 - 01:16 am: Edit |
I would say the IWR is released same as Klingon IWR all at pnce and on T2
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Monday, July 17, 2023 - 02:20 pm: Edit |
Scratch what I said about the Romulan IWR. They should be treated as they are intended as a Mothball Fleet and would be released per the normal mothball activation rules. Chuck mentioned available (for activation per the normal rules was assumed) upon making war against the Federation on T1 of this Scenario.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, September 15, 2023 - 10:16 am: Edit |
Q(307.21). Is the creation of a pursuit battle force secret and simultaneous, or must the pursuing player reveal the pursuit force before the pursued player forms his pursued line?
Rule (307.21) only says designate the 6 ships and then roll a die (possibly with a fast or X ship bonus). One player says this means you have to reveal the pursuit line in order to verify the roll to be made.
The other player says that he can just reveal the number of ships in the pursuit line, and specify whether a "fast" or "X ship" is included. And then roll. The actual pursuit line otherwise remains secret and is revealed simultaneously just like any other combat line.
Who is correct?
By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Friday, September 15, 2023 - 11:40 am: Edit |
>> The other player says that he can just reveal the number of ships in the pursuit line, and specify whether a "fast" or "X ship" is included. And then roll. The actual pursuit line otherwise remains secret and is revealed simultaneously just like any other combat line.
My take is a BF is a BF and it is secretly created and revealed simultaneously.
--Mike
By Douglas Lampert (Dlampert) on Friday, September 15, 2023 - 12:44 pm: Edit |
I can see the argument that designate and then roll means you need to actually designate the ships in question, looking up designate, the first definition I get as a verb is:
"To mark out and make known; to point out; to name; to indicate; to show; to distinguish by marks or description; to specify."
That sure sounds like you have to announce the line prior to rolling. Just reading it, I'd always gone with Make Erickson's interpretation, but letter of the rules, I can't see how it's not that you have to reveal the pursuit line prior to rolling for pursuit.
Which means that if it's supposed to be simultaneous, then I think the pursued force would also need to reveal prior to rolling.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, September 15, 2023 - 02:41 pm: Edit |
From the SoP:
Quote:5-8A: Pursuing player forms a legal non-pursuit battle force and selects eligible pursuit units to attack retreating ships and slow units (302.742).
5-8B: Determine the success of the pursuit attempt; adjust die roll for the presence of X-ships (523.39) and/or Fast ships (525.133) and the effects of the defender declining an approach battle (302.23).
5-8C: If pursuit attempt is unsuccessful, do not conduct steps related to the standard pursuit battle (as there won’t be one).
5-8D: If pursuit attempt is successful, the pursued player sets up the retreating battle force (307.3); include any ships intending to use a cloaked decoy to escape battle (538.55). May assign rescue tugs and attempt to escape pursuit (537.23); add failed attempts to the slow unit battle force.
5-8E: Pursuing player reveals his pursuit force (verifying the earlier die roll) and slow unit battle force. The pursuer may add ships to his slow unit battle force (up to the command limits) if pursued slow units’ assigned escorts remain with their pursued force charges (302.742).
By Benjamin Lee Johnson (Jedipilot24) on Thursday, October 05, 2023 - 02:24 pm: Edit |
Q: How would a Fighting Retreat be handled if there were an equal number of friendly and hostile units present at a friendly base-like unit?
Hypothetical Scenario:
It's turn 1: The Lyran Home Fleet has dogpiled onto 0803, the Foremost Detachment has attacked 0703, and Red Claw Fleet has pinned the Count's Fleet on 0902. The Red Claw Tug has moved an MB to 0903 and begun deploying it. The Duke's Reserve Fleet moved to 0703 and was forced to travel through hex 0903 since there was no available route that did not move through hexes occupied by enemy units and 0903 was the hex with the fewest enemy units. A Kzinti FFG was left behind on 0903. The Lyran Red Claw fleet fights the single mandatory approach battle at 0902 and then decides to conduct a fighting retreat onto 0903 to protect the MB being set up. 302.775B excludes the ships conducting the retreat in the ship count but only specifies what happens if there are more friendly ships than enemy ones; in this case there is just one of each. 302.775C obviously doesn't apply since there aren't fewer friendly ships present than enemy ones.
What happens?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Thursday, October 05, 2023 - 06:07 pm: Edit |
There are Lyran ships in 1002 (straight reserve path from 1304 goes through 1203/1103/1002)?
The retreating force engages the FFG (the TG cannot without disrupting the MB setup [IIRC]). If the FFG survive, I think the TG retreats with the fleet [the 'and after the retreat' of (302.775B]] but if the FFG is destroyed, the fleet stays with the TG ...
By Benjamin Lee Johnson (Jedipilot24) on Friday, October 06, 2023 - 06:05 am: Edit |
Hex 1002 is empty but I don't see how that matters since the next hex in the straight line (0902) did have Lyran units in it at the time the Reserve moved.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Friday, October 06, 2023 - 02:11 pm: Edit |
Benjamin
Not a formal answer - but 302.775 and part C applies I beleive - you don't outnumber those 'already in the hex' and so it should say less or equal to.
Better NOT to retreat into 903 as the FFG is likely to die in SSC - and so probably would retreat as the TGC can't enforce the Approach battl - ie. the TGC is probably safe unless other stuff retreats into 903!
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Friday, October 06, 2023 - 06:32 pm: Edit |
Benjamin, it depends on where the reserve started, if 1002 was open they that's the hex the reserve has to go to before joining 0902 as the reserve must use empty hexes unless there is no other choice (even if it isn't the closest choice of hexes) ...
By Benjamin Lee Johnson (Jedipilot24) on Monday, October 09, 2023 - 07:47 am: Edit |
Okay I think you misread my original question, but the other answers have sufficed. New Question: If a JGP, LNH, or HDW spends movement points to reconfigure but otherwise does not move, does that disqualify them from being in a Reserve Fleet?
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |