By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 12:49 am: Edit |
Question by Todd E Jahnke (Tej) about independent fighter squadrons and retreat.
302.73 – Suggest adding language explaining that independent attrition units, not just fighters (as explained in 205.76), have no impact on retreat priorities as per SVC’s answer “Fighters go home after each round so if they're independent units from another hex they just go home, and if independent from the same hex they go back to their carrier and IT retreats.”
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 01:30 am: Edit |
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Monday, August 26, 2002 - 09:28 pm:
I don't get what allows the Alliance the ability to repair and use a captured mauler. Sure if it shocks it's gone for good, but the Alliance can just cripple it every time it's used, and can then repair it. That just doesn't seem right. Why can they fix it if it is crippled, but not if it shocks? What in the rules allows it to happen?
ANSWER: (Nick) In an exception to the general rule (305.4), rule (305.41) says that a captured/repaired mauler (i.e. one that you captured and used option 3 on) that self cripples cannot be repaired. And that is the rules basis for using captured maulers.
When a ship is captured, you can scrap it, convert it, use it right away in the battle force, use it to gain a +1 to the die roll, or give it to an ally. None of those provisions allow for the repair of a captured ship without converting it over first, as far as I can tell.
ANSWER: (Nick) Rule (305.23) allows the conversion of a captured mauler to be a capturing player's ship. This rule states that the ship, so converted, still has it's former factors. Furthermore, Rule (305.4) says that captured (i.e. captured ships that you chose option 3 for) ships retain their original capabilities. So a captured/repaired mauler is still a mauler, and if crippled by ordinary combat (directed or voluntary) damage can be repaired. As to why? I don't know. Perhaps since they don't really know how the mauler works the capturing race can repair superficial damage, but if the mauler itself (or it's protected internal workings) breaks down then the capturing race is stuck.
REFERNCE RULES INVOLVED:
(305.23) OPTION 3: He can hold it out of combat and subsequently return it to one of his bases (305.3), where it will be repaired and refitted for use in combat. It is replaced by one of the “Ship #” markers and uses it former factors for combat purposes. The race which captured the ship must make a conversion costing 3 EPs before using the ship in combat. This installs weapons and other systems compatible with the race that captured the ship. A captured ship refitted and put to use is considered a ship of the new owning player for all purposes (except that a DW of one race cannot be converted into a DW variant of the capturing race, but only to a variant of the original owner). The new owner would have to pay for fighter factors on a carrier. Gorn and Lyrans could use a captured CVA.
(305.4) TREATMENT OF CAPTURED SHIPS:
A captured ship will retain its original capabilities except in the following cases:
(305.41) A captured and repaired mauler cannot be repaired if it subsequently suffers shock effects when used by the owner. A captured PFT can be used as such only if the capturing race operates PFTs. A captured drone ship cannot use long-range fire support unless the capturing race is a drone-using race (Fed, Klingon, Kzinti).
SUGGESTION: While Nick’s ruling is valid and relatively clear, this one has some loose ends that need to be taken care of. Looking at this (rules lawyer goggles on) from a different point of view. The loose ends here all surround the “shock rule”. Questions that arise are:
First loose end, if a Mauler suffers Shock Damage initially (becoming crippled) and is later destroyed and captured, the capturing player can under the current rules repair the mauler, convert the mauler to his own tech, and then use the mauler until it shocks again. Why can a race repair Shock damage once under the rules but not twice? Seems odd. Would recommend that either:
…the shock rule be lifted
...enforced so if a shocked mauler is captured it will have lost the special mauler ability (DirDam) but retains its ComPot.
...or the rule is clarified in some other way.
Second loose end: If a player captures a mauler, converts & repairs it, then it suffers shock by rule (305.41) that ship cannot be repaired. IF that same ship that suffered shock was then captured or recaptured (let’s say in pursuit). Then by the same rule restriction could not be repaired ever (even by the original race). Another oddity. I would think that a clarification is in order for both (305.23) and (305.41) to clarify the intent. (L. Bergen - 5/19/06)
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:29 pm: Edit |
(310.42) SFG UNITS: ADD Exception for the C5A needing consorts (314.135) Ryan J Opel 6 Jun 21
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:48 pm: Edit |
(312.272) rule is no longer necessary as there are no longer any unbreakable groups. Adam Hickey July 15 2010
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:48 pm: Edit |
(302.232) refers to (302.212) which as been changed to rules regarding bases in the same location, rather than multi system as (302.232) is referring to. Perhaps a clarification is necessary in (302.212)? Adam Hickey July 15 2010
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:58 pm: Edit |
(302.35) Reference to (302.222) should be made, specifying that PDU fighters may be used in approach battles. Doing so will preclude argument that a PDU is not a "base" and thus not eligible to send out independent fighter factors during an approach battle. Ted Fay 21 Feb 2011.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 11:45 am: Edit |
Somebody check and see if this is already in 2KX please:
(302.775) In the event that a "fighting retreat" enters a hex with a base (or a non-base unit which is treated as a base for combat purposes) special cases apply as follows:
A: If the hex contains a friendly base (e.g., SB, BATS, BS, MB, LTF) or planet, the conditions and penalties of a fighting retreat do not apply after the first approach battle. The retreating units are merged with the friendly units at the base/planet and conduct future rounds of combat normally (i.e., a fighting retreat just turned into a normal retreat).
B: If the hex contains a friendly "base-like unit" (e.g., FRD, Convoy, Tug acting as a supply point, Tug setting up mobile base) AND (after the retreat) the total friendly forces in the hex (not including those conducting the fighting retreat) have more ships than the total enemy forces, the conditions and penalties of a fighting retreat do not apply. The retreating units are merged with the friendly units at the base/planet and conduct future rounds of combat normally (i.e., a fighting retreat just turned into a normal battle at a base.)
C: If the hex contains a friendly "base-like unit" (e.g., FRD, Convoy, Tug acting as a supply point) AND (after the retreat) the total friendly forces in the hex have fewer ships than the total enemy forces, the conditions of "fighting retreat" apply and the ships would have to fight one round [an approach battle, technically] under the penalty of (302.77) and then continue retreating as required by (302.771). This could involve a separate slow-unit retreat (302.742) by any units of that type. [Note that units are never forced to use a "fighting retreat" and could retreat somewhere else, but that the tactical situation would probably make the choice irrelevant.]
D: If the hex contains an enemy base or "base-like unit", the conditions of "fighting retreat" apply and ALL of the ships would have to fight one round [an approach battle, which the base-defending player might decline] under the penalty of (302.77) and then continue retreating (effectively abandoning the planned attack on the base). This could involve a separate slow-unit retreat (302.742) by any units of that type. [Note that units conducting a normal retreat would not disrupt the attack on the enemy base. It may be possible in some situations provided in the rules to enter the hex by either a fighting or normal retreat.]
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 11:48 am: Edit |
I assume this was done in F&E2KX. If it was, let me know to delete it. If it wasn't, should it be done next update?
=====
(302.212) MULTIPLE BASES: It would theoretically be possible for several "bases" to be in the same hex, and these might be at the same location or at different locations (creating what amounts to a multi-system hex). Of course, many capital hexes have multiple systems, each with multiple planets, and more than one base (each with a different planet).
(302.2121) Bases in a hex are recorded at the time they are first built as being with a planet (or a previously-built base) or at a separate location. Upgrading a base does not change its location. Note that the definition of "location" provides that all of the fixed defenses at a location are part of the battle (possibly under the special rules below).
A: In the case of multiple bases at a planet or colony, one base (usually the one provided in the game set up, if any) is designated as being "adjacent to" the planet (302.2123D) and the others are assumed to be "located near" the planet (130,000 km or more away from it). All of these bases are in the same "location" although the rules below will limit all but one base to half of their combat strength, and only if the base "adjacent to" the planet is the primary focus of the battle can the PDUs be damaged (by voluntary or directed damage). If this base is lost, then no base is "adjacent to the planet" until a new one is built there.
(302.2122) Convoys, FRDs, and tugs serving as supply points (collectively known as "sheltered units") are designated as to their location (whether they are co-located with other "bases") at the start of each round. They can only be damaged if that base is the "focus" of the attack. See (511.5) to resolve this. They cannot be sheltered by the "excluded" base (302.2123A).
(302.2123) In the event that two or more bases of any type or types (system bases, mobile bases, operational bases, base stations, battle stations, sector bases, starbases, star fortresses) are at the same "location", none of them count against the command limits. The attacker may use the standard combat system or he may (each Combat Round) elect to use the special rules below.
A: The Defender may, but does not have to, designate one base as "excluded". This cannot be the base with the planet. This "excluded base" cannot then use any of its combat, EW, fighter, or PF factors in the battle. The Defender may, after any combat round, drop this exclusion, but he cannot change it to another base. Once all other bases in the location are destroyed, these rules will not apply and the excluded base will then be in the battle.
B: The attacker selects (at the start of each combat round) any base other than the "excluded base" as the "focus of attack".
B1: The base designated as the "focus of attack" is the only base: able to use its full combat power (adjusted for electronic warfare), able to use an SFG, that can be attacked by any means (directed damage, voluntary damage, Marines, or a special attack force), that can be the flagship of the defending fleet, or that can use X-ship counter-attrition damage (523.32).
B2: Other bases (which are 130,000 kilometers away due to positional stabilizer interactions) contribute half of their combat power. The owner selects the EW and Attack ratings and reduces them by 50%. After all are totalled, any last half-factor is ignored.
C: All fighters and PFs from all bases (except for one selected by the owner which are included beyond the limit) count at their full value against the three-squadron attrition limit (302.332) although additional squadrons can be counted as "independent" squadrons (302.35) against the command limit (in excess of the attrition limit). In some cases, a base or bases may be required to keep their fighters or PFs out of the battle in order to respect the limit. Bases in the location can transfer fighters and PFs between each other under the normal rules between rounds.
D: PDUs are not considered bases for this rule. All PDUs may use their fighters and/or PFs in excess of other limits. The PDUs can only use their attack factors if the focus of the attack is the base located "adjacent to" the planet (302.2121A). The PDUs can only be attacked or given up as voluntary damage if the focus of the attack is that base. Colonies and colony bases are considered PDUs for this purpose only.
Special Sequence:
1. Defender designates the excluded (302.2123A) base (not changeable, but droppable on any round) and the location of "sheltered (302.2122) units" (changeable every round).
2. Attacker selects one defending base as the "focus of his attack" (302.2123B). This selection can be changed reach round.
3. Both select battle forces, and combat is conducted normally. "Other bases" are treated under the restrictions above.
Notes: F&E does not distinguish between bases on planets and bases in orbit around a planet. Two bases in the same hex would count as only one base for purposes of victory conditions.
By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 12:36 pm: Edit |
(302.775) is in 2KX with the text just posted differing in the following ways:
Clause A changed "...friendly base (e.g., starbase, mobile base)..." in the rule book to "...friendly base (e.g., SB, BATS, BS, MB, LTF)..."
Clause B as posted capitalizes convoy and tug;
text "...tug setting up mobile base or something else)..." drops the "or something else".
Clause C as posted capitalizes convoy and tug;
two sets of parenthesis changed to brackets - neither of them contain a rules reference though.
Clause D as posted changes "...apply and ALL of the “fighting retreat” ships would have" to "...apply and ALL of the ships would have";
changes "...might decline, since no base ever has to accept an approach battle..." to "...might decline...";
changes "...abandoning the unplanned attack on the base..." to "...abandoning the planned attack on the base...";
two sets of parenthesis changed to brackets - neither of them contain a rules reference though.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 12:55 pm: Edit |
Both (302.775) and (302.212) are in the F&E 2010 Rulebook.
Thomas Mathews 8 Jun 2021
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 01:00 pm: Edit |
(302.77) What happens if both sides do a fighting retreat (302.77) from the same battle hex into the same hex? A: While rare, this could theoretically happen. In this case both sides would use a BIR of 0 and then retreat again.
(310): If one force is entirely destroyed in ESSC, who gets the salvage? A: First, ESSC (323.0) became the standard SSC rule (310.0) in F&E2KX. It is now the only rule for small-scale combat, since the other two didn’t work. That said, the answer is "The same thing that would have happened if one force was totally destroyed in normal combat." The winner gets the salvage, but not if he retreated.
By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 01:08 pm: Edit |
(302.212) is in 2KX with the text just posted differing in the following ways from what is in the book:
(302.2121) Clause A: "...130 thousand kilometers..." changed to "...130,000 km..."
(302.2123) "stellar fortresses" changed to "star fortresses". "Attacker" is not capitalized in the posted text".
(302.2123) Clause A is missing the final sentence "This could be a mobile base being set up by a tug (510.231)."
(302.2123) Clause B does not capitalize "Attacker".
(302.2123) Clause B1 inserts a colon after "...is the only base..."
(302.2123) Clause B2 "...130 thousand kilometers..." changed to "...130,000 kilometers...";
"50 percent" changed to "50%".
Special Sequence Step 3: "Battle Forces" is not capitalized in posted text.
Special Sequence Note: This text does not appear in the rulebook.
Overall: posted text does not apply the double dagger to any items that refer to expansion units/rules/etc.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 01:25 pm: Edit |
Q: I have a fleet that I need to retreat, and those troublesome retreat priorities are driving me crazy when they interact with more recent rules. My fleet includes mostly normal ships, but it also has a Fast Ship and two X-ships, which can use a seven-hex supply chain. So my question is, if there is a candidate retreat hex that is seven hexes from a supply source, can I (or must I) count it as a "hex in supply" for retreat purposes?
Ruling: Not unless the entire retreating force is composed of such ships. The whole force must retreat together, and if some of the ships would be out of supply and others not, then the hex is not "in supply" for "the entire retreating force" and is treated as "a hex out of supply" for purposes of the retreat priorities.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 03:31 pm: Edit |
(301.914) Scuttled bases immediately cease to be valid supply points, Strategic Movement Nodes, and retrograde points. Bases cannot be scuttled unless the empire is at 50% economic exhaustion or the base is no longer connected to the main supply grid.
(302.133) Cloaks: If the chosen flagship successfully uses cloaked evasion (306.1), a new flagship is chosen from those eligible units which failed to evade.
(302.2123A) Rule (510.231) states that a mobile base while being deployed "The Base, even though not functional, is treated the same as a functional base for the purpose of approach battles." In addition (302.211) states "….tugs serving as supply points or deploying mobile bases, and convoys, are treated as bases for the purpose of (302.2)." Based on these two rules, an uncompleted MB (with tug) can be excluded in the same way as a deployed MB may be. Being able to do this is, specifically, why the rules were written this way.
(302.32) Reserve Sequencing: Players have asked if the assignment of objectives to Reserve Fleets is simultaneous or sequential. The question comes up when a Hydran force attacks the Lyran base at 0413. Two Klingon reserve fleets at 1013 want to intervene. The Hydran BATS at 0714 does not block the reserve force, but once that reserve reaches 0413 it would be out of supply because of 0714. The second reserve could then move to 0714 to open the supply path (203.731). Rule (203.732) shows that assignment is not simultaneous and that this is legal.
(302.36) says that when coming up with the minimum force, you can excuse unchosen flag candidates, but not if it is part of a group. (515.54) states that "Carriers and escorts produced independently of groups need not be placed into or formed into groups."
(302.732) This step counts the actual number of units. Cripples count at the full value.
(302.742) Slow units with standard speed escorts are treated as slow groups and therefore are included in slow unit retreats. As always, escorts can be dropped (but not added) prior to retreat battle.
(302.742B) Slow units destroyed in a slow unit battle do not generate salvage.
(303.5) Destroyer Leaders: Hydran LN and KN destroyers also count for the destroyer leader rule, reflecting the destroyer leaders published in SFB (Count, Earl, and Warrior).
(304.4) Variability against non-mobile defenses: This includes both slow-retreat units and non-retreating bases. We apologize that it was not reworded when "slow-retreat units" were created in the 2K revision.
(305.0) is not specific on how to handle the attrition units on a captured carrier other than Hydran hybrid ships. If a player who has captured an enemy carrier decides to use Option 3 (305.23) and convert a captured carrier to his own use he shall, in addition to the 3-point minor conversion, pay for the attrition manufacturing lines to supply the carrier with the type of attrition units designated for that carrier. PFs would be swapped out for F-111s and vice-versa when dealing with Federation technology/doctrine, or the new owner could decide to replace F-111s with his own heavy fighters. An example would be like this: The Klingons capture a Kzinti CV and subsequently move it back to the Northern Reserve Starbase. On the next Klingon economic phase they pay for the minor conversion to remove the litter boxes, restock the vending machines, and add Klingon agony booths; the Klingons also pay for the six fighter factors as carrier fighters, costing another 12 EPs or using free fighter factors per the normal rules on carriers.
(305.23) A Klingon ship is captured by the Federation, which convert it but the ship is then captured by the Romulans, who want to declare it a gift from the Klingons and convert it into a KR-something (652.4). Can they? Ruling: The rules do not specifically cover this, meaning we’ll have to add a line or two in the Warbook, but there is more than enough information to figure it out. The Romulans have any of the options of (305.2), which would include converting it to Romulan technology under (305.23). There is no functional difference between converting a Klingon ship captured and converted by the Federation and converting a captured Federation ship. However, this runs into another issue, regarding Depot Level Repair. By rule (424.37), a "captured and converted" (305.23) ship cannot go into the depot, but by rule (424.11-Romulan #5) a Klingon ship sold to the Romulans and converted into a Kestrel-series ship can go into the depot. So, for the ship in question to become depot-eligible (and use a KR counter instead of a "Ship #" counter) you would have to pay for (305.23) to convert it back into Klingon technology and then pay (652.4) to convert in into a Kestrel-series ship. Now, technically, the Romulans aren’t (and can’t) convert it into a Klingon ship, but the (305.23) cost will cover removing the Federation technology (and the "politically correct" signs) and leave the basic "bare" hull for (652.4) conversion into KR-technology and a depot-capable ship.
(305.23) A lucky Federation player has captured a Klingon D6 and a Romulan KR, which are (basically) the same ship. He converts them to Federation technology by (305.23), which leaves the original factors intact. He now wants to use (305.45) to convert them into special mission variants. Could he convert the D6 into a KRS scout, or only into a D6S? Could he convert the KR into a D6S, or only into a KRS? Ruling: The conversion from Klingon to Romulan technology is extensive enough that, in this case, the two ships are no longer "quite" the same ship. Compare the SSDs of any Klingon ship to the Kestrel equivalent, and you will see many changes: plasma-vs-disruptors, shuttles-vs-drones, types of phasers, security-vs-hull, and on and on. So, a "Klingon" ship can only be converted into a "Klingon variant" and a "KR ship" can only be converted into a "KR variant". One might assume that the Federation could pay extra and make such a conversion, but rest assured that the cost would be so high that no one would pay it.
(305.23) A ship from Empire A is captured by Empire B, which (305.23) converts it to Empire B technology. It is then recaptured by Empire A. What happens? Can Empire A use (305.23) to convert it back to Empire A technology? Can Empire A use it to trick Empire B (305.21)? Ruling: It is treated as an Empire B ship and can be converted to Empire A technology (305.23), scrapped for EPs (305.22), or used in a deception (305.21). He can also use the options in (305.24), (305.25), or 305.26).
(305.231) A captured ship cannot be converted into a new base-hull type, so a CW could not be converted to an NCA or a DW to an HDW.
(305.27) OPTION 7: Scuttle the captured ship. Remove it from play with no benefit to either player.
(305.47) Uses of captured ships: These are some additional notes, rules, and restrictions in response to player questions: Captured Lyran twin-hull ships cannot be converted into trimarans by the capturing power (e.g., no CL to BC conversions). Captured Gorn "single bubble" ships cannot be converted into "double bubble" ships (e.g., no DD to BDD conversions). Captured Romulan SPs cannot be converted into heavy hawks. No captured ship can be converted into a survey ship.
(307.4) There have been some questions as to what (307.4) really means, specifically, the second sentence, which reads: "The pursuing player may designate one or more crippled ships and declare them to be a single target for directed damage, and use the special ability of a mauler in resolving this attack." This does not allow the pursuing player to attack cripples at 1:1 like a mauler. It does allow the pursuing player to attack any number of cripples at once with a standard 2:1 directed-damage attack and the pursuing player can add a mauler (assuming he brought one along as part of the pursuit force) to make this attack 1:1 up to the strength of the mauler.
(308.131) This rule allows you to retrograde carrier groups during the enemy player turn, and allows you to repair a carrier group damaged in a previous turn. It does not provide an exception to (206.33) which prohibits retrograding a carrier group that was not in combat on the previous combat phase, so you cannot use this rule to keep retrograding a crippled carrier group twice a turn all the way across the Federation.
(308.2) No battle force in a pursuit battle can use more than seven minus points. If there are more than seven minus points from previous battles in that hex, they are ignored. Exception: In a retreat from a battle in a capital hex, the maximum is 14 points, with no more than seven from any one system.
(308.81) That last sentence should be updated to read: "The use of a mauler or a mauler effect with an attack rating of nine or more could reduce the cost of the 18 points of a directed damage attack to nine points. Maulers with an attack rating of eight or less points reduce the required 18 points of directed damage by the attack value of the mauler." Thus, a seven-point war cruiser mauler reduces the required 18-point directed damage cost to 11 points. A lone Tholian PCX, with a six-point offensive rating, could use its six-point X-ship mauler effect under (523.312) to reduce the cost need to score a SIDS to 12 points. When and if added, dreadnought-maulers and X-maulers may have their own specific rules.
(308.85) This self-repair ability is not available to BATS or BS or Sector bases, only to starbases and stellar fortresses.
(308.85) Uncrippled sector bases can self-repair one SIDS per turn, during which turn they can perform no other repairs. (When the rule was written, sector bases had not been added to the game, so no rule addressed this question.)
(310.14) The FXP (Federation Express Courier), not designed to be a "combat" ship, does not produce the -1 modifier for having a fast ship or x-ship in the SSC Battle Force.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 03:34 pm: Edit |
(323.42) If an SFG ship does not have the two required consorts, it cannot use its SFG and the "capability" is ignored.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, June 12, 2021 - 05:33 pm: Edit |
An example of determining retreat priorities should be added to (302.7)
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Wednesday, June 16, 2021 - 04:52 pm: Edit |
(307.2) Add a new paragraph between the two paragraphs in this rule:
An escorted ship, such as a carrier, counts its total required escorts at a minimum against the maximum number of six ships, but the total ships in its group counts for the die roll required. i.e. A CV (nominal three ship group) with one escort can have three other ships maximum in the pursuit group for a total of six, but only count as five when rolling to see if they catch the retreating force.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Sunday, June 20, 2021 - 12:03 pm: Edit |
(307.21) New modifier, considering that a scout's job is to keep track of ships at a distance (extended reaction range), it could provide a modifier to the pursuit roll, or if thought of as too game changing, provide a negation on a negative (to the pursuing force) modifier.
[was thinking of PFTs and CPFs, but ... ]
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Saturday, June 26, 2021 - 04:56 pm: Edit |
(302.76) Need designer note on clarification of Allied Retreats per discussion at ADB HQ on 26 JUN 21. (Note for SVC to see this)
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, June 26, 2021 - 10:17 pm: Edit |
The designer decision is that the reason for two contradictory rules (smaller ally must retreat on his own, smaller ally must retreat with the larger ally) is because the original intent was for the smaller idea to pick the one that fit the exigencies of the situation.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Monday, July 05, 2021 - 05:43 pm: Edit |
From CL51 Q&A
(302.742D) If there is more than one slow unit, all of them are combined into one single battle. Form a normal battle force using the slow units (and their assigned escorts, if any) to include an eligible warship as the flagship. However, only the flagship and the units that fall under its command rating may use their offensive attack factors including any eligible assigned attrition units in the counter attack. Units not part of the selected slow-unit battle force may still send their assigned attrition units forward if permitted by rule. Any damage suffered by the slow-unit retreat force must first be fully resolved on all units of its battle force with any remaining excess damage applied to any units that were not part of the battle force; no damage can be resolved on the assigned attrition units not included in the battle force.
In addition, the pursuing player may designate one or more of the slow units and declare it to be a single target for a directed-damage attack even if the targeted slow units are not part of the selected battle force or are included in the support echelon. The pursuing player may use the special ability of a mauler if there is one in the pursuing force in this attack. Slow units in any formation or free scout position are still protected normally by their respective rules. Slow-unit escort groups can be targeted as part of this special directed-damage attack but either the whole group is included in the attack or any eligible escorts (outside escorts and/or ad hoc escorts) of that group could be included in the attack at the pursuing player's option.
All ships that are included in a slow-unit retreat (this includes, but is not limited to, ships escorting slow units, ships towing FRDs, LTFs, or overloaded ships) are treated as slow units themselves for the purpose of this rule only.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 08:20 am: Edit |
Block Fifty Four
Q: Let's say I capture a crippled ship. I want to repair it and then convert it to use in my fleet. Can I do that in one turn or does it take two turns?
A: Either, at your option, but if you don't do both on the same turn you will have to keep a written note about what's going on.
(305.23) add at end of rule: The ship may be repaired and converted over 2 turns, but written notes must be kept as to what is done and when before it can be used as a "normal" ship in the new owner's fleet. Reason: Players may not have the funds or repair or conversion capacity to completely repair and convert the captured ship to "full" operational status on a single turn. Thomas Mathews 28 July 2021
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 12:49 pm: Edit |
(308.23) add after Directed Damage: and SAFs (520.0). Reason: SAFs can destroy PDUs but there is no way to resolve the points from the destruction of their fighters and PFs by the SAF during the sequence of play. Thomas Mathews 30 July 2021
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 01:43 pm: Edit |
Block Fifty Eight
Q: Rule (304.41) states: "If one player has only units that cannot retreat (for example: a base, PDU, FRD, and/or convoy; even those with fighters/PFs) or must use slow retreat (e.g., convoys, towed FRDs), the other player selects both of the numbers (1-4) for the BIR. Variable intensity can still be used."
Does this mean that in Slow Unit Retreat (302.742) if there are only retreating slow units, that the pursing player gets to pick both BIRs? I would argue that this is not the case. Rule (302.742) makes no mention of Battle Intensity nor do the rules in (307.0) Pursuit. At the very least I would expect to see a special cases listed in (307.42) covering this.
A: Rule (304.41) says what it says, i.e., that the pursuing player gets to pick both BIR numbers (meaning that he's going to hurt you, a lot, if he wants to). The lack of a mention in other rules simply means nothing contradicts (304.41). One might argue that in a perfect world there might have been something to help you find (304.41), but that rule is still the rule.
(302.742)B add at end of rule: The pursuing force controls the BIR under (304.41) for the slow unit retreat battle. Reason: Remind players that the non-slow unit player has control of the BIR for this portion of the battle. Thomas Mathews 30 July 2021
Q: Under rule (310.51), I can resolve a "casualty" (310.32) by retreating. Can the other side pursue and force another round of Small Scale Combat?
A: Yes you can pursue, and if SSC still applies, you do another round of SSC.
(310.32) add at end of rule: The possibility of pursuit (307.0) still exists if the other side doesn't retreat during the combat phase. Reason: SSC conducted during the combat phase has the potential for a given force to only do one casualty under (310.0) and not taking any casualties or only taking fighters as a casualty giving that player the opportunity to conduct a pursuit battle under (307.0).
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 06:20 pm: Edit |
(310.32) Doesn't there need to be a crippled ship to have pursuit??
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |