By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, January 11, 2024 - 10:46 am: Edit |
During production, the Gorns roll a die to potentially release one of six ships (Rule 506.5). Am I correct in thinking that this ship could then be converted to another eligible ship type at the off-map starbase before entering the map during operational movement? E.g. convert one of the CLs to a CC. I don't see anything suggesting it couldn't, but thought I would confirm.
By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, January 11, 2024 - 08:38 pm: Edit |
John, provided the cost of the CL to CA portion of the 2 step conversion is 3 EPs or less. You still have to pay the 2 EPs for the activation.
I don't have my SITs handy at the moment for the Gorn CL to CA conversion.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, January 11, 2024 - 08:46 pm: Edit |
Two-step conversions are in one of the expansions. In the base game (which is all I have), both CL to BC and CL to CC are simply three-point conversions.
By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Thursday, January 11, 2024 - 08:47 pm: Edit |
Turtle, I seem to remember this topic coming up at StratCon this past year and in the end we let the new CL bump an existing CL into a BC upgrade because it made more sense based on where we needed the hulls at the time, but had discussed converting the CL to a BC because it was at the allowable cost.
I’ve slept since then, so Rodger would probably be a better person to ask.
By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Thursday, January 11, 2024 - 11:51 pm: Edit |
Since these are activations (paying 2 points per ship), I would assume that happens in Phase 2B1. As such, the activated ship would then be eligible for conversion in the subsequent Phase 2B3 of the same Gorn turn, subject to relevant conversion rules.
(506.5) makes use of the terms released, refitted, and activated somewhat interchangeably. IMHO, it would be clearer if that rule used activated throughout. In particular, released ships typically do not require EPs to be functional, where "mothball" activations do require EPs.
--Mike
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, January 12, 2024 - 04:43 am: Edit |
From (105.0) SoP:
PHASE 2B: PRODUCTION ACTIONS
2B1: Activate mothballed units (434.0) or (442.51). Attempt to activate Gorn off-map ships (506.5).
2B3D: Perform ship conversions (433.0)
=====
By rule, an activated Gorn ship may be converted on using any legal, off-map conversion capacity.
FEDS SENDS
By William Jockusch (Verybadcat) on Monday, January 15, 2024 - 10:46 pm: Edit |
Reposting an old question from Jason Schaff. I'm not sure which of his two proponents to believe.
*****
By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Wednesday, June 22, 2016 - 02:09 pm: Edit
Q 315.7
Battle Groups and Pursuit
++++++++++
A battle group included in a pursued battle
force (307.21) could not increase it in size but, if there is a
command rating deficit, could allow an additional ship to
participate in the battle.
++++++++++
We are having a discussion about how to interpret this.
Illustrative hypothetical example:
Pursued force includes DN, 2xCA as the uncrippled ships and 4xCW, 4xDW, 4xFF as the crippled ships.
Proponent 1 claims that one of the 4 FFs contribute compot, since the 14 ships in the battle force exceed the command limit of the DN, creating a "command rating deficit" which allows a BG to be formed from crippled CWs and DWs.
Proponent 2 claims that none of the FFs contribute compot because that would involve an "increase in the size" of the force, which is forbidden.
By Kevin Howard (Jarawara) on Tuesday, January 16, 2024 - 09:48 am: Edit |
Huh. I always assumed that 307.21 referred to the pursuing force, meaning a ship with a command rating of 4 could theoretically fit an extra ship on the pursuing line if they all were in a battlegroup. But the pursued line? I assumed battlegroups were totally legal there.
By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Tuesday, January 16, 2024 - 06:11 pm: Edit |
Yeah, 315.7 is pretty explicit that it's referring to the pursuing force. 307.21 is about creating the pursuit force, so I'd just assume that 315.7 is in error when it says "pursued" - it should be "pursuit".
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Wednesday, January 17, 2024 - 10:15 pm: Edit |
A question about activating mothball fleets.
I have drafted a Klingon economic phase that I like, but unfortunately it's one point over budget. The simplest way to reduce the budget by one point would be to postpone activating one of the E4s.
If I do so, can I activate it the following turn? Or once postponed does it have to wait until all the others have been activated so that there will be a final turn with this single, delayed activation?
In other words, is an E4 activation schedule of 3, 2, 4, 3 acceptable, or would I have to use 3, 2, 3, 3, 1?
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Wednesday, January 17, 2024 - 11:58 pm: Edit |
You would use 3, 2, 3, 3, 1.
Can always activate less then limit, never more.
F&E OB Specialist (FEAST)
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, January 23, 2024 - 03:45 pm: Edit |
Ted the only other rule you haven't considered is FCRs as the FSD is essentially an FCR module for a base (see the description). I understand that they lumped the cost together but that may be an intentional decision rather than an oversight. Reasoning assumed to be so players would not ask the next obvious Q about using FFF to reduce the cost of a FSD. It just costs 6 period. Your question on the ENG reduction is valid.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, January 23, 2024 - 04:37 pm: Edit |
Lar, thanks for your feedback and support.
I honestly have no skin in the game regarding the answer - but I did want clarification.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Wednesday, January 31, 2024 - 03:35 pm: Edit |
"
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, January 31, 2024 - 03:21 pm: Edit
Under rule (539.132) and (539.232) can the Romulan APTs and PTRs be sent to the Klingons to help with transporting EPs between the Klingon and Lyran capitals?
I am assuming that the small transports being always released, use allies SMN for free, along with the above rules might well allow it."
The last point looks incorrect- APT's and PTR's I don't think are 'always released' - there isn't an enabling rule for this.
(The only enabling rule seems to be for Diplomatic Teams pre War.....)
434.252 limits Ep transfers to those at War or Limited War status also...
On carrying Ep's - it seems it seems there is no 'third party movement' as it refers to to and from an Allied race.
Tugs don't appear to be able to do third party Ep's either (435.22)
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Wednesday, January 31, 2024 - 04:49 pm: Edit |
Lawrence
You amended your questions
To add to it though, the Romulans IIRC don't actually join the Coaition until various things happen (depending on which rules are being played).... so the Rom's can't send APT/PTs to help the Lyrans or Klingons on turn 1 (or pre turn 10) as they are not yet allied?
Same thing will apply for the Gorns in 'helping'the Alliance - they can't.
(i.e the Gorns and Romulans can remain Neutral or out of the 'General War')
Not sure about the Feds as I don't think there is any enabling or potential rules to stop them being on the Alliance side - vut it would probably be limited to helping the Kzinti when they go to Limited War (in theory, it's possible the Feds could go to limited War on turn 2 to 6 and so try and send aid to the Hydrans??????? - but that is not likely to happen!!!)
By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, February 04, 2024 - 06:11 am: Edit |
Quote:By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Saturday, February 03, 2024 - 10:18 pm: Edit
Ruling confirmation requested please:
AO Rule -(441.433) An FRD can carry a maximum of two modules, with no more than one of them being a PF module. (The published counters show no fighter or PF modules; these can be added to the maximum above.) Fighters and PFs based on an FRD are considered as fighters on a base for purposes of the three-squad- ron limit (302.332), but no more than one FRD can operate fighters (or use them to absorb losses) in battle force during any combat round. The addition of such modules does not affect the movement of the FRD. An FRD with such modules is treated as a base, not a carrier. The PFs and fighters cannot react out of the hex of the FRD.
Situation: Opponent is saying it should be one full squadron of fighters alllowed in the battle so if there are two FRDs (both req to be included and each has just one module with 3 Ftrs) he should be able to add both 1/2 squadrons (6 ftrs).
The limit presented here though is ‘one FRD with a module’ can add its fighters to the group. I am suggesting it’s the FRD with the module that’s the limiting factor per the rule, not the number of fighters (or one squadron). Note: Highlighted area above in blue that I am referring to.
L Bergen 3 FEB 2024
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, February 04, 2024 - 07:21 am: Edit |
On the FRD fighter question - the reponse seems to be it is a Unit Limit - no squadron limit?
So 2 FRD's with 1 Figher Module each would be limited to 3 Additional Fighters being used in total??
By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Sunday, February 04, 2024 - 11:45 am: Edit |
>> no more than one FRD can operate fighters (or use them to absorb losses) in battle force during any combat round
This is they key line from my perspective. In the situation Lar has described, only 1 of the 2 FRDs can be contributing fighters into the battle force in a single round. So the player could:
Round 1: FRD #1 with 3 FF added to BF
Round 2: FRD #2 with 3 FF added to BF
This would allow all 6 FF to get into the fight over 2 rounds and absorb 6 FF of casualties. But both FRDs cannot contribute fighters to the same round at the same time.
--Mike
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Thursday, February 08, 2024 - 08:20 pm: Edit |
This is more of a discussion Q than an actual Q as of now.
Can the APT/PTR of the Romulan Empire (since they are always active) move and transfer the collected trade EPs from the Romulans to the Lyran/Klingon (or any other) Empire? They move using free strat across the network as well.
Example (in our game) the Romulans have sent out all of their DIPs to Capitals generating DIP econ. They have also some DIPs in their own Capital generating a total of 5 EPs per turn. These should be able to be sent back to their allies correct? Is this already a TACNOTE? Even if the APT/PTR are not released that first 5 EPs could be used to build 5 APTs (one per SB) and then Turn 3 start delivering 5 EPs back to their friends in the West.
By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Thursday, February 08, 2024 - 08:32 pm: Edit |
duplicate
By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, February 09, 2024 - 11:14 am: Edit |
Lar, No. while APTs and PTRs are released, they would need a diplomat to move through the Tholian/Federation neutral zone or Federation territory.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, February 09, 2024 - 04:28 pm: Edit |
Two questions:
1) The Klingon Southern Reserve Fleet is released on turn 3 only if the Hydrans attack the Lyrans or Klingons. However, if the attack is solely against the Lyrans, does the release mean anything? A reserve fleet from hex 1716 can't come close to reaching Lyran space, and I'm not able to come up with anything the newly released Southern Reserve Fleet could do in the event of an attack solely against the Lyrans. Am I missing something?
2) An FF is on a border battle station when the battle station is attacked by a superior force. An approach battle is offered, but declined. Can the FF retreat before the battle at the base, or does it have to survive one round of combat at the base before it can retreat?
By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, February 09, 2024 - 05:30 pm: Edit |
John,
1 the Southern Reserve Fleer would not be released until the coalition half of turn 4.
2 The FF can retreat behind the base after the declined approach battle and cannot be pursued. The approach battle must be offered and counts as a battle round even if no battle is fought as the approach battle is declined.
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Saturday, February 10, 2024 - 05:13 am: Edit |
John
1) Warrens reply seems to be incorrect - if the HYdrans attack the Lyrans OR the Klingons - Southern Reserve is indeeded released (601.2 turn 3)
The fact there may be no legal target for it's Reserve Fleet is not relevant.
2) I beleive Warrens's replyt is incorrect - a declined Approach battle only counts as a round ogf combat for the prupose of 302.617 - required kills.
BUT- with the example given - the FF can rejected as a Flag ship candidate - and so after either an approach or normal round of combat at the BATS, the FF can retreat.
The approach battle would have to be accepted to allow the FF to then retreat prior to a battle at the BATS (which may be more relevant if the FF was crippled and the defender felt the BATS would die in a single round of combat and they wanted it to retreat).
By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, February 10, 2024 - 09:24 am: Edit |
Deleted by author.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |