| By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Wednesday, July 30, 2025 - 11:01 am: Edit |
You can't react to that ship moving, but it seems intuitively obvious that you can react to any other ships moving along with it, no?
| By Jon LaRusso (Soulcatcher) on Friday, August 15, 2025 - 03:27 am: Edit |
http://www.starfleetgames.com/discus/messages/37/34589.html?WednesdayMarch1820150219am
Christopher Schrader is the only reference I found that asks the question and I searched 504 and his name for an answer, and did not find one.
CS question was with Basic game, but I would like to know if the answer is different with using all the rulebooks and Orion NP or Alternate Orions
Q1 504.34 Successful Piracy: (reworded) How is the loss of income accounted for in the Basic game?
Q2 504.4 Pirate Encounter with PDU/Planets: (reworded) In a single encounter (roll), are the fighters based on PDU's and Bases limited in the number that can attack a pirate by (504.4) to a ship equivalent, six fighter factors (unless heavy/special fighters used), or to 3 ship equivalents limited by command rating (302.332) part A? or is it 4 separate encounters with each a single ship equivalent of fighters?
My best guess is the separate encounters, per PDU with fighters, with a single equivalent of fighters with Basic ruleset. With the all the expansions and Non Player Orions, this doesn't change, but deployment the pirate will avoid provinces with 3 enemy ship equivalents.
Note per 504 bases cannot be attacked, but fighters from a base/PDU fighters can be used. The wording is singular so that is my rational for 1SE PDU, but multiple encounters.
| By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, August 15, 2025 - 07:45 am: Edit |
Quote:By Sam Benner (Nucaranlaeg) on Wednesday, July 30, 2025 - 11:01 am: Edit
You can't react to that ship moving, but it seems intuitively obvious that you can react to any other ships moving along with it, no?
| By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Friday, August 15, 2025 - 06:48 pm: Edit |
Note that blockade running used raid movement which could see a reaction move by one ship to attempt the interception.
| By Jon LaRusso (Soulcatcher) on Monday, August 18, 2025 - 01:54 am: Edit |
My bad I posted this to discussions
| By Kevin Howard (Jarawara) on Monday, September 08, 2025 - 03:57 pm: Edit |
Asked here before cluttering Q&A.
Hello all!
Sorry if I ask a question that is clearly answered in a ruleset I don't have, but...
I was looking at the early carriers for the Lyrans, saw how they get the CVL in 171, the CV in 172, and a slew of escorts for both in 171. Then I saw the earliest carrier, the CLV, built in 169. I guess this was introduced in Captain's Log 46? But then I saw the early escorts, the CLE and DDE, both of which are available in 171.
So, how do I escort my CLV before 171? Ad-hoc only? Or special early production of the CLE?
As a bonus question, the Lyrans often do not have full flexibility of carrier group sizes like other nations have. So am I restricted to only having one escort at a time (it's a light carrier)?
And not a "rules question", but how many CLV's are you guys typically building?
| By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Monday, September 08, 2025 - 06:17 pm: Edit |
For what it's worth, the (R11.A20) PANTHER-V LIGHT CARRIER (CLV) in the Lyran MSSB indicates the Y170 escorts for this ship (which was not historically produced) are CL,FF.
--Mike
| By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, September 08, 2025 - 07:51 pm: Edit |
Generally speaking in F&E you can escort your carrier per rule 515.0.
A JGP-V is treated as a HDW-V (525.243), except for its special rules in *525.243). A HDW-V is a medium carrier (525.23V). Therefore, the JGP-V has 2 escorts (515.22) (3 ships total in the group), one of of which must be "light" (515.35). Note it can't use 3 escorts due to (515.25).
The flexible carrier rules allow you to use regular warships as ad hoc escorts. You don't necessarily get to use a formal escort and its advantages if they're not available for whatever reason.
Because the Lyran escorts are not available until Y171, the JGP's escorts prior to Y171 would have to be ad hoc escorts. They don't have to be CL and FF per the Lyran MSSB in SFB. They could be a BC and a DW, for example (a waste) or a CA and a FF, or a CW and a FF, or whatever else is permitted by the ad hoc escort rules. (Note: strangely, Lyran ad hoc DD's are treated as "heavy" escorts (757.6).
As for me personally, I get 1 JGP-V and I'm done. It's not a great carrier, but it's 2 "FCR" factors and early-available fighter factors are useful - particularly in BATS busting battles in the early turns of the general war. There, you generally just plop it on the line with ghost escorts because you'll have a command rating of 6 with the unit, leaving you with 4 more units after ghost slots are accounted for. That's more than enough to wipe a BATS (assuming properly selected escorts) and the fighters are great damage sucks.
I looked and I couldn't see any rule saying it's a single ship CV. So, it just isn't that effective in the long haul. Like I said, it's worth buying 1 early in the war, and then "fuh-get-about-it".
| By Benjamin Lee Johnson (Jedipilot24) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 03:14 pm: Edit |
Ted, I suggest that you check Advanced Operations again. The JGP-V is a Single Ship Carrier. It can be escorted but it doesn't have to be.
(525.23V) Carrier (V): If this mission is adopted, the ship is considered a medium carrier (515.23) for purposes of escorts but could operate as a single-ship unescorted carrier.
| By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 03:38 pm: Edit |
Are we discussing (R11.61) JAGDPANTHER LIGHT CRUISER (JGP) or (R11.A20) PANTHER-V LIGHT CARRIER (CLV)?
--Mike
| By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 04:16 pm: Edit |
@Benjamin: I stand corrected. Thanks!
@Mike: The JGP is what is being discussed. Specifically, one configured to be a carrier.
I still think it's really a "one and done" purchase, at least for me. It's too vulnerable as a SSCV during heavy battles, even in the form slot, and it's weak compared to other carriers in terms of compot density by the time you can buy a 2nd JGP, but it has its uses in the early war as I indicated above.
Oh, one other good thing about an early purchase of the V COG for the JGP - it gives the Lyrans something truly useful to spend its early FFF on (before it can buy real carriers).
| By Kevin Howard (Jarawara) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 04:22 pm: Edit |
Well I had asked about the CLV, if anyone is using it and what escorts are used for it.
| By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 04:46 pm: Edit |
You know... it might help if I could read English...
Oy. Sorry Kevin!
Believe it or not, the answer to the CLV is very similar, though it's not quite as complex. It is a medium carrier, not single ship, and so just go with the flexible escort rules I described above. Early in the war I typically use a CW and a FF if I put it on the line (because I don't care about the FF and the CW toughens up the total defpot considerably).
I also purchase maybe 1 or 2 CLV carriers as a Coalition player. Much for the same reasons as the JGP+V. It's a poor carrier for compot purposes, even after the real escorts come out - but it's very useful for BATS busting battles and remains useful later just for its fighters or to absorb a bit of damage for a battle you don't intend to win.
| By Mike Curtis (Nashvillen) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 07:20 pm: Edit |
Ted not being able to read english? Someone pick me up off the floor.
| By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 09:22 pm: Edit |
Quote:Ted not being able to read english? Someone pick me up off the floor.
| By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 09:35 pm: Edit |
Huh... I'm kind of the opposite. I majored in mathematics with a minor in physics.
Quote:I have a B.S. in Physics and am only a couple of classes away from a Math major.
| By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 09:44 pm: Edit |
Addendum to the previous:
I have a B.A. in mathematics and if, instead, I had chosen to major in physics, I still would have had a B.A. The college I attended was very much a liberal arts college and all majors required: an English Composition course, a full year of a foreign language, a full year of a physical science, a philosophy course, three separate religion courses, three separate "social sciences" courses (including at least 1 "300 level"), a basic mathematics course, and at least one P.E. course per year. All degrees were B.A.
| By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Tuesday, September 09, 2025 - 09:47 pm: Edit |
A swimming test (waverable for medical reasons) was also a graduation requirement.
| By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, September 10, 2025 - 08:08 am: Edit |
I went to UC San Diego, Warren College. Which meant I had to have two minors in areas non-contiguous with the major and non-contiguous with each other.
So, my minors were Spanish Literature and Psychology. While the latter was useless, the former turned out to be very practical as the process of becoming fluent in Spanish turned out to be highly practical in Southern California...
Today, 35+ years later, I'm not so fluent, but I can still get along.
I also don't use physics or math very much anymore, both of which are pretty rusty in practical problem-solving terms. I use Spanish more often, because my work mostly involves software patents and not physics stuff.
Heh. Funny how life works. Trained to do a job I never did.
| By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, September 15, 2025 - 04:51 pm: Edit |
Having trouble with the search function today so not able to check to see if this has been answered.
Rule 410.32 says that attack factors are reduced by 50%, with fractions of 0.5 rounded up. It also says that fighter/PF factors are similarly reduced.
How is something like the Hydran HR treated (attack factor of five and three fighters)?
Option A: 1/2*(5+3) = 4
Option B: 1/2*5 (2.5 rounds up to 3) + 1/2*3 (1.5 rounds up to 2) = 5
Option C: 1/2*5 (2.5 rounds up to 3) + 1/2*3 (becomes 1 plus triangle, and the half factor can be combined with another half factor)
| By Paul Howard (Raven) on Tuesday, September 16, 2025 - 01:55 am: Edit |
I have always played it as A.
Otherwise Carriers are less likely to suffer a full 50% penalty.
i.e. option B comes out at 37.5% penalty!
(OK - 3 compot ships like the HN only lose 1 and so 33% - but they already are underpowered on Compot!)
| By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, October 06, 2025 - 01:19 am: Edit |
When in the Sequence of Play does a declaration of war occur? For example, on CT2, are the Klingons considered to be at war with the Kzintis from the very beginning of the turn, from when their ships first cross the border and begin the invasion, or from some other point in the SoP?
Put another way, at what point in the SoP are the Klingons and Lyrans formally and officially allies?
| By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, October 06, 2025 - 07:31 am: Edit |
Quote:By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, October 06, 2025 - 01:19 am: Edit
When in the Sequence of Play does a declaration of war occur? For example, on CT2, are the Klingons considered to be at war with the Kzintis from the very beginning of the turn, from when their ships first cross the border and begin the invasion, or from some other point in the SoP?
Put another way, at what point in the SoP are the Klingons and Lyrans formally and officially allies?
| By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, October 06, 2025 - 11:12 am: Edit |
Based on that, for the CT2 movement supply check in SoP 3B1, Lyran ships in Kzinti space cannot yet rely on a supply path that passes through Klingon space or NZ 0805 and 0905, correct?
| By Paul Howard (Raven) on Monday, October 06, 2025 - 01:16 pm: Edit |
To be honest - I don't think the SOP covers 'when War starts' - as otherwise the rules requiring 'War' occur earlier than movement (Ecomomy Level, Command Points and Survey etc) occur before then.
It perhaps is easiest to say, at the start of the 'relevant turn', the Empire decides if War Starts or not - and then the turn continues as normal.
i.e. the Lyrans on C1, Klingons on C2, Hydrans A3 etc.
So, for the supply check John is refering to - I would think Supply CAN pass through Klingon space and eligible NZ hexes (i.e. enemy bases and ships may block as normal), if the Klingons said War was comming.
| Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |