View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
defurusu Lieutenant JG

Joined: 20 Nov 2006 Posts: 85 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:05 pm Post subject: More on Evasive Manouvres |
|
|
Put simply: Can a unit which is performing Evasive Manouvres be tractored? The only prohibition I can see in the rules is on the owner (or would-be owner) of a tractor link, not his prey.
I ask this because I've seen it mentioned (perhaps on the legacy board, I'm not sure) that you can't death-drag a Stinger if it's EM'ing. I thought you could, am I wrong?
Thanks in advance.
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As far as I can see, under (2D4b) Limitations:, it says that 'A ship which is maneuvering evasively cannot: Fire or launch.....land on a planet or other body, or be tractored.' However, Rule (2D4e) Prohibited: says that '...ships held in [or holding another unit in] a tractor beam....cannot use Evasive Maneuvers'.
I take this as meaning that an already established enemy tractor link will prevent a ship from using EM, but if it's already using EM then it cannot be tractored.
If, however, the tractor link belongs to the ship wanting to use EM, then the tractor link will have to be dropped before EM can commence. _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kang got it all correct. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
defurusu Lieutenant JG

Joined: 20 Nov 2006 Posts: 85 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dang, that "or be tractored" must have been cloaked in my rulebook; there it is, sure enough. Thanks for flash-cubing it!
Now to roast someone with some previously-EM'ing Stingers!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PallidaMors Commander

Joined: 24 Oct 2007 Posts: 478 Location: Seattle, Wa
|
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
can you clear up one more rule isse that I have. it involves Evasive action, it states that you have to wait 2 impulses to come out of evasive once you declare it. so how do you rule if a ship goes evasive on the 8th impulse? do they have to wait until impulse 2 of the next turn to be able to come out of evasive action? the game card says you repay for evasive action at the start of each turn, so it would almost seem that this is a loop hole for a player to take quick evasive on the last impulse thinking that they would not have to worry about the 2 impulse spread and just decide not to put power into evasive action at the start of the next turn and as such be out of the effetcs of Evasive action on impulse 1 of that next turn.
Please clarify,
Thanks!!
Pete _________________ Creator Empire campaign rules and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 5:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
(2D4d) says that Evasive Maneuvers "continue until the end of the turn or ..."
Therefore, if a ship goes evasive on Impulse 8, and does not pay to continue at the beginning of the next turn, the ship indeed performs a one-impulse evasive maneuver. Note, however, that it still pays the full six points of movement for the priviledge. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PallidaMors Commander

Joined: 24 Oct 2007 Posts: 478 Location: Seattle, Wa
|
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks!!! _________________ Creator Empire campaign rules and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry to resurrect the thread, but when in 'Energy Allocation' does the 'continuing EM' announcement take place? _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nothing is specifically identified. Given that it is movement, I think immediately after announcing baseline speed would be good. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|