Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Stinger firing rates

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1937
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:29 am    Post subject: Stinger firing rates Reply with quote

The Distant Kingdoms rules on Stingers say that although a fusion beam on a Stinger can fire once per turn [without waiting to cool off], a given Stinger can fire only one fusion beam per turn.

Is this correct? Is that really what it's meant to say? I must admit I had to do a double-take on this one once it was pointed out to me...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes - one fusion beam per turn. That was the end result of all of the various play testing that was performed.
I haven't gotten my copy of DK yet (9 more days adn I can pick-it up at Origins), but I assume tthat you can still fire both charges in one fusion beam at the same time, but you can only fire one fusion beam per turn.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1937
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scoutdad wrote:
I assume that you can still fire both charges in one fusion beam at the same time


You can. Stingers [but not ships] can double-shot the fusions and extend the range to 10 hexes [but don't increase damage], otherwise they are limited to three hexes' range.

Thanks for the confirmation about the rules too.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the point in having two beams then?
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because it allows the Stingers to fire twice as many shots before they have to return to the ship to reload.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TJolley
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinecone wrote:
What's the point in having two beams then?


2 range 4-10 shots over 2 turns
1 range 4-10 shot and 2 0-3 range shots over 3 turns
4 range 0-3 shots over 4 turns

So anywhere from 2-4 effective turns of Fusion combat..assuming they last that long, but considering the focus on killing them as soon as possible, they probably won't live long enough to utilize the additional charges.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MikePowers
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinecone wrote:
What's the point in having two beams then?
There isn't one. It's a holdover from SFB, where you can fire both fusions at once (but there are also more ways to kill fighters.)

I find it easier to just say that Stingers have one gatling phaser and one four-shot Fusion Beam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MikePowers wrote:
I find it easier to just say that Stingers have one gatling phaser and one four-shot Fusion Beam.


Which, quite frankly, works just fine, too. It even works with the fighter check-off graphics as is.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have those graphics been changed since Battleships Attack?
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think so. I think the Stinger graphic hasn't changed since then.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
defurusu
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A question just occurred to me... is the limit on re-arming a Stinger Fusion applied per weapon, or per fighter? What is the last "it" in rule 5Q2d:

Quote:
A fighter fusion beam may not be recharged in the same turn in which it was fired, so if a Stinger fires a fusion beam and lands, it cannot be re-charged until the next turn.
?

If, for example, I fire a long range shot from one of a Stinger's Fusion Beams using both charges on turn X, another shot (at either range, it doesn't really matter for the purposes of this argument) from the same fighter's other Fusion on turn X+1, and that Stinger lands aboard a carrier on this same turn X+1, can it re-arm the Fusion Beam which fired on turn X and re-launch the Stinger before the end of turn X+1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1529
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it refers to the specific fusion beam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TJolley
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty sure it applies to any fusion beam.

For example, if you Fire a Fusion beam on a Stinger on Impulse 1 of turn 2 and land it on say impulse 4 of turn 2, at the end of turn 2 you can NOT reload the fighter. You have to wait until the end of turn 3 to reload the fighter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am pretty sure it is the fighter, not just a specific weapon on the fighter.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
defurusu
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'm slightly disappointed because I hoped it would be a restriction which only applied to the Fusion which fired on the same turn (that's how it reads to me), but there you go. Confused

Quote:
For example, if you Fire a Fusion beam on a Stinger on Impulse 1 of turn 2 and land it on say impulse 4 of turn 2, at the end of turn 2 you can NOT reload the fighter. You have to wait until the end of turn 3 to reload the fighter.


Remember that you can re-arm a fighter in the Launch step of any impulse, and don't have to wait until the end of turn. In your example, the fighter can be reloaded and launched on impulse 1 of turn 3.

Under my (apparently incorrect) interpretation you could reload its other Fusion (which I'm assuming was fired on turn 1) & launch on impulse 5 of turn 2, ready to fire on impulse 1 of turn 3. Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group