Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Capturing ships with Marines

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Paul Grogan
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Somerset, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:07 am    Post subject: Capturing ships with Marines Reply with quote

Last night, 6 Gorn marines beamed over to a Large Freighter to try and take control of it. Because there are no marines on board the frieghter, it was just a case of scoring 4 casualty hits, since there are 4 orange boxes on the freighter.

At the end of turn 1, they scored 1 casualty. How do you mark this?
Is the box actually destroyed? I dont think so.

What we did is put a dot in the box to show that it was a casualty, but this doesnt count as damaged and cannot be repaired with damage control.

I think that is correct - the example in the book shows that the bridge of the hood is captured. It then mentions that since the Klingons are now unopposed, they capture the ship - They dont mention anything about having to roll dice or anything - so should capture be automatic if there are no marines?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
asguard101
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 20 Jul 2008
Posts: 162
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you still need "extra" damage to remove the command of the ship after the marines are gone. I could be wrong though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3492
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Capturing ships with Marines Reply with quote

Paul Grogan wrote:
Last night, 6 Gorn marines beamed over to a Large Freighter to try and take control of it. Because there are no marines on board the frieghter, it was just a case of scoring 4 casualty hits, since there are 4 orange boxes on the freighter.


This is correct. Once the four casualty points are scored, the freighter is captured.

Quote:
At the end of turn 1, they scored 1 casualty. How do you mark this?
Is the box actually destroyed? I dont think so.

What we did is put a dot in the box to show that it was a casualty, but this doesnt count as damaged and cannot be repaired with damage control.

No, the box is not actually destroyed. Use whatever means you want to mark the boxes that have been captured. Your method is perfectly fine. It works.

Quote:
I think that is correct - the example in the book shows that the bridge of the hood is captured. It then mentions that since the Klingons are now unopposed, they capture the ship - They dont mention anything about having to roll dice or anything - so should capture be automatic if there are no marines?

Not exactly. The example was just assuming that the Klingons roll sufficiently well to capture the last two boxes during the next turn. The only way the 13 marines could not capture the two boxes would be by rolling snake eyes. Any other result is a capture. (Presumably the unmentioned two Auxiliary Control boxes had been destroyed due to damage prior to the boarding attempt.)

asguard101 wrote:
I think you still need "extra" damage to remove the command of the ship after the marines are gone. I could be wrong though.

If by "extra" damage you mean damage points equal to the number of control boxes, then, yes. But that would be it.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1960
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul beat me to it - but I was also going to add this next question.

Once that freighter had been captured [or any ship for that matter], is it allowed for the 'new' owner of the ship to use its weapons? I seemed to think it wasn't, but then I'm an ex-SFB player so of course I would think that.

I couldn't find any such rule prohibiting the full use of a captured ship; is there one?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1960
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The battle report is here:

http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?p=14797
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3492
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
I couldn't find any such rule prohibiting the full use of a captured ship; is there one?


Yup, (3E2) Capture.

A captured ship is under very severe movement and weapons restrictions. The rule lists what cannot be done. To turn it around, here is what you can do combat-wise:
- Move at a base speed of 16 or less, with no changes.
- Fire weapons in the Defensive Fire Phase only.
Note also there are no restrictions on tractors or transporters.

Basically, it is allowed to defend itself against impacted seeking weapons and run away.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1960
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, yes - thank you. And it's in the rules index too, no less.

Some 'Rules Lawyer' I am! Embarassed
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group