Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Orion Dreadnought (fleet) - Option Y/Z

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
j2klbs
Ensign


Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:48 pm    Post subject: Orion Dreadnought (fleet) - Option Y/Z Reply with quote

I am confused as to the firing arcs for the Orion Dreadnought (listed in Orion Attack rules).

Most options are listed in the following format:

weapon-a, weapon-b (arc); weapon-c, weapon-d (arc)

For example... Orion Battlecruiser (fleet)

B: Phaser-1/2/3 (360); photon, disruptor, fusion (FA); drone, ADD (360); plasma-F (FP), plasma-D+*

This format seems extremely clear to me. But in the case of the dreadnought, we seem to have a semicolon with no arc listed.

Y: Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D+*; drone, ADD (360)
Z: Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D+*; drone, ADD (360)
+ = plasma-D's must be mounted in LS/RS pairs excpet on fleet-scale ships with one 360 rack.
* = if two plasma-D, Y-LS/Z-RS; 360 if only one)

But what are the arcs if I put two phaser-1's on it? Are the arcs of both of these 360 or LS/RS. The two conditional notes (+ and *) don't really address this configuration and there is no firing arc listed before the semicolon.

It would have been much clearer, for example, if the dreadnought fleet scale specifies:

Y: Phaser-1/2/3, drone, ADD (360); plasma-D+*

(which is what the format of the battlecruiser is)

However, since the firing arc for the phasers are not explicitly, it seems they are somehow linked to the plasma-D rules and this is very confusing to me.

(PS - the same issue exists with the squadron-scale version of the dreadnought for the W/X option mounts)

Greatly appreciate any insight. Thanks so much!

~Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dal Downing
Commander


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 552
Location: Western Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They way I read it The Phasers are LS and RS in Squadron or 1 Phaser that is 360 in Fleet. Just realize you could mount a Phaser 3 in the RS arc with a Phaser 1 in the LS Arc. Would seem odd way to mismatch Phasers but it seems legal. They only time this mounts must be a matched set is if you mount D Racks in them.
_________________
-Dal

"Which one of you is the Biggest, Baddest, Bootlicker of the bunch?"
"I am."
"ARCHERS!!! THAT ONE!!!!"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
j2klbs
Ensign


Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Dal,

The thing is, one could have 2 Ph-1's in fleet scale (option Y & Z). So would they both be 360?

Perhaps the semicolon is extraneous and the line should read :

Y (Z): Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D+*, drone, ADD (360)

This would make sense in that everything is 360 unless one gets 2 plasma-D's, in which case they are LS/RS. However, I'm not sure this is what is intended.

~Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dal Downing
Commander


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 552
Location: Western Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jason,

Looking at the Card yes if you used 2 Phaser1s (One in the Y mount and one in the Z Mount) then both would have a 360 Degree arc. Someone may come along and tell me I am all wet but that is how I am reading the Fleet Card.
_________________
-Dal

"Which one of you is the Biggest, Baddest, Bootlicker of the bunch?"
"I am."
"ARCHERS!!! THAT ONE!!!!"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to check the cards to be sure, but ...

It should be LS/RS.

So, for the fleet scale dreadnought, the lines should be:
Y: Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D (LSt*); drone, ADD (360).
Z: Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D (RSt*); drone, ADD (360).

(I don't know how to do special characters. The "t" is really the dagger.)

The LS/RS note was just missed.

Note that this also applies to the following lines:
Orion Double Raider (fleet scale), mounts B and C.
Orion Dreadnought (squadron scale), mounts Y and Z.
Orion Dreadnought (fleet scale), mounts Y and Z.
Orion OK6 (squadron scale), mounts Y and Z.

Sorry for the confusion.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dal Downing
Commander


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 552
Location: Western Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MJW, so the Option Mounts on the Orions in Fleet Scale Pairs the Side Mount and the Wing Mount not the 2 Side Mounts and 2 Wing Mounts. It would seem by the D Rack Exception they were intended to pair the Wings and the then pair the Sides.
_________________
-Dal

"Which one of you is the Biggest, Baddest, Bootlicker of the bunch?"
"I am."
"ARCHERS!!! THAT ONE!!!!"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
j2klbs
Ensign


Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest -

Thanks for the clarification. We should probably get this "official" ruling into a communique.

I do have a follow-up question needing clarification.

It seems that I should be able to have 1xPh1 that is 360 if I take one drone (since on squadron scale I could have 1 LS + 1 RS Ph-1 and 2 Drones).

So, can you please clarify what happens if one takes 1-Ph1 and 1 drone? Also, any official communique should clarify this choice as well.

Thanks!!!
Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This will be updated in Communique and the CRUL.

Yes, for particular combinations of weapons, you will indeed find arrangements that aren't perfect. This is just a consequence of having option mounts. There are almost no fleet scale conversions that are perfect, and decisions have to be made.

In the case of the Dreadnough, it is true that W & Y are combined, and X & Z are combined. The reason is because each pair is LS/RS, so it makes more sense (and maintains the feel of the squadron scale ship better) to combine the two LS mounts and the two RS mounts, rather than combining each pair of LS/RS pairs.

To answer your specific question, if you put a Ph-1 in the Y mount, and a drone in the Z mount on the fleet scale Orion DN, the Ph-1 will have a LS arc, and the drone will have a 360 arc.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group