Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

seeking weapons firing into asteroid hex

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PallidaMors
Commander


Joined: 24 Oct 2007
Posts: 474
Location: Seattle, Wa

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:04 pm    Post subject: seeking weapons firing into asteroid hex Reply with quote

Question.

if a plasma torp or drone enters a hex, when tdoes the drone or plasasm take damage...before or after hitting the ship that is in the hex. In this example the ship is in an asteroid hex, and the seeking weapon enterd the asteroid hex from a clear hex.
_________________
Creator Empire 1,4 campaingn rles and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3488
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oddly, the answer to your question is in an example, not the rule itself. In the example following rule (6B2d), the last sentence says, "If the drone's target was in the hex, the drone would damage that target before it takes asteroid damage."
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PallidaMors
Commander


Joined: 24 Oct 2007
Posts: 474
Location: Seattle, Wa

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I read that, I just thought it to be counter intuitive i would see a seeking weapon taking dmd when entering an asteroid hex, considering the hex is roughly 10,000 across, I assume that it would take dmg before hitting the target.
_________________
Creator Empire 1,4 campaingn rles and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3488
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, well, it is as much a play-balance issue as anything else.

But, that is how it works.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DArc_Tangent
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 64
Location: Sacramento, California

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does a seeking weapon take damage when fired FROM an asteroid hex into a non-asteriod hex?
_________________
Admiral Kr'toth's face turned purple with fury, his hand going to the d'k tahg at his side, “You dare insult my honor?!?”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

D'Arc, I think the drone takes damage when it enters an asteroid hex, not when it leaves one, so no (although I may be wrong - Mike West is the final arbiter).
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terry: I checked the relevant sections of the Reference Rulebook, but find no specific mention. You are correct though, there is no damged scored when leaving an Asteroid hex... only when entering one.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3488
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terry and 'dad are correct. The rules quite specifically use the term "entered". So, you only take damage as you enter an ateroid hex.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1547
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the answers to these questions are:

1. A seeking weapon fired from an asteroid hex does not take any damage from the asteroids in that hex.

2. A seeking weapon entering an asteroid hex does not take damage if its target is in that hex.


I suppose it should be assumed that a seeking weapon launched in an asteroid hex at a stationary target in an adjacent asteroid hex would take no damage at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3488
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike wrote:
I suppose it should be assumed that a seeking weapon launched in an asteroid hex at a stationary target in an adjacent asteroid hex would take no damage at all.

That seems a logical conclusion to me.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group