Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

first turn plasma arming

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
m1a1dat
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 94
Location: 91320

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:36 am    Post subject: first turn plasma arming Reply with quote

I'm not sure if I understand rule 4J2e correctly.

Is it saying that on the first turn of the game (unless stated for a written scenario) that plasma launchers larger than type F have only one turn of arming done so that those launchers would not be able to launch plasma until the second turn (except for 2 turn F)?

Do not plasmas get the ability to empty batteries and complete arming on the first turn that all the other multi turn arming weapons get to do? That would put them at a big disadvantage at first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silent bob
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no they dont, as most other multi-turn arming weapons are only 2 turns to load but most plasma apart from Fs is 3 turns to load so giving plasma the chance to burn batteries for this would be overpowering.
it does mean you start with batteries though Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul B
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That being said, all non-F batteries are still able to fire a two-turn "F" as they're called. So you can fire all your plasma weapons on turn 2, you just cant fire anything bigger than an F. (and maybe a D? Not sure about those as I don't have the rules)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plasma-D torpedoes don't follow the normal arming procedure. Instead, they're 'activated' using a 'pay per shot' process. So yes, they can be fired on the first turn of the game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Davec_24
Commander


Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 596
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is indeed the case - type F plasma launchers begin the game fully loaded as the torpedo is held in a stasis box and is therefore able to be kept armed. Type G, S and R launchers get their first turn of arming paid for at the start of the game if they wish to, much like other "multi-turn" weapons, except that they start with full batteries - this is presumably to help balance the fact that a full-strength torpedo will not be available until Turn #2, as you say.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group