Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ADD vs. Tractered Drones

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SylvrDragon
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: Euless, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:55 am    Post subject: ADD vs. Tractered Drones Reply with quote

Can you use an anti-drone against a drone that you had seized with a tractor beam in a previous impulse?
_________________
"...You're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theater." — Shepherd Book
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. You may only use an anti-drone against a drone in the impulse the drone impacts.

And releasing a drone at the end of a turn does not cause an "impact". Only the initial impact of a drone allows anti-drones to be used against that drone.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SylvrDragon
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: Euless, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okies. Thanks.

Another question. When do you pay to renew a tractor on a drone? Do you pay 1 full turn later, or during energy allocation at the start of a new turn?

_________________
"...You're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theater." — Shepherd Book
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OGOPTIMUS
Captain


Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have my rulebook handy, so I can't quote a rule, but it should be at the beginning of the turn. So even if you paid it on impulse 8 of the previous one, you have to turn around and pay it again almost immediately, or it hits.
_________________
O.G. OPTIMUS


NEW Page | OLD Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a little more nuanced than that.

All tractors, regardless of when they are established, end during energy allocation of the next turn. So, whether you establish the tractor on impulse 1 or impulse 8, it ends at the same time.

So, if you are holding a drone in a defensive tractor, you renew it during energy allocation. However, if you chose not to renew the tractor, the drone does not hit immediately. Instead it hits during the defensive fire phase of impulse 1. At that point it may be phasered (but not shot at by an anti-drone) and/or tractored again.

Note that this is different than what happens if the tractor is lost due to weapons damage. If the tractor is lost due to weapons damage, the drone will hit immediately, with no chance for additional counter-measures.

(I can give rule references later, if necessary.)
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SylvrDragon
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: Euless, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent. Thanks.
_________________
"...You're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theater." — Shepherd Book
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killerjoe1968
Ensign


Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:37 am    Post subject: rules reference Reply with quote

Hi I would be interested in knowing where those rules are referenced, I was looking for exact same rule on destroying seized drones.

Also could you hit a seized drone with phasers during Defensive Fire in another impulse, if you have phaser available?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1380

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Killerjoe, can't help with the rules reference. But you definitely can phaser a tractored drone in a subsequent impulse.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:19 pm    Post subject: Re: rules reference Reply with quote

killerjoe1968 wrote:
Hi I would be interested in knowing where those rules are referenced, I was looking for exact same rule on destroying seized drones.


(1E1) describes continuing a defensive tractor between turns. (5D4c) also addresses the issue of continuation over a turn break and what happens if you don't.

The parenthetical description in (4E2a) specifically restricts ADD fire to the impulse in which it impacts.

Quote:
Also could you hit a seized drone with phasers during Defensive Fire in another impulse, if you have phaser available?


(1E2c) Step 2 specifically allows this. So, yes, you may.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group