Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SFBF: Cloaking and Webs in the Formation Phase

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Star Fleet Battle Force
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1966
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:54 am    Post subject: SFBF: Cloaking and Webs in the Formation Phase Reply with quote

How many ships can/must cloak, uncloak and/or Web during the Formation Phase?

The Reference Card seems to say that you can uncloak as many as you want, you MUST un-Web all ships, AND you may either move a ship from one Squadron to another OR [newly] cloak a ship OR Web a ship. Please forgive the capitalization of the logical operators here.

The rulebook on page 6/7 and pages 15/16 seems to be unclear on this issue, with what I feel is a confusing mix of singulars and plurals - 'ships can activate their cloaks' - 'Tholian ships can activate their webs' - 'counts as the one allowed Formation change'. I can't seem to work it out Embarassed

Any ideas, please?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
droberts441
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Location: Sacramento

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great Question.....one of those where I grabbed the rulebook, and realised it isn't that clear.

My impression has been that you could only do one ship (kind of like you can only move one ship in formation). Otherwise you could do all ships with webs and cloaks if you wanted.

On the top of page 7, it says that before the first turn each player may order one ship to cloak or web. I think I saw that somwhere else in the rules in a slightly different topic. Although that is not the clear answer you wanted, I think it is implied you can only do one ship (2 if you use the Step 4 action to do a formation change as well) like a formation change can only do one ship which it takes the place of.

But I am interested in what others think....that is just my interpretation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Star Fleet Battle Force All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group