Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

When may tractors be dropped?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:11 am    Post subject: When may tractors be dropped? Reply with quote

IIRC tractor beams may be dropped at any point in the sequence of play. Which gave me an idea for an Evil Trick (blame Kang for this one, diabolical Klingon that he is Wink Very Happy ).

Tractor your Stinger during the Other Functions phase of the impulse. Accelerate to Speed 24+1. On sub-pulse 1, you move and take the Stinger with you. On Sub-pulse 2, ditto, but right after moving the ship, the tractor is dropped. It is not death dragged, because it has not moved three hexes while tractored. The Stinger then moves (since shuttles move AFTER SHIPS) and then the Stinger moves again on sub-pulse 4. Result? For one impulse, your Stinger has moved at twice normal speed. Which may be enough to jump the Stinger's Gap.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:25 am    Post subject: Re: When may tractors be dropped? Reply with quote

terryoc wrote:
IIRC tractor beams may be dropped at any point in the sequence of play.

No. Tractors may only be dropped during the Other Functions Phase (1E2e), Energy Allocation, or when the tractor box is disabled. This is explicitly called out in (5D5).
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike
Fleet Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1674
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can a player disable one of his own tractor boxes to cancel a tractor beam during a turn? If so, he could repair it at the end of the turn...
_________________
Mike

=====
Sandpaper gets the job done, but makes for a lot of friction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no process for self-mutilation.

[Edit: That's a "no".]
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy


Last edited by mjwest on Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1976
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
There is no process for self-mutilation.

That's a 'no', then Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In regards to Kang's tactic with saving stingers, is it legal to establish a tractor and then immediately drop it in the same phase? I don't think it's prohibited, but it probably wasn't thought of by the designer.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

terryoc wrote:
In regards to Kang's tactic with saving stingers, is it legal to establish a tractor and then immediately drop it in the same phase? I don't think it's prohibited, but it probably wasn't thought of by the designer.

No, I am pretty sure it wasn't thought of. That said, I would not disallow it.

And that said, I don't think it applies to Kang's tactic. The point of the tactic is that the auction is a tie, so no one ends up with an active tractor.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1976
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember we've had this asked before ('cos it was me!), and Mike gave the same answer then. It was in regard to tractor fights over a ship, that time.

http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=657&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15 and it's just above the halfway point on the page.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hod K'el
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Location: Lafayette LA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay guys...help me get this right. This is a campaign question. I want to tractor a near dead ship on my starboard and a near dead ship on my port. I can do that, correct?

They are two of my surviving 'hulks'; all enemy vessels (over a thousand fighters) that survived scurried back to their base and returning carriers as they were out of ammo. (Their carriers were returning from a raid on one of my base stations, and no, it did not survive, and yes, they proceeded to raid my planet.) Two of my ships blew, two were in bad shape with fires sweeping the hanger decks. My ship would have been crippled if they had just one more squadron to throw at me.

And as I understand the rule, I have to plot speed 24 to be able to go speed 8 while towing the two ships (the ships have no significant power). Right?
_________________
HoD K'el
IMV Black Dagger
-----------------
Life is not victory;
Death is not defeat!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hod, see rule (5D6b), third paragraph: "No ship can tractor more than one ship at the same time and must release one tractor link... to tractor another ship" So no.

Unfortunately, the fact that the ships are hulks is irrelevant. In FC, a ship is either alive or dead. If it's dead, you can't tractor it (it's removed from the map). If it's a campaign, the campaign moderator may have some special rule to cover this situation, but under vanilla FC rules you can only tow one of those ships.[/b]
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hod K'el wrote:
Okay guys...help me get this right. This is a campaign question. I want to tractor a near dead ship on my starboard and a near dead ship on my port. I can do that, correct?

By the rules, no you can't do that. You may only tow one of them. The way you would have to do this is evacuate the crew on one and self-destruct it, then tow the other one away.

That said, you said this is a "campaign question". As such, I suggest that you create a campaign rule that allows immobile ships to be removed from the battlefield. This won't violate the spirit of the game rule, but allow you the flexibility you need for campaign purposes. I suggest making the requirement that the towed ship must be "deactivated". This means that it generates no power at all (and thus cannot use its other systems). This means you are no longer towing a "ship" as such, but a ship-shaped inert object.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hod K'el
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 301
Location: Lafayette LA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, realistically, it is going to cost more to repair than to build a new carrier, which means I should beam the last command group in the auxiliary control and the last damage control team to my ship and blow the last aux and frame from range five, then 'rinse and repeat' and not tractor either ship...mainly due to cost; or just leave them for a salvage ship tow them in. We are very close to an asteroid field...I could just give them a little push...
_________________
HoD K'el
IMV Black Dagger
-----------------
Life is not victory;
Death is not defeat!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well you can just use emergency evacuation (5E7) and then self-destruct the ships (3E3).
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

terryoc wrote:
Well you can just use emergency evacuation (5E7) and then self-destruct the ships (3E3).

Which is what I was referring to.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
m1a1dat
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 99
Location: 91320

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If i have a tractor applied to a ship and i want to start evasive maneuvers, do i have to drop the tractor in the other functions phase and wait until next impulse defensive fire phase to announce EM or does my announcement of EM automatically shut off the tractor beam? If there were any impacted seeking weapons that were tractored and thus released by my EM they would use the same procedure (5D4c) as if the tractor was destroyed by a hit and run raid or not powered in energy allocation, correct? Which would also be the case if i cloaked out too, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group