View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:31 pm Post subject: TR Beams as Tractors |
|
|
I'm looking at the rules section (4S4), using TR beams as tractors.
Rule (4S4b) says that 'a TR beam with no energy in it (never used, or used as negative tractor) could be used as a tractor beam...'
However, Rule (4S4d) says that 'the Andromedan player has the option to use a TR beam which has energy in it [as a tractor beam], in which case it is considered 'fired'....'
...and then regarding 'fired' TR beams, (4S4c) says that 'A TR beam cannot be used as a tractor beam during a turn that it was fired'
As far as I can see, these rules appear to contradict in triangular fashion. A TR whose energy was used as negative tractor could be used as a tractor, but if it has used its energy as negative tractor, it has been fired, in which case it cannot be used as a tractor.
Can someone please advise? _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK, you are making something out of nothing.
Rule (4S4c) means that you cannot use a T/R as a tractor after it was "fired". That in no way contradicts (4S4b), as the T/R is not considered "fired" except as a result of its use as a tractor. Ergo, the "firing" of (4S4b) is a result of its use, and the T/R is has not been "fired" prior to its use.
In other words (4S4b) is simply saying that using the T/R as a tractor means you have used it. (4S4c) is simply saying that you cannot use a T/R beam as a tractor if you have already used it that turn (whether as a T/R beam or as a tractor). _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I agree about the tractor use. However, what, then, does (4S4d) mean in the context of negative tractor? It says that using the energy in the TR beam 'for that purpose' (i.e. for negative tractor) means that the weapon is considered 'fired'. That looks quite clear to me. _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
(4S4d) is a special case. If you use the energy allocated to a T/R for the purposes of negative tractor, all of the power must be used together for negative tractor, and the T/R is counted as used. This is to differentiate its use from (4S4b), where it is possible for an otherwise unpowered T/R to be used as a tractor even after negative tractor has been used. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah, that's what I was getting at. That's cool; thanks Mike as always  _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|