Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

HET clarification

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ericphillips
Commander


Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:44 pm    Post subject: HET clarification Reply with quote

I was playing with some guys this weekend, and there was some disconnect between our ideas of how HETs actually work. Here is how I play it; is it right?

1. On any sub-pulse, before movement, I announce and pay for a HET.
2. I change my facing to a new hex face.
3. I move on my next movement sub-pulse.

Here is how the other guy said it works:

1. On any sub-pulse, before movement, I announce and pay for a HET.
2. On my next movement sub-pulse I turn to any facing and move.

Which, if any, is right? Thanks for the help.
_________________
"I could have been an adventurer like you, but I took an arrow to the knee."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Krellex
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 30 Sep 2009
Posts: 261
Location: RIS Boise

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your way is correct.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. On any sub-pulse, before movement, I announce and pay for a HET.
2. I change my facing to a new hex face. (in your normal move order, which means as you move if you are due to move, or when you would have moved if you are not moving, you don't HET at the point of declaring and paying)
3. I move on my next movement sub-pulse.(maybe, see above)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) You pay for HETs at the beginning of the sub-pulse, before any movement.
2) On the sub-pulse when you choose to HET, you declare the HET and pay for it.
3) You perform the HET (i.e., turn to any facing) when your ship is scheduled to move (based on baseline speed / turn mode) - whether you are actually scheduled to move or not on this sub-pulse.
Unless tactical situations change before your move order and you choose to cancel the HET (although the energy paid is still spent).
3a) HET
3b) if scheduled to move - move.
3c) If not scheduled to move... then your sub-pulse activity is complete.

edit: 'elf typed faster than I did.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!


Last edited by Scoutdad on Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:57 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
ericphillips
Commander


Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification guys!
_________________
"I could have been an adventurer like you, but I took an arrow to the knee."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure of the distinction you are trying to make.

If he is trying to say you can only HET on a sub-pulse you move, then he is wrong. You can HET on a sub-pulse you do not move if you so desire.

However, if you are trying to say you can HET prior to any movement that sub-pulse, then he is correct.

So, I would describe the HET as:
1. On any sub-pulse, before any movement takes place, you announce and pay for an HET.
2. You wait for your place in the order of precedence (2A5).
2a. If you are not scheduled to move that sub-pulse, you change your facing to any direction.
2b. If you are scheduled to move that sub-pulse, you change your facing to any direction, and then move forward one hex.

Finally, since you don't get to actually do the HET until your place in the order of precedence, if your opponent does something totally unexpected and you no longer wish to HET, you may cancel the HET. You still lose the energy spent, but it does not count as your one "free" HET (2D2b).
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scoutdad wrote:
Neither is correct.

1) You pay for HETs atthe beginning of the Impulse.
2) On the sub-pulse when you choose to HET, you declare the HET.
3) You perform the HET (i.e., turn to any facing) when your ship is scheduled to move (based on baseline speed / turn mode) - whether you are actually scheduled to move or not on this sub-pulse.
3a) HET
3b) if scheduled to move - move.
3c) If not scheduled to move... then your sub-pulse activity is complete.


Nope - you declare and pay at the start of any sub pulse, not impulse. (2D2a)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mis-typed. I saw the error after I hit submit so, I went back and edited it. I meant to type subpulse and typed impulse.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
ericphillips
Commander


Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did mean that you can HET on any subpulse even if you do not move. I just thought it was at the beginning. Mike, your note about priority should be added to the rule book as a clarification. It explains it without ambiguity.
_________________
"I could have been an adventurer like you, but I took an arrow to the knee."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group