View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:33 pm Post subject: Cloak and tractor |
|
|
I meant to ask this a few weeks ago when it was quite relevant, my other cloak question has just reminded me about this.
A ship that is held in a tractor that activates a cloak has the cloak voided.
A voided cloak is fully effective after 4 impulses. So what happens then?
1)Does the cloak kick in and negate the tractor.
2)Does the cloak kick in but the ship is still tractored.
3)Does the cloak void again, and keep voiding if it is still tractored after each 4 impulses. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think the four impulses start until after the tractor is released. So, the cloak is just flat out voided as long as the tractor is present. Once the tractor is released (for whatever reason), the four impulses then start. Four impulses after the tractor is released, the cloak is fully effective. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nothing in the rules (that I can see) mentions anything about the 4 impulses starting at any other time other than the point of voiding. As voiding starts at the point the cloak was activated the 4 impulses would start then.
Further voiding conditions may kick in at the point those 4 impulses are over. My number 3 seems to be the closest to what you are saying (but with some potetially significant differences).
[edit]Or are you saying in a slightly round about way being under a tractor is in and of itself a voiding condition, as opposed to just activating a cloak under tractor (which is the current rule). That would mean each impulse the tractor is present would start another void cycle of 4 imulses. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ericphillips Commander

Joined: 16 Apr 2009 Posts: 701 Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The rule seems to be written from the point of view of a voiding effect that is not a contining effect. I would think that the cloak would be voided as long as the continuing effect is ongoing.
Another way to look at this is that every turn the tractor is working, it voids the cloak over and over. Each impulse could be considered a new voiding.
Last edited by ericphillips on Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:56 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gar1138 Lieutenant Commander

Joined: 10 Jul 2007 Posts: 345 Location: Eugene, OR
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
(5P3d) mentions "...assuming no further voiding condition...". Since the tractor is a voiding condition, I would take it to mean that the four impulses starts only when the tractor is released.
Garrett |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | (5P3d) mentions "...assuming no further voiding condition...". Since the tractor is a voiding condition, I would take it to mean that the four impulses starts only when the tractor is released. |
But as it currently stands, the tractor is not a voiding condition in its own right. Only activating a cloak under tractor is a voiding condition. After the 4 impulses the cloak is not activated again so it is not voided.
Given a strict interpretation I would say that after 4 impulses the cloak is effective and because cloaked ships cannot be tractored (or because the effective range goes up by 4 hexes) the tractor is broken.
My question is really about whether that was the intent, or was it as you and MWest seem to think - that the tractor voids the cloak as long as it is in place. I'm easy, but would like a proper clarification. I'll take MWests 'I don't think ..' as him not being sure, and will come back when he has a proper look at it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ericphillips Commander

Joined: 16 Apr 2009 Posts: 701 Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
storeylf wrote: | My question is really about whether that was the intent, or was it as you and MWest seem to think - that the tractor void the cloak as long as it is in place. I'm easy, but would like a proper clarification. |
I think the Mike and I have the "intent" of the rule, the problem was in the way it was written.
Since FC is based on SFB, going to look at the SFB rules (though the effect of the voiding is different). In SFB rule G13.43 it states "A unit may fade in and out of cloak while held in a tractor beam, but will not gain the full benefits of the cloak while so held." So, in SFB, the void lasts as long as the tractor is on. IMHO, this backs up the idea that whatever the voiding effect is in either game, it lasts as long as the tractor is on. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I assume that the rule is intended to mimic SFB, but as I'm no longer an SFB player with no intention of buying SFB just to check such things I wasn't sure what SFB did.
Concept wise I can see it both ways - tractor prevents cloak, or tractor simply delays cloak.
At the time it was relevant I was considering tractoring an orion who had a cloak, just to stop the cloaking. But taking the rules as they were written it appeared clear that it would just delay the effect, though I wasn't sure that was intended or not, the lack of wording on what happens after 4 impulses in that case left me with that feeling of a possible mis-worded rule (or at least one to query).
Last edited by storeylf on Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:17 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I really think the intent is "you are a moron if you activate cloak while being tractored." But I am asking to make sure. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mjwest wrote: | I really think the intent is "you are a moron if you activate cloak while being tractored." But I am asking to make sure. |
I can't guess at the original intent, not being a mind reader. Tactically I disagree with that statement, It begs the question.
If the intent is a tractor is always a void condition then yes, why bother usually. Although even then there is in fact at least one extremely good reason you might do it.
If the rule is correct as written then no, your cloak kicks in after 4 impulses and you gain all the benefits of cloak. If you are tractored by a vessel getting ready to slam overloaded photons into you then you'd be a moron not to cloak! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Again, if the cloak stays voided for the entire time the tractor is present, then, yes, activating it is foolish. (Like I stated.)
If, however, your interpretation is correct, then activating the cloak can be useful as the moment the cloak activates (four impulses later) the tractor is also broken (since you can't tractor a cloaked ship). That seems, to me, to be way too good of a deal.
But, like I said, I asked. We'll see what happens. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mjwest wrote: | Again, if the cloak stays voided for the entire time the tractor is present, then, yes, activating it is foolish. (Like I stated.) |
Generally yes, but the sequencing of turn breaks, tractor auctions and cloak prepayment make it less obviously bad in certain scenarios.
The fact that the tractor is only a void condition at the single point of cloak activating seems quite clear in the current rules, but just to be clear, I'm not bothered about which way the answer goes - thats why I asked the question. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK, got a quick response from Steve.
The cloak is voided for the entire duration that it is tractored, and the four impulse period applies after the tractor is released. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|