Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tractors and Suicide Shuttles

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blammo
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 170
Location: Barnesville, GA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:20 pm    Post subject: Tractors and Suicide Shuttles Reply with quote

Here is the scenario:

- My ship is moving baseline 24.
- A suicide shuttle "impacts" my ship during one of the sub-pulses of a given impulse.
- During defensive fire step I tractor the suicide shuttle, but do not fire on it with any direct fire weapons.

Question: given my speed, will the shuttle be destroyed when I move again? Could the rule that covers the answer to this question be indicated?

Under (5D5) is would look like the answer is yes (because the speed of my ship is greater than 16), but (5D4) does not appear to cover this situation and I did not see anything in (5H).

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4470
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not have my rulebook handy so I can't quote the exact rule, but the answer is... yes, conditionally.

Tractoring a shuttle while moving speed 24 does not automatically destroy it by death dragging.
It is destroyed in the movement subpulse in which it moves more than 2 hexes in a single impulse. Which should be movement subpulse 4 of the following impulse.

This gives a chance for a Marine Hit and Run raid in the the same impulse to destory said trctor before the suicide shuttle is death dragged.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scoutdad wrote:
I do not have my rulebook handy so I can't quote the exact rule, but the answer is... yes, conditionally.

Does the wife have the Kindle, then? Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4470
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hardy har har...

It's her Kindle, so of course. I'm holding out for a Xoom.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Savedfromwhat
Commander


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does death dragging apply to Impacted units?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4470
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Savedfromwhat wrote:
Does death dragging apply to Impacted units?

I would assume so, as it is still moving 2+ hexes per turn.
Mike???
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3496
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While this is not done very clearly, yes, a suicide shuttle tractored after impact can be death-dragged. In fact, I can't see a way to justify it not happening. ("Death-dragging" being defined in (5D5) on how a tractored shuttle will be destroyed at high speeds.)
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a very effective - 100% effective in fact - way of getting rid of an impacted suicide shuttle. Sure, you can auto-kill one with two phaser-3's and one point of power, but with the tractor you get to save those phasers. Very satisfying when you get the opportunity to do it Twisted Evil
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group