Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Couple of sensor questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:09 pm    Post subject: Couple of sensor questions Reply with quote

A couple of questions that we will be needing to deal with in one of our upcoming campaign games.

1) For blinding purposes is a phaser gatling counted as phaser 3s and hence usable without blinding, or does it blind if used.

2) The lab function, does it work with the 'free' lab that ships with no labs get as long as they have a control space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duxvolantis
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 16 Nov 2010
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:42 am    Post subject: Re: Couple of sensor questions Reply with quote

storeylf wrote:
A couple of questions that we will be needing to deal with in one of our upcoming campaign games.

1) For blinding purposes is a phaser gatling counted as phaser 3s and hence usable without blinding, or does it blind if used.

2) The lab function, does it work with the 'free' lab that ships with no labs get as long as they have a control space.


1) 5S6. The second shot from a Ph-G blinds a channel.

2) EDIT: I reread your question noting that you said "couple of sensor questions". So now your question makes sense also after reading your campaign thread and noting that you have an Orion Scout which has no lab boxes.
_________________
Dux Volantis
Romulan Star Empire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye - and one of our games this coming campaign rounds requires the use of labs to locate where the spy is on the planet - so it could be pertinent. Getting into lab range of the planet against plasma fighters coud be awkward, the lab function could be very useful if it can be used by the orion on the 'free' lab it gets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before answering the question, I do want to point out that the last sentence in (5L1) in RRB6 specifically states that Orions cannot use special sensors in their option mounts. So, the whole question is basically moot.

But, in the extremely unusual case where a ship with no labs does have a special sensor, yes, you can use your 'free' lab.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well in this case, as we have done with the ISC, we have used the orion scout ships from SFB, as opposed to using sensors in option mounts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group