Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Black Holes and Displacement

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mojo jojo
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Jun 2009
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:06 am    Post subject: Black Holes and Displacement Reply with quote

Can an Andro self-displace within 2 hexes of a black hole? The DD is a quasi-direct fire weapon and DF weapons are prohibited from firing if LOS passes within 2 hexes of a black hole.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 790
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't think anything would affect "Same Hex" LOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mojo jojo
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Jun 2009
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the ship is within 2 hexes of the black hole, its LOS will by definition fall within 2 hexes, even to itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may also be required to draw LOS to the target hex, in which case the LOS between its current location and the target will pass too close to the black hole.

I suppose the real question is, can an Andromedan use its disdevs to escape a black hole or is it dead like everyone else?

I suspect this may need a Mike ruling.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3491
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was hoping someone would say something that sparked an "obvious answer" in my mind. Wink

By the straight reading of (6G3d) and (5U3a) I have to say, no, the Andromedan may not self-displace. Fundamentally, (6G3d) pretty much means that *no* direct-fire weapon can ever be used by a ship within two hexes of a black hole. That would include displacement devices.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1960
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd agree. For direct-fire weapons, even if the target is in the same hex, there is still a LOS, just it's only 10km rather than 10,000km.

Therefore it follows that a direct-fire weapon may not be fired even at targets in the same hex where that hex is within 2 hexes of a black hole - is that right, Mike W?

From this it would follow that because a DD is a direct-fire weapon, it cannot be 'fired' even at the ship itself.

If you want a technobabble reason, why not say that the same spatial distortions that cause the disruption of the direct-fire weapons' targeting do the same for the displacement device's targeting. In essence, it's not the type of weapon that is important but the fact that the targeting is screwed up. That's always been my take on it, anyway.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 790
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then you fall into the case, that a weapon may not target a friendly vessel (3A3),
so in that vein you take the DD out of the Direct Fire Weapon Category ----

Simple is not always so simple ---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3491
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bolo_MK_XL wrote:
Then you fall into the case, that a weapon may not target a friendly vessel (3A3),
so in that vein you take the DD out of the Direct Fire Weapon Category ----

Simple is not always so simple ---

That is a general rule that is (obviously) overridden by the specific rule of the Displacement Device. It happens. Besides, the Displacement Device is described as being "in effect" a direct-fire weapon. It's all a special case, no matter what. Regardless, it is specifically stated to operate within the broad confines of direct-fire weapons, with a few exceptions (e.g. can "fire" on friendly units, causes no direct damage).

Regardless, I still think (6G3d) effectively prevents any direct-fire (or direct-fire-like) weapon from even being fired if within two hexes of a black hole.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group