Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Emergency Evac

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rfeceo
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 48
Location: Seneca Falls, New York

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:25 pm    Post subject: Emergency Evac Reply with quote

I think I know the answer to this, but I want to hear other thoughts on the issue.

In our Early years campaign the Kzintis and Imperials are beating the poggies out of the Carnivons. In several cases, the Kzintis and Imperials have defeated the Carnie ships, and instead of destroying them outright, the they are capturing severely crippled Carnivon ships.

The Carnivons have decided to deny capture by self-destructing their ship, if possible. In two cases now, the Carnivons have opted to Emergency Evac their crews to enemy ships which have beamed over Marines to capture, although usually not enough marines to ensure capture (or even close) that same turn.

5E7 states that while only 1 transporter is needed (in this case, the Carnivon transporter), all transporters between the two ships are needed. The Kzinti have opted to refuse the survivors, arguing that their transporter is needed, and they refuse to use it. And anyway, they are spacing the captured Carnivon crews in any event.

Given the "kindler, gentler" nature of Fed Cmdr, would the Carnivon strategy be permitted, or are the Kzinti correct that the receiver must be a willing receiver of the escaping (and surrendering) crews?

Thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1371

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My understanding is yes the receiving ship must agree to receive the survivors. The Kzintis are under no obligation to receive the Carnivon refugees to let the Carnies avoid capture. (Although I think the Zin would eat the dogs rather than throw away perfectly good fresh meat.)
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1526
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Who let the dogs out?! Woof ... woof ... woof-woof!"
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3000

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kzintis, Lyrans, and Carnivons do not eat each other.

Professional courtesy.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Ghost
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 47
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Link to a previous thread that discusses it

http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3827&highlight=evac

The seventh post down from mjwest has the following text

"For emergency evacuation, an enemy ship is under no obligation to accept the evacuating crew."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rfeceo
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 48
Location: Seneca Falls, New York

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys! It was what we were thinking as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group