Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Same Hex Combat

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Active Ingredient
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:19 am    Post subject: Same Hex Combat Reply with quote

Hello. Would someone please settle a slight rules disagreement between me and my opponent?

The situation: A ship is in hex 24, facing hex 23; and a stinger comes in from hex 14 to enter the ship's hex (24). This means the stinger was off the #6 shield (left front) when it was one hex away; It then enters the hex, coming from the direction of the #6 shield (left front).

If the ship has a RS (right side) weapon, it

1) can NOT fire at the stinger because the stinger entered from the left side

or

2) It CAN fire at the stinger, because at range zero, it is somewhat "in front" of the ship and the RS weapon arc fires directly in front.

Thanks.

AI

P.S. If possible, please quote a rule number where this can be found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dal Downing
Commander


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 552
Location: Western Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will leave the offical answer part to others but will share with you a little lite PDF reading.

http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/Commanders%20Circle/documents/MJWest_Same-Hex_Answer.pdf
_________________
-Dal

"Which one of you is the Biggest, Baddest, Bootlicker of the bunch?"
"I am."
"ARCHERS!!! THAT ONE!!!!"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3471
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first example in the reference PDF covers this exact situation. As a result, the answer is #1, the ship cannot fire on the fighter with a RS weapon.

As for the rule, the reference rule (3C6d) covers the shield facing. It does not directly state the firing arcs. However, given that the relationship between shield facing and firing arcs are rigid, defining one implicitly defines the other.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Active Ingredient
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group