Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hellbores vs Ground Bases

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dan Ibekwe
Commander


Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 6:12 pm    Post subject: Hellbores vs Ground Bases Reply with quote

The Hellbore rules explain (4K3e) what happens when a HB hits a target with *two* shields, and what happens when one hits a target with *no* shields.

Ground Bases have *one* shield, and I haven't been able to find anything on what happens if one is hit by a Hellbore.

I'd guess only the first part of the damage counts, the rest just warms up the ground around the base?
_________________
We are Hydrans! NO ONE LIKES US!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dan Ibekwe
Commander


Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone?
_________________
We are Hydrans! NO ONE LIKES US!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimDauphinais
Commander


Joined: 22 Nov 2009
Posts: 766
Location: Chesterfield, MO

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Version 6b of the Reference Rulebook has this sentence at the end of (4K3e):

If the target has no shields, such as a shuttle or drone, apply the total damage (first number plus the second number) to the target
as one volley.

_________________
Jim Dauphinais, Chesterfield, MO

St. Louis Area Fed Comm Group: http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/STL_Federation_Commander/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dan Ibekwe
Commander


Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Jim, I saw that. AFAIK, Ground Bases have 'one' shield.


The question came up after reading the 'Rescue' scenario in CL48; I'd selected a Hydran fleet (two Iroquois, two DWH, three Stingers, 492 points) but didn't get round to submitting it.

Since my tactics depended on getting to range one and unloading at the end of turn two (and then backing out to range four on turn three to be out of range of the bases' Gats waking up at the start of turn four), making sure that an average of three non-overloaded HBs at range one could silence each base was rather important.

Is Mike West on holiday?
_________________
We are Hydrans! NO ONE LIKES US!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 532

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would go with all damage on the one shield as a single volley.

To me it's basically the same as a unit with no shield.
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In general, a unit with one shield is going to treated as a unit with no shields. So, a unit with one shield will take damage against that shield, and whatever penetrates is internals.

Now, there could be an argument that as a small ground base, it should not take the full damage. However, there is not such rule for that, so the full damage is applied to a ground base.

Sorry for the delay in response.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dan Ibekwe
Commander


Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's fine, Thanks Mike
_________________
We are Hydrans! NO ONE LIKES US!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3081

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the case of a small ground base, half of the damage is applied to the shield and the other half is expended uselessly against the planetary surface having no game effect.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's currently only in SFB. We need to make sure that is added to the base rules, because it isn't there now.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3081

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added it to the master file so if we ever do revision 7 it will show up there. For now, the Q&A ruling will suffice.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
m1a1dat
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Location: 91320

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would apply to PPD and QWT splash damage too, wouldn't it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group