 |
Federation Commander A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
|
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Sebastian380 Lieutenant SG

Joined: 07 Mar 2013 Posts: 163 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2025 9:14 pm Post subject: Plasma Arming Question |
|
|
(4J2a) reads, : If energy is allocated on the first and second turn but not the third, the energy is lost and arming can begin again on the next turn.
In the situation described in this rule, where the third turn of arming isn't completed, is ALL of the energy in the plasma tube empty? Is the energy from turn 1 and turn 2 is lost? Or, is only the energy from turn 2 lost? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4103 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2025 5:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's all lost. You'll be starting from "turn 1" again. Failing to keep paying power means the whole charging effort is lost and must be completely restarted. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Sebastian380 Lieutenant SG

Joined: 07 Mar 2013 Posts: 163 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2025 4:09 pm Post subject: Plasma Arming Question |
|
|
| Thank you Mike, so, does this mean there's no 'rolling delay' of plasma torps? I've been playing for decades and never realized this. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4103 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2025 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, you can do rolling delay, but this is continually applying power. If you apply no power, or insufficient power, then arming is lost and must be restarted. Pay for rolling delay, and you're good.
So, let's assume you've paid for the first two turns of arming for your single plasma-S. This means you've paid 2 points of power on each of your first two turns of arming. It is now the third turn of arming and you have a few choices.
- If you pay zero (or 1) point of power, the arming is lost and you have to start all over again.
- If you pay 2 points of power, you are doing rolling delay. This means this turn effectively becomes your second turn of arming, and the first turn's arming will be lost. However, that first turn's arming is not truly lost until the end of the turn, so if you want to fire the torpedo at a later point in this turn, you can apply the extra 2 points of power (for a total of 4 points of power this turn) at the moment of launch and launch the torpedo.
- If you apply 3 points of power, you can launch it as a downloaded plasma-G. Similar to the rolling delay, you will still have the option at the moment of launch to add an extra point of power to make it a full plasma-S.
- If you apply 4 points of power, you can launch it as a full plasma-S
- You may not apply more than 4 points of power.
I hope that helps! _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Sebastian380 Lieutenant SG

Joined: 07 Mar 2013 Posts: 163 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2025 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, it helps, thank you. This is how I've always understood the plasma rules--for some reason my brain got stuck on my mis-interpretation of the rule--I blame it on statins.
Thanks for taking the time to explain. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|