Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Web caster question
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:11 pm    Post subject: Web caster question Reply with quote

Now, I don't mind if someone calls me pedantic on this one Smile

Rule (4Q3a) in Tholian Attack says that: 'a four hex cast web may include two [sideslips]' - I am having difficulty in picturing this. Four are not enough hexes to show a correct two-sideslip pattern; you need five minimum. Or am I missing something?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'd have two on the first row and two on the second in a congo line pattern.
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

.....but that's only one sideslip....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright. but what about two no the Second row and two on the first?

Hex Arrow Hex Arrow (arrows representing sideslipps.)
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may be that the rule is just in there to avoid obnoxious complaints from particularly argumentative rules lawyers. What looks like a four hex string with just one sideslip can arguably also be referred to as a four hex string with two sideslips. The question revolves around whether the first sideslip is in the second or third hex. You can change the orientation of the cast web by 60 degrees while putting web in the exact same number of hexes and it changes from one sideslip to two.

Pinecone - If you lay that arrangement out on the map, you'll see that in actuality there's only one sideslip. It sounds like two when you mentally run through where the web might be laid. But if you look at it you'll realize that there's only one sideslip... and the web is oriented 60 degrees differently than you thought it was.


It's hard to explain on paper (or forum), but it makes more sense if you lay it out on the map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hex to Arrow is one and Hex to Arrow is two. I don't quite understand what your saying. Confused
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once again, lay it out on the map and then look at it from different angles.

The exact same web layout (i.e. web in the same four hexes) can have either one or two sideslips, depending on how the casting player declares it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3480
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

junior is right.

Let's be specific. We have web counters in the following hexes (on a large-hex map): 33, 34, 44, 45.

If the casting ship is in, say, hex 47 facing A, then the web pattern has a single sideslip in the middle.

If the casting ship is in, say, hex 66 facing F, then the web pattern has two sideslips, one after the first web counter and the other before the last web counter.

In both cases, the web counters are in the exact same hexes.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see. Embarassed
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3480
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't feel bad. I had to physically pull out the map panel and put down counters (or quarters, in my case) to see it.

That's why I could specify hex numbers. Smile
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Laughing
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also Very Happy - thanks, everyone! I think Junior is right about the Rules Lawyers thing. Also the point-of-view argument makes sense too.

While on the subject of Web Casters, I note that [in Briefing #1] the chart has been declared as the correct version rather than the 4Q3a 'Each point of energy creates 10 "points" of web strength....' - how much of that paragraph 4Q3a is supposed to be ignored, please? I take it as the bits that contradict the chart....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A thought just came up about the sideslip problem.

Who says a sideslip can't be backwards? Ships Can move in revrse you know.
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TJolley
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are moving in reverse at the time, I don't see anything prohibiting a 'reverse sideslip', but you can't do a backwards sideslip while moving forward, as the rules specifically prohibit combining forward and reverse movement in the same subpulse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3480
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
While on the subject of Web Casters, I note that [in Briefing #1] the chart has been declared as the correct version rather than the 4Q3a 'Each point of energy creates 10 "points" of web strength....' - how much of that paragraph 4Q3a is supposed to be ignored, please? I take it as the bits that contradict the chart....


Delete the first two sentences of that paragraph in (4Q3a). Note that this leaves half of the parenthetical comment, so you will need to delete the closing parenthesis. (The remaining sentence works just as it is.)

Oddly, even though the first two sentences are wrong, the examples in the rest of the paragraph are actually correct.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group