Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

fed CA firing down the rear hex

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kor
Ensign


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Pasadena, Ca.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:31 pm    Post subject: fed CA firing down the rear hex Reply with quote

don't know if this has been asked or answered, I see that the klingons have had their rear phaser arcs added, but did the Feds get theirs in as well?
_________________
...Of course you should come. The splendor of fighting and killing. A bloodbath in the cause of vengeance. Who wouldn't want to come?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3435
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.

But the Klingon arcs are BoM. So, if you want your Fed arc (and know about it), ask your opponents if you can use them. It is no different from how BoM works, they just haven't been printed in CL yet.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also remember that the Fed "arc" (if you can call it that) only applies to two ships in FedCom (the CA and the CC - the GSC hasn't been added yet). So it's not nearly as all encompassing.

Still, it's handy to have if you can catch your opponent off-guard with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dal Downing
Commander


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 552
Location: Western Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

junior wrote:
Also remember that the Fed "arc" (if you can call it that) only applies to two ships in FedCom (the CA and the CC - the GSC hasn't been added yet). So it's not nearly as all encompassing.

Still, it's handy to have if you can catch your opponent off-guard with it.


I Thought the FJD DN gets the same Arcs as the CA. Very Happy Also doesn't it widen out the Side Arcs as well?
_________________
-Dal

"Which one of you is the Biggest, Baddest, Bootlicker of the bunch?"
"I am."
"ARCHERS!!! THAT ONE!!!!"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
djdood
Fleet Captain


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 2915
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The GSC was added in Communique.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OGOPTIMUS
Captain


Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dal Downing wrote:
junior wrote:
Also remember that the Fed "arc" (if you can call it that) only applies to two ships in FedCom (the CA and the CC - the GSC hasn't been added yet). So it's not nearly as all encompassing.

Still, it's handy to have if you can catch your opponent off-guard with it.


I Thought the FJD DN gets the same Arcs as the CA. Very Happy Also doesn't it widen out the Side Arcs as well?


The FJ DN has the same restricted arcs LF+L and RF+R that the CA and CC do for its side phasers. Even though the warp nacelles are below the saucer and seem to be out of line of the phasers. Chalk it up to the warp field being in the way of that phaser line.
_________________
O.G. OPTIMUS


NEW Page | OLD Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dal Downing wrote:
I Thought the FJD DN gets the same Arcs as the CA. Very Happy Also doesn't it widen out the Side Arcs as well?


I could be wrong (I haven't checked), but I don't think that the DN gets that. The reason would be the great big warp engine that sits directly behind the saucer.

Quote:
Even though the warp nacelles are below the saucer and seem to be out of line of the phasers. Chalk it up to the warp field being in the way of that phaser line.


I could have sworn that the DN warp engines didn't get moved down until the introduction of the DNG. But I could be mistaken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OGOPTIMUS
Captain


Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

junior wrote:

Quote:
Even though the warp nacelles are below the saucer and seem to be out of line of the phasers. Chalk it up to the warp field being in the way of that phaser line.


I could have sworn that the DN warp engines didn't get moved down until the introduction of the DNG. But I could be mistaken.


They're below the saucer, but not in line with the secondary hull like the DNG.

From the FJ Tech manual:
http://www.cygnus-x1.net/links/lcars/uss-federation-class-dreadnought.php
_________________
O.G. OPTIMUS


NEW Page | OLD Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OGOPTIMUS
Captain


Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:

I just checked my copy of basic set and the FJ DN design does indeed get to fire down the hexes directly behind the ship with its left and right phasers, even though the arcs are restricted.
_________________
O.G. OPTIMUS


NEW Page | OLD Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
captcorajus
Ensign


Joined: 10 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where is it stated that the D7 get the rear arc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3435
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

captcorajus wrote:
Where is it stated that the D7 get the rear arc?

I don't understand the question. Are you just referring to the boom phasers firing to the rear? The wing phasers automatically get the cross-side rear arc.

In SFB, the rules covering the special Klingon arcs are (D2.32) and (D2.33). In BoM, the rules for the special Klingon arcs are given in the BoM section of the last Captain's Log (#38 ). In Federation Commander, the Klingon arcs are as given on the ship cards.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group