Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Movement and damage to power

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tort518
Ensign


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 5:33 pm    Post subject: Movement and damage to power Reply with quote

In a quick little scenario last night we had a situation come up that the solution to wasn't clear in the rules (that we could find on a quick search).

If a ship loses its power or takes power damage, what effect does that have on movement during the current turn?

In our case a small freighter going speed 16 was fired on targeting power and was completely depowered on impulse 5. Would it keep going 16 for the rest of the turn, would it slow down, or would it stop in the hex it is in. How is that handled?
_________________
What happens if I press this button?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shauneroo
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 70
Location: East Anglia, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless I am very much mistaken, the ship has already 'pre-paid' for it's movement, and thus would still move on all relevant impulses and sub impulses for the rest of the turn. It would only be at the point of power allocation the next turn that she wouldn't be able to move.
_________________
"Lotta ins, lotta outs, lotta what-have-yous" - Jeff 'The Dude' Lebowski.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, damage you take during a turn has no affect on your power during that turn. The impact of the disabled power systems is not felt until energy allocation on the following turn.

Specifically, look at the last paragraph of (1D1). In part it says:
"During the turn, some of your power systems might be disabled, but as they already produced their power at the start of the turn, this has no effect until the start of the next turn."
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1929
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to expand on Mike's and Shauneroo's points above, it's not just movement that you can continue with - it's everything. As the rule says, the engines, reactors or whatever have already produced their power, so not only do you keep moving, but you can also accel, decel, fore weapons, tractor - the power is yours to spend for the whole turn regardless of damage during that turn.

The next turn, however, will of course be a different story for the freighter in the OP.....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tort518
Ensign


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Turns out we did it right. Very Happy
_________________
What happens if I press this button?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group