Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cargo transfer

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1529
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:42 am    Post subject: Cargo transfer Reply with quote

Re: Primarily directed to the Rules Master, MJWest, but posted for anyone to consider, here are some questions about cargo transfer between a ship and a planet.

Suppose a ship is landed on a planet and is going to transfer cargo from the planet into its cargo hold. To land on a planet, the ship has to be stopped and adjacent to the planet at the end of a game turn. During energy allocation of the next turn, the player has to announce that the ship is landing. On the first sub-pulse of the first impulse, the ship is moved to the planet hex and has "landed". In order to take off from a planet, the "landed" ship does so during the End of Turn procedure.

1. Is it safe to assume that a landed ship can transfer cargo from a planet at a rate of 1/2 cargo box per turn (the same rate that cargo is transferred while docked)?

2. Can a ship transfer cargo on the turn that it first lands on the planet OR would it have to wait until the next turn?

3. Can a ship land and take off in the same turn (since landing is done during the first impulse and take off is done during the End of Turn procedure)?

4. If a ship can transfer cargo during the same turn that it initially lands on a planet, can it land on the planet, transfer cargo, and take off all in the same turn?

5. One other unrelated question. Can a ship that is landed on a planet also use its transporters to transport cargo (at 1/5 cargo box per transporter operation) in addition to transferring 1/2 cargo box because it is landed?

I'm trying to develop another scenario that involves landing on a planet and transferring cargo, so I need to know the answers to these questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:53 am    Post subject: Re: Cargo transfer Reply with quote

Mike wrote:
1. Is it safe to assume that a landed ship can transfer cargo from a planet at a rate of 1/2 cargo box per turn (the same rate that cargo is transferred while docked)?

Yes, that works. (And it matches how (5F2a) works for marines.) This will be a line item for the CRUL.

Quote:
2. Can a ship transfer cargo on the turn that it first lands on the planet OR would it have to wait until the next turn?

Since you land at the very beginning of the turn, you should have enough time to make the transfer in the turn of landing/docking.

Quote:
3. Can a ship land and take off in the same turn (since landing is done during the first impulse and take off is done during the End of Turn procedure)?

Since the activities are so far apart in the sequence of play, I cannot see a reason to prohibit this. Unlike a shuttle landing and taking off in the same point of an impulse, this is widely spread across a turn. (As far as can be done within a single turn, actually.)

Quote:
4. If a ship can transfer cargo during the same turn that it initially lands on a planet, can it land on the planet, transfer cargo, and take off all in the same turn?

Well, since the turn is structured so, I have to say yes.

Quote:
5. One other unrelated question. Can a ship that is landed on a planet also use its transporters to transport cargo (at 1/5 cargo box per transporter operation) in addition to transferring 1/2 cargo box because it is landed?

Most definitely yes. You could even throw stuff into a shuttle and use that, too, if you want.

In addition, docked/landed transfers take place during the (1E3c) Marine Combat Phase. (Yet another line item for the CRUL.)
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1529
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MJ, thanks for the replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group