Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Nebulae and drones that have impacted

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1380

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:09 am    Post subject: Nebulae and drones that have impacted Reply with quote

Just to clarify - a nebula does 1 point of damage to each drone that is "on the map" during the defensive fire phase of each impulse. If a drone has impacted, is it still considered "on the map"?
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3498
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on the clarifications that have been given for asteroids (either in Communique 40 or next month's 41), it depends.

If the drone is tractored, yes. If the drone is not tractored, no.

The reason is because if the drone is not tractored, it really blew up back when it hit. If it is tractored, then the target ship has prevented it from exploding, and it continues to exist.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1380

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tractors don't work in nebulae, so I guess the answer's always "no". Smile
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While on the subject of nebulae, I note that minimal shields are the order of the day in a nebula: 5 boxes, period.

However, does shield reinforcement still work in a nebula? There's nothing in FC to say that it doesn't, but iirc in SFB you couldn't reinforce shields. Of course, my memory may be incorect, it's so long since I've played SFB....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3498
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When making the rule, I don't remember seeing such a restriction in SFB. The only restriction was a general one saying you could only reinforce to the maximum strength of the shield (i.e. 5 when at minimum). In Federation Commander that general rule is not present. But, because of the battery limit, it isn't really necessary either.

So, putting it all together, there are no restrictions on using shield reinforcement in nebulas in Federation Commander.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, that was a quick answer; you can't have been up that long over there in Texas... Smile

Anyway that's great - thanks for that. I look forward to doing some nebula battles soon!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group