Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Plasma Torpedoes and Orions (Or Orion weapon mounts)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 6:29 pm    Post subject: Plasma Torpedoes and Orions (Or Orion weapon mounts) Reply with quote

What type of Torpedo can the Orion's take. I played a game awhile ago with the Pirate Raider (Klingon Border) against a Fed Light Cruiser with a Plasma R on the WPN box. We knew full well it wasn't really legal, (But my opponent's ship was 15 points more than mine so we allowed it.) What size Plasma can Orion's take, if they can take Plasma?
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The complete listing can be found in rule (5L1) located in FC: Orion Attack.
It has also been posted online in the rules update, IIRC.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you can't get the rule until you have OA. There is an Orion ship in KB.

What is the IIRC? Please give a link.
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

USS Enterprise wrote:
So you can't get the rule until you have OA. There is an Orion ship in KB.

What is the IIRC? Please give a link.

IIRC is "If I Recall Correctly"

The Consolidated Rules Update Listing, or CRUL can be found here

I just checked and it has the complete (5L1) rule in it.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the confusion, and thank you.
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I assume based on that for 1 weapon box the Orion can take an F?

And that a G or R can never be taken?
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 790
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC, Some weapons take two/three boxes, even if allowed your limited by the number you can install ---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC the Plasma S takes 2, the F takes 1, and other Torps aren't used.

But I don't know, that's why I'm trying to find out.
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's really ship dependent, as the list shows.
But if your ship can take a Type-S torp, it requires two adjacent boxes.
If the ship can hold a Type-G torp, then it only requires 1 box.
If the ship can hold a Type-F torp, then it only requires 1 box.

Also note the increased point values:
a Type-S torp costs an additional 7 points,
a Type-G torp costs an additional 4 points,
a Type-F torp costs an additional 1 point.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But how do you know what the ship can hold?

And Orions can't use PL R's.
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4468
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The two pages of (5L1) in the CRUL list each ship as separate entry, in both scales. It then lists each option mount on that unit, followed by what weapons are allowed in that mount.

For example:
You have Klingon Border and the only Orion in that product is the Raider Cruiser (CR)

Here is the Squadron Scale entry:
ORION RAIDER CRUISER (Squadron Scale)
A: Phaser-1/2/3, photon, disruptor, hellbore, fusion (FA);
drone, ADD (360°); plasma-G/F (FP).
Y: Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D (LS†); photon, disruptor,
fusion (FA); drone, ADD (360°); plasma-F (LP).
Z: Phaser-1/2/3, plasma-D (RS†); photon, disruptor,
fusion (FA); drone, ADD (360°); plasma-F (RP).

and here is the Fleet Scale entry:
ORION RAIDER CRUISER (Fleet Scale)
A: Phaser-1/2/3, photon, disruptor, hellbore, fusion (FA);
drone, ADD (360°); plasma-F (FP).
Z: Phaser-1/2/3, drone, ADD, plasma-D (360°); photon,
disruptor, fusion (FA); plasma-F (FP).

In Sqaudron scale, you can have a G or an F in option box A
you can also have type-F's in option mounts Y and Z. No S's allowed on this ship because there is only one option box (A)
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3491
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you do not have Orion Attack, and you play with the Orion ships, then you really need to download the FREE CRUL. It lists the option mounts for all Orions published before Orion Attack.

The full list is also in the Reference Rulebook. Also, individual rulebooks are actively being updated as we speak. If you do not want to get the Reference Rulebook for $20, then I strongly recommend that you "upgrade" your Klingon Border/Romulan Border rulebook for $3. You can't beat that deal!
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1960
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
If you do not want to get the Reference Rulebook for $20, then I strongly recommend that you "upgrade" your Klingon Border/Romulan Border rulebook for $3. You can't beat that deal!

What deal's that, Mike? Have I missed something [again! Smile]?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3491
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is (was?) the old "upgrade" offer. Normally, the KB (or RB) Rulebook costs $10. (Which, BTW, would still be half the price of the Reference Rulebook.) However, ADB had offered an "upgrade" offer (or maybe it was a "trade-in" offer; I forget) where, if you could convince Leanna that you had really bought KB (or RB), then you could upgrade the rulebook for $3 (plus shipping, of course) instead of $10.

You should check with Leanna (at sales@s...) in order to make sure the offer is available. But I haven't seen where ADB has withdrawn that offer.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1556
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm...I thought the new Consolidated Reference Rulebook was going to sell for $14.95???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group