Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Floating maps and disengagement

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Floating maps and disengagement Reply with quote

Let's say we're on a floating map that extends 35 hexes from a planet or whatever. Any ship finishing the turn more than this distance from the planet is deemed to have disengaged.

Questions:

1) If the ship goes say 37 hexes away from the planet, but turns back in and ends the turn 35 hexes from the planet, it's still in the game. Is that right?

2) I assume that the disengagement occurs in the 'end of turn' phase, when you count up your batteries and do Marine capture attempts. When exactly in that phase does it actually happen?

3) If my assumption in (2) is correct, then I also assume that the ship can guide drones etc. right up to the point it disengages; in other words, drones that impact in the last impulse of the turn are still under guidance at the time of the Defensive Fire phase, and can still damage the target. Is that correct too?

Thanks!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
semperatis
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 275
Location: Glasgow,Scotland

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In 3,I assume that you are still within drone control range?If so,then I would assume ..Yes.
_________________
Federal Republic of Aurora fleet builder.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
USS Enterprise
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Location: Vulcan

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think so. I think that you lose the Drones immediately. But, what do I know?
_________________
"The good of the many outweighs the good of the few"

"Since my customary greeting would seem entirely self serving, I will simply say good luck."

"Live long and Prosper."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4463
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 1:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Floating maps and disengagement Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
Let's say we're on a floating map that extends 35 hexes from a planet or whatever. Any ship finishing the turn more than this distance from the planet is deemed to have disengaged.

Questions:

1) If the ship goes say 37 hexes away from the planet, but turns back in and ends the turn 35 hexes from the planet, it's still in the game. Is that right?

If the scenario rules state "..any ship which ends the turn more than 35 hexes from xxxx is deemed to have disengaged.", then yes - you can move 36 or 37... or even 50 hexes from the objective, as long as you're back in range before E-O-T.

Quote:
2) I assume that the disengagement occurs in the 'end of turn' phase, when you count up your batteries and do Marine capture attempts. When exactly in that phase does it actually happen?

That's always been we count the range. It seems simpler that way.

Quote:
3) If my assumption in (2) is correct, then I also assume that the ship can guide drones etc. right up to the point it disengages; in other words, drones that impact in the last impulse of the turn are still under guidance at the time of the Defensive Fire phase, and can still damage the target. Is that correct too?

Thanks!

Logically - yes, but I seem to recall a contrary ruling from ADB on a similar issue. Mike West will have to clear up this one.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3480
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Floating maps and disengagement Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
1) If the ship goes say 37 hexes away from the planet, but turns back in and ends the turn 35 hexes from the planet, it's still in the game. Is that right?

Since it says "ends the turn", yes. The criteria is 35 hexes at the end of the turn. 37 hexes prior to the end of the turn doesn't matter.

Quote:
2) I assume that the disengagement occurs in the 'end of turn' phase, when you count up your batteries and do Marine capture attempts. When exactly in that phase does it actually happen?

I don't remember ruling on this before, but to me, something like "disengagement at the end of the turn" means exactly that. When the turn completely ends, after everything is completed, the ship is gone. You do everything for this turn, but you don't start next turn. That does mean that you still do marine combat, and could theoretically have just disengaged your opponents new ship.

Quote:
3) If my assumption in (2) is correct, then I also assume that the ship can guide drones etc. right up to the point it disengages; in other words, drones that impact in the last impulse of the turn are still under guidance at the time of the Defensive Fire phase, and can still damage the target. Is that correct too?

Of course. If you only have to check for disengagement at the "end of the turn", then you fully complete that turn.

Note, however, that is completely different than for disengaging from a fixed map. On a fixed map, you have disengaged the moment you move off the map. Therefore, any drones you were controlling stop tracking that instant and would NOT be present during the Defensive Fire phase.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 7:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Floating maps and disengagement Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
....and could theoretically have just disengaged your opponents new ship.


lol Laughing

Thanks for all your input, guys. Much appreciated Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC Marine combat continues even after the ship has disengaged, until it's resolved one way or another. So it could be your opponent's ship even after you disengage, if there's a lot of enemy marines aboard, or you're unlucky.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group