| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	
	
		Kang Fleet Captain
  
  Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:48 pm    Post subject: Probe firing into +1 shift | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				A Probe (fired as a weapon) needs to roll a number equal to or greater than the range, on one die, in order to hit.
 
 
The Master Weapons Chart at
 
 
http://tinyurl.com/32xvzs8
 
 
says, probably to keep things simple, that a probe at 0-1 hexes' range hits on a 1-6.
 
 
Now, if I am firing a probe at an Orion ship with its stealth bonus, at Range 1 and I roll a '2', it becomes a '1' and I still hit the target. If' however, I roll a '1' then that counts as a zero and it misses.
 
 
However, if I fire at Range zero, and roll a '1', according to the weapons chart I miss, but according to the rule, I hit with a zero (which is equal to the range).
 
 
I assume the rule is correct, and (in this isolated instance), the chart is not?
 
 
Also please don't think 'this would hardly ever happen'. It has, which is why I am asking! The effect would be worsened if the target were under evasive maneuvers, too. _________________
   | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		pinecone Fleet Captain
  
  Joined: 03 May 2008 Posts: 1862 Location: Earth
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:17 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				I'm assuming it would still hit.  Who would miss at that range?   | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		mjwest Commodore
  
  Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4100 Location: Dallas, Texas
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				The rule is correct. The chart was, indeed, an attempt at simplification that apparently has unintended consequences. _________________
  
 
Federation Commander Answer Guy | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		Kang Fleet Captain
  
  Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:04 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				 	  | pinecone wrote: | 	 		  I'm assuming it would still hit.  Who would miss at that range?   | 	  
 
My son davec_24 (his FC forum name). His dice are notoriously atrocious - or so he claims   _________________
   | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		pinecone Fleet Captain
  
  Joined: 03 May 2008 Posts: 1862 Location: Earth
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:34 am    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				where is he by the way?  He hasn't posted in months!  And he was a nice guy too   | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		Kang Fleet Captain
  
  Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:24 am    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				Gee thanks   He still plays (and very well too I might add) but he spends more time on a model-making forum at present. I'll mention you to him, he's staying with me at the moment. _________________
   | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		 |