Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Evasive Maneuvers

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sebastian380
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 65
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:06 am    Post subject: Evasive Maneuvers Reply with quote

I apologize for asking a question that i'm sure must be on this board somewhere. I just can't seem to find it.
I understand that Evasive Maneuvers take effect at the end of the Defensive Fire phase subsequent to the announcement of EM (2D4a). However, are the restrictions of EM (2D4b) in effect immediately upon the announcement or do they take effect only with the benefits of EM at the end of the Defensive Fire phase of the next impulse?
So, after I announce EM do I still have a last chance to fire offensively?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. You declare EM at end of Defensive fire, but it takes effect at the end of Offensive Fire. 2D4a really should say "Offensive Fire" instead of "Direct Fire" I think it's already on ADB's list of errata to fix for v7
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't catch the EM ship firing. That's a good question. I would assume you could do so since it doesn't take effect yet, but it could also be one of those fiddly things where since you declared it, you can't fire....MJ will have to answer that specific concern.
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 785
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
but it could also be one of those fiddly things where since you declared it, you can't fire


That was the initial rule, since at that time, EM took affect immediately.
Some issues and some complaints led to the change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulgenna
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 7:40 pm    Post subject: Impulse 8 questions Reply with quote

Got a couple of EM questions

1) On the 8th impulse I call for EM and I have the energy at that time but after offensive fire I do not is that ok? I know I can defer the expense until impulse 1 on the next turn.

2) Do I have an option on Impulse 1, the following turn, to decide not to go into EM or if it is announced the previous turn's impuse 8 I must go in EM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m1a1dat
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 94
Location: 91320

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without looking it up in the rule book i believe it works this way. On impulse 8 you declare EM then: if you pay for it, it takes effect after direct fire step of impulse 8, meaaning you can't be tractored or boarded; you may also cancel it during energy allocation, as you are now carrying it over the turn break. If you defer paying it, then it does not take effect until during energy allocation, meaning you can still be tractored and borded during those steps in impulse 8; also if you defer paying and don't (or can't), then your ship blows up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3479
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The tank got it correct.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paulgenna
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 3:23 pm    Post subject: EM Reply with quote

Thanks Tank

So, if the cost is deferred until the new turn then the player must be in EM and have to wait the 2 impulses before they can get out correct, unless they do a full stop? If they are already at full stop, using castle doctrine, do they still have to pay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3479
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, if they declare in Impulse #8, but defer start until Impulse #1, they must pay the full cost, and they must maintain for the two full Impulses. (Which means they cannot cancel until Impulse #3.)

Even if you start that following turn Stopped, you must still pay for the Evasive Maneuvers and start them. (Or blow up.)
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paulgenna
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 9:02 pm    Post subject: EM Reply with quote

Thanks MJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group